4/18 Tess AMPS~371 PMPS~168 +2~145 +5~136 +9~61 +11~49

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Tess GA

Member Since 2010
4/17 Condo
4/17 RECAP:
• AMPS~320 fed 1.1oz. 4%, 0.1u (4 drops) Lev, Cosequin , Miralax
• +1 fed .55oz. 4%
• +3~292 fed .55oz. 4%
• +4 fed .55oz. 4%
• +7~270
• +11~253
• PMPS~270, fed 1.0oz. 4%, .0.1u (4 drops) Lev
• +2~424 fed .55oz. 4%
• +3 fed .55oz. 4%
• +4 fed .55oz. 4%
• +8~398
• +11~424
• AMPS~371 fed 1.1oz. 4%, 0.1u (4 drops) Lev , Cosequin , Miralax

Good Morning LL! Well, I was all set to take Tess's dose back up and then she dropped over 70 points from +11 to preshot. :? We'll give her one more cycle before we call this dose failed. We were wondering if I gave a furshot last night, but that wouldn't explain this preshot drop. I really don't understand what changed this weekend.

WCR All 5 Ps in place and the placed licked clean, even though she got a little extra food last nigh. We were having tuna salad and Tess is really good at the "Where's mine" look.
 
Re: 4/18 Tess AMPS~371

Hi guys .. tess what are you doing up on the pink floor silly girl? I hope you come down soon so you don't have to get any more juice .. you don't want that right? We know that "wheres mine" look all to well in this house .. that is why me and peter are closet eaters :lol: Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/18 Tess AMPS~371

morning guys!

bummer on the pink... but if the drop from her +11 to ps is any indication, she will be on the move today. and I know when you mentioned not understanding what changed.... i often wonder the same thing with Mannie. They are always keeping us guessing.

:lol: :lol: on the tuna salad and the where's mine look. Mannie would be all over that too. He loves his tuna.

Ok Tess - time to get down to business - lower please and no more pinks. might be more juice for you...

Tess! Meet you are Gracie's? We need to make sure those pool dudes remember the rules and that Gracie's catnip patch is secure... See you! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 4/18 Tess AMPS~371

Good Morning Ann & Tess (& John),
Tess is keeping you guessing still! Perhaps she has "macro" cycles on top of the regular cycles and you need to map them into a broader picture? (Maybe keep a separate chart that does not reflect the hours in a cycle, but only the gist of the individual cycles: something like "high" "middle" "low".) You could use three colors: Just a thought.

Have a good one today and I hope that Tess comes back down. It must have been the Fish Moon!

Ella
Tess, you wield a mean fishing rod! That big one you landed took 5 kitties to pull it in. Boy, did it grill up nice! See you later at Gracies?
Rusty
 
Re: 4/18 Tess AMPS~371

I just took a look a Tess' SS. How in the world do you measure out 0.1u and then know you have 4 drops in there? I had a hard enough time measuring the 0.25 part of Champ's 1.25u when he was on that. I wish they made syringes with markings smaller than 0.5
 
Re: 4/18 Tess AMPS~371

Good morning Devon, Michelle, and Ella. Last nights cycle was ugly. Tess seemed fine though. She is eating well and is her usual self. Ella, I have thought that Tess has a macro cycle of three or four days, but haven't tried to plot it. It is too influenced by different foods and doses and other variables. Then what do you do with dosing if you know this? I just ignore it and say she will come out of it in a cycle or two.

Got to get ready to take DM-in-L to her wood carving class. They are having cake for her 100th B-day. Ann will post later. :mrgreen:

John
 
Re: 4/18 Tess AMPS~371

Ann: I'm just gonna throw this out there especially because Tess and Gracie seem to be somewhat similar in their dance with FD. If you remember, a few weeks ago, Gracie came down the dosing scale really fast in a short time and when she got to .5u, she bounced. Being nervous Nellie, I thought it was just a failed reduction and after only three cycles on the new dose (two of which were high numbers), I took her back up. That started the viscious "up to come down" and I had to take her all the way back up to a f1u to get her breakthrough where she started having nice numbers again. Then she has come racing back down (as Jill and Libby predicted) and has had four reductions in a week. And now we're back at .5u. IF I had only waited the full six cycles to see if the bounce cleared, I think we would be at a different spot now; I lost two weeks in her healing by rushing it. And it seems like every time I rush her clearing bounces, she really starts to clear it the cycle that I raise her and it's a fight. I asked Jill how to tell the difference between a bounce and just high numbers and she said it's very difficult to do. (ETA: not saying you rush Tess...you are so much more patient than I am; I'm the queen of rushing to the cat with a dosecrease in the syringe :lol: :lol: ).

Tess is on her fifth bounce cycle and I think you were really smart in holding off on the increase today....what do you think about letting her do the full 72 hours (six cycles) and see if she clears? I know how hard it is....I think we may be facing the same thing and I am determined to bite my nails and not raise Gracie until she's had the six cycles...I don't want to go through what we did before and I sure don't want to see Tess have to do it .....ALTHOUGH....she did respond beautifully last time when you just increased her by a drop. Anyway, all of that FWIW and IMHO....you know Tess better than anyone. I hope she clears today!!!
 
Re: 4/18 Tess AMPS~371

I've got nothing to add, but a note that Miss Tess is a cutie patootie no matter what color dress she is wearing! :-D


An' man, can dat gurl fish!!! (an' I thought I'z wuz in lubs before!!!) --Willie
 
Re: 4/18 Tess AMPS~371 +3~342 +7~294

At least Tess is starting down, but she has for 3 of the last 4 cycles. Paws crossed.

Marjorie, thanks I needed that. I had planned on holding through tonight, but that red last night was so depressing, the bounce was getting worse instead of better. Tess always did wait until the last minute to clear, but lately she has only been taking on or two cycles. I desperately don't want to lose the momentum we've had by waiting too long.

Devon and Michelle, she is good w/ the look. I gave in and tested her early (I wonder if I'd waited if I wouldn't have seenred) and gave her her portion. As to understanding

Ella, lately I thought that Tess's macro cycles were getting close to tight regulation. This bounce just threw everything out of whack. She has had 2 or 3 good cycles, a minor bounce that cleared in 1 or 2 cycles and repeat. What is niggling in the back of my mind is that the Saturday change really threw her in spite of not taking her along. We've got 4 more weeks of theses Saturdays too! Is this going to happen every week? It almost seems that in spite of being upset in the car, she did better when we took her along.

There are so many variables:
  • Upset by the change in routine, could have led to a trip in the car
    There were a couple of hairballs this weekend
    She has had several really good weeks, maybe her pancreas couldn't handle it all
    Blame it on the Full Moon
    She IS a cat! :roll:

Patty, I do 2 things to get theses micro doses. First, draw the last dose you were confident in. Hold the needle upright and slowly twist out a drop until it starts to run down the needle, this gives you a consistent drop size. Continue and count drops until the syringe is empty. This gives you the number of drops in that dose. I get 5 drops in .25u. So to get 4 drops, I just draw the .25u and squeeze on drop out. Second, I do a test counting of drops every time to make sure the syringes are consistent. Oh, third, get a really good magnifying visor w/ an extra loupe. You'll look like a geek, but you can see really well and both hands are free. :lol: http://www.doneganoptical.com/optivisor.php
 
Re: 4/18 Tess AMPS~371 PMPS~168

Thanks to everyone for encouraging me to hold the dose a full 72 hours. It looks likeTess has finished bouncing and is back to business. Aaaaccckkkk, no I didn't just SAY that. I take it back! Anti-jinx, anti-jinx, anti-jinx!!!

I'm wondering now if the Pro Plan might have had something to do with it. Even with similar carbs some foods can effect some cats differently. But we'll never really know will we? :roll:
 
Re: 4/18 Tess AMPS~371 PMPS~168

probably not.... not unless you want to feed it to her again. :shock: :? I sometimes use ProPlan with Mannie, it doesn't effect him at all, then again, that is Mannie....

too funny on the anti-jinx!
 
Re: 4/18 Tess AMPS~371 PMPS~168

I've fed Pro Plan, too, a long time ago....didn't see a difference. I think you hit the nail on the head earlier....she's a CAT :lol: I am THRILLED to see this PMPS. Now go Tess go....resting is over!!!
 
Re: 4/18 Tess AMPS~371 PMPS~168 +2~145

Alright!!! Or should I say WOOOOTTT!!!! Headed for bed...hope you aren't up all night.
 
Re: 4/18 Tess AMPS~371 PMPS~168 +2~145 +5~136

Woot it is, but a nice mellow one. :smile: We're off to bed too, I doubt that there will be any dives. Ni Ni
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top