4/18 Willie PMPS (+24) 198, +2~224, +4~173

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo
Yesterday's Recap:
AMPS 125
+4~109
+8~111
+10~69
+11~61
+11.5~58
PMPS 51
+0.5~33
+1~53
+1.5~58
+2~50
+3~62
+4~58
+5~75
+6~83


Tested at our normal test time this morning, got an 86, retest on a bigger blood droplet, got a 62. Decided I'd better retest after prepping the syringe, and got a 48, so we're hanging out for a bit. I can stall as long as needed and can adjust our schedule accordingly. Assuming we shoot, it will be a s1.0 earned last night. Poor guy is hungry. If he's still in the 40s this next poke, I will feed him and keep waiting. Bowl is currently prepped with LC laced with SK pouch gravy, but may add some karo.

Have I mentioned that my decaffeinated self is sleepy??? :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/18 Willie +11.75 86/62, +12~48 STALLING

Hi Christie, wow, you had some night and Willie earned that s1.0! What no caffeine coffee, just decaf! I'll be waiting to see what happens. Interesting with the difference in meters with the size of the blood drop!! So some meters require a larger drop, right, or they give a false reading?
 
Re: 4/18 Willie +11.75 86/62, +12~48 , +12.25~49 (fed)STALLI

Good morning.
Christie do you normally just do shaves for reductions? I may have missed a suggestion from others but usually with a number in the 30's a full reduction is taken.
 
Re: 4/18 Willie +11.75 86/62, +12~48 , +12.25~49 (fed)STALLI

Good morning, Ann! The Advocate requires a .7 drop of blood (in comparison, the Relion and FS Lite require a .3). It will give still give a reading on a droplet too small, it will just be very low.


Another number in the 40s, so still stalling and fed. Poor kid was so hungry, he cleaned his plate, which he seldom does in the a.m. (since I go btb most mornings, I give extra in case he gets hungry while I'm still asleep).

And so we wait!
 
Re: 4/18 Willie +11.75 86/62, +12~48 , +12.25~49 (fed)STALLI

Miriam and Putty said:
Good morning.
Christie do you normally just do shaves for reductions? I may have missed a suggestion from others but usually with a number in the 30's a full reduction is taken.

I had been doing shaves lately because when I've taken reductions from 1.0 to .75, they haven't held. I have no problems doing a .75 here, though if you think that's best as I have to leave for tbp by +3 or so, can come home if absolutely needed around +6, but otherwise can't really be around during the day this week.
 
Re: 4/18 Willie +11.75 86/62, +12~48 STALLING

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Hi Christie, wow, you had some night and Willie earned that s1.0! What no caffeine coffee, just decaf! I'll be waiting to see what happens. Interesting with the difference in meters with the size of the blood drop!! So some meters require a larger drop, right, or they give a false reading?

Yes Ann, if the droplet size is wrong and can lead to a skewed reading. Most meters will tell you if it wasn't enough, but sometimes they still misread a "light" drop. They can misread a too big drop too. That is why each meter tell you what size drop and then the tolerance range.

Wow...Christie....Willie is keeping you busy. I agree readings in the 30's is a dose reduction. I'm not as familiar with dosing below 1.0, but I'd tend to lean toward a skipped shot this morning as Willie is getting fed and you'd be shooting a food spike.
 
Re: 4/18 Willie +12~48 , +12.25~49 (fed), +12.5~55 STALLING

Good morning, Beth! Thanks for weighing in! It looks like we're headed for a skipped shot, though I'll test a couple more times and see where he goes. I think I'm more comfortable with letting his shed drain a little today, though I'm always so nervous about losing momentum, as we have before. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

When we do shoot, we will go with a .75.
 
Re: 4/18 Willie +12~48 , +12.25~49 (fed), +12.5~55 STALLING

I think I would take the full reduction this time, especially with the 30's yesterday and the 40's today.

I am not sure I would shoot a low number this morning if you are not home to monitor.
Willie's ss is looking very nice. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/18 Willie +12~48 , +12.25~49 (fed), +12.5~55 STALLING

Looks like we hit send at the same time, Miriam! :lol: :lol: My gut is saying skip as well. As much as I want to keep him on track, keeping him safe is my top priority, and last night's cycle required a lot of feeding/finesse to do so. I don't like the idea of shooting when I won't be around for the critical part of the cycle (+3 through +6).
 
Re: 4/18 Willie +12~48 , +12.25~49 (fed), +12.5~55 STALLING

Good idea! I don't think one skipped shot will cause you to lose momentum.....safety first. :smile:
 
Re: 4/18 Willie AMBG 48 no shot this a.m.

Yeah...I agree Christie...safety first.

And that is coming from the bean that shoots low almost all the time...
 
Re: 4/18 Willie AMBG 48 no shot this a.m.

Thanks MIriam and Beth for your help this morning! I'm really tired this morning and not thinking my clearest! :lol: :lol: :lol:

For those watching along, one other factor I will say played into my decision was the knowledge that, at low numbers, my meter tends to test at the higher end of the 20% MOE range. I didn't bust out the Relion or the FS this morning (all those GA meetings seem to be helping!! :lol: :lol: :lol: ), but knowing that they likely would have tested lower, it made me much more inclined to go ahead and feed that 49 and cemented my decision to skip the shot.
 
Re: 4/18 Willie AMBG 48 no shot this a.m.

Thanks, Natalia!!

Forgot I was going to share last night's dinner (figuratively, at least!). It's a favorite of my sister's, who was wanting a family dinner. Helped her create a resume and apply for a job at the hospital that I'm hopeful she'll get (the hours are perfect for her!). Made her steak sandwiches ... thinly sliced ribeye marinated in olive oil, rice vinegar, steak seasoning and some chimichurri herbs (though, usually I use a flat iron or a flank steak) with herbed goat cheese and sauteed peppers, onions and cremini mushrooms. Really pretty easy and lovely for picnics. We first had them last 4th of July when we went to a minor league baseball game and tailgated before. I had packed sandwiches because it was windy and didn't want to deal with the grill at the stadium. We both decided they were a hit! Last night, served with roasted zucchini topped with goat cheese as well. Yum!
 
Re: 4/18 Willie AMBG 48 no shot this a.m.

Wow, Willie - look at those numbers!!! Good luck with the dose reductions. With numbers like that I've got a good feeling he'll hold it this time!
 
Re: 4/18 Willie AMBG 48 no shot this a.m.

hands you a big cup of ~O)

Wow look at Willie go. Good luck with the reduction. Hope it holds.
 
Re: 4/18 Willie AMBG 48 no shot this a.m.

Morning! WOW - quite the night, quite the morning. FWIW, I think the skipped shot is a wise decision, esp since you can't be home to monitor. Congrats on the reduction too. Way to go Willie! It is so great to see how well Willie is doing.

and for you -----> ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O)

and dang - mighty fine dinner last night. YUM!
 
Re: 4/18 Willie AMBG 48, +13~65, +14~68

Decided to get a couple pokes out the door. With those numbers, am extremely thankful I didn't shoot. Going to stop at the coffee shop/juice bar for a big glass of something healthy and a piece of pie. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/18 Willie AMBG 48, +13~65, +14~68

Woot!! on the reduction and I think you were wise to skip today too. Will is going to town!
 
Re: 4/18 Willie AMBG 48, +13~65, +14~68

Going to stop at the coffee shop/juice bar for a big glass of something healthy and a piece of pie.

Go for it Christie! You sure do deserve it, yes, something healthy might be nice. I would probably do the double Espresso!

Thank you Blue, for explaining the different size droplet for each meter. I'll re-review my ATrak. I usually try to get a big enough drop, or it just won't read!
 
Re: 4/18 Willie AMBG 48, +13~65, +14~68

Hi guys and WOW WAY TO GO WILLIE!! Your numbers are looking awesome .. I'm sure this skipped shot is the best thing today since he seems to be surfing low greens for you .. Willie's SS is looking very very nice .. have a great day guys!!
 
Re: 4/18 Willie AMBG 48, +13~65, +14~68

Yup, Willie is on a mission! Good decision not to shoot this morning.
Your recipe sounds so good it makes me (a vegetarian) want to eat meat!!

Enjoy your healthy breakfast drink and that healthy pie!!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/18 Willie AMBG 48, +13~65, +14~68

Whoooohooooooo Willie Man!!! Congrats on your decrease and I'm glad to see you're coming up. Have a great day guys! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/18 Willie PMPS 198

Woo hoo! Still Blue!!! Granted, my not always so bright boy tipped his food bowl this morning and decided he apparently couldn't reach it, so I don't think he had eaten since +1 or so. Poor guy went on and on about being starved when I got home! He's eaten probably 2/3 a can of Blue Wilderness Duck, so I think we'll see a food bounce into yellow (though, I may just avoid poking until around +3 or so to avoid catching it? :lol: :lol: :lol: ). Didn't get the sun we were expecting today, and I had left the windows open, so Willie and I are now curled up on the couch in front of our heat dish getting in some sofa cuddle time.

Very anxious to see where this .75u dose takes us this time!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top