AZJenks
Member Since 2014
4/17
I'm a little worse for wear today after last night. At PMPS+9.5, when he was 56, I gave him 8% turkey & gibs, 2.5tbsp of 21% gravy with a little karo, and some dry treats so I could get a little sleep before AMPS.
He was 71 at AMPS. That was the most inflation I got out of all of that food, which tells me it was a smart thing to do at the time. Realizing that was an inflated number, I gave him a BCS dose of 2.0U (which is slightly less than 50% of his current dose of 4.25U). Fed him, then went back to bed for a few hours. As you can see, the depot is still having an effect because we're down in the 50s again, even after a 9% food and treat feeding at +5.5.
So what the heck do I do for PMPS?
If I give a full dose, it's likely going to be a rocky night. I don't think he's going to leave the 50s today without some food intervention.
Do I take another reduction in the regular dose? This too is iffy because we don't know how much of a lasting depot effect there will be, and we don't know how far off from a new dose sweet spot we are, so even 4.0U may still be too much for his body.
Do I give another BCS dose? This would give the depot more time to drain, probably let me go to bed early, but carries the attendant risk of letting the numbers get away from us if he runs out of gas early in the night.
I just want him to be safe, and for me not to be exhausted to the point where I'm no help for him. I'm honestly not sure what the right course of action is.
Thoughts? What are the pros and cons of each option? Any others I haven't considered?
I'm a little worse for wear today after last night. At PMPS+9.5, when he was 56, I gave him 8% turkey & gibs, 2.5tbsp of 21% gravy with a little karo, and some dry treats so I could get a little sleep before AMPS.
He was 71 at AMPS. That was the most inflation I got out of all of that food, which tells me it was a smart thing to do at the time. Realizing that was an inflated number, I gave him a BCS dose of 2.0U (which is slightly less than 50% of his current dose of 4.25U). Fed him, then went back to bed for a few hours. As you can see, the depot is still having an effect because we're down in the 50s again, even after a 9% food and treat feeding at +5.5.
So what the heck do I do for PMPS?
If I give a full dose, it's likely going to be a rocky night. I don't think he's going to leave the 50s today without some food intervention.
Do I take another reduction in the regular dose? This too is iffy because we don't know how much of a lasting depot effect there will be, and we don't know how far off from a new dose sweet spot we are, so even 4.0U may still be too much for his body.
Do I give another BCS dose? This would give the depot more time to drain, probably let me go to bed early, but carries the attendant risk of letting the numbers get away from us if he runs out of gas early in the night.
I just want him to be safe, and for me not to be exhausted to the point where I'm no help for him. I'm honestly not sure what the right course of action is.
Thoughts? What are the pros and cons of each option? Any others I haven't considered?
Last edited:
Remember that Lantus is a depot insulin, which means that the body uses a portion of a dose and stores the rest in a "spare tank" that it draws from over time. Sometimes there's too much in this "spare tank," and in conjunction with whatever regular dose is given, that can lead to very active cycles and a series of low, hard-to-control numbers. One technique to interrupt a series of low numbers like that is to give a one-time reduced dose in place of the regular dose (for example, instead of getting 4.25U this morning at shot time, Jenks got 2.0U). That's the BCS dose. It's typically 1/2 to 2/3 of the regular dose, and it's purpose is to give that "spare tank" time to empty so there's not so much insulin available to the body. Functionally, the body would then draw on the reserves in that "spare tank" to make up for the lesser amount of insulin given in the shot. In theory, that should let the blood glucose readings recover a bit.