4/18 Shishi AMPS 298 +3 223 +5 241 +8 271

Status
Not open for further replies.

will and shishi

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=41434

Hello all

Just to recap, I am on a higher dose for Shishi 7 units right now. Shes had a bout with pancreatitis, thus the multiple small meals.

I have since bought Shishi a timed feeder, She gets 8oz of Merricks Grammys pot pie daily.

She eats 2 oz at AMPS and PMPS injections, and .5 oz at AMPS and PMPS +1 +3 +5 and +8.

Just alot of pinks and yellows, still raising the dose and hope the breakthrough will come before 10 units.

She stopped purring again
pooping is formed and normal, although the unexpected diarrhea comes here and there and disappears after 1 day
peeing is still more than normal, tennis ball size clumps. No ketones.
her coat is still full of dandruff, only grooms her hands after meals.
she does not play anymore, and doesn't like to be touched often now.
appetite is very good, always finishes her food and begs for more.
 
Re: 4/18 Shishi AMPS 298 +3 223 Dose help

hi Will,

sorry about the pinks but seeing SS, .
the yellows are ok, kinda peeking in there you know?
I hope so too for that breakthru.

you try brushing her? some cats really enjoy that and get playful.
hang in there!
 
Re: 4/18 Shishi AMPS 298 +3 223 Dose help

Thanks for the support, I hope to see more yellows at this point.

She used to love brushing, but about 3 months ago she slowly started to reject the brush. And more and more does not like to be touched or picked up.

Its kinda sad because I want to pet her but would only be bothering her. She used to be so playful, but now I just want her to be healthy.
 
Re: 4/18 Shishi AMPS 298 +3 223 Dose help

when did you start the meal plan? about how many cycles ago?

just to double check, she gets food at +8 now?
both cycles?
 
Re: 4/18 Shishi AMPS 298 +3 223 Dose help

it just sounds like she feels crappy . . . is there a chance of anything else going on, or do you think this is all diabetes-related?
 
Re: 4/18 Shishi AMPS 298 +3 223 Dose help

Meal plan started on April 6 2011, and she gets +8 at both cycles. Reason for such a late meal is frequent meals for pancreatitis prevention.

And to Julie, I honestly don't know what else is going on with Shishi, I don't think this is all diabetes, theres something else going on and I don't know what. My vet is not too well versed in feline diabetes, and he cannot find what else is wrong with her. He has no good explanation for her high BG's except telling me to raise dose and change to M/D science diet which I refuse to do.

We ran blood, urine, stools, xrays and ultrasound, and nothing else came up except pancreatitis and kidney infection. But at this point I think something might be overlooked. I might need to find a vet that specializes in feline diabetes or something.
 
Re: 4/18 Shishi AMPS 298 +3 223 +5 241 +8 271 Dose help

How was the pancreatitis diagnosed? Did the vet send off a sample for an fPLI? If not, I would get labs and if this test was run, I'd get it repeated. I'm wondering if Shishi is in pain and pancreatitis is painful as is a kidney infection. I'm not sure you need a vet who's well versed in FD. This doesn't sound like FD.

It's quite possible that Shishi's numbers are elevated due to a residual infection or because of pain. At this point, I'd keep doing what you're doing with regard to dose.
 
Re: 4/18 Shishi AMPS 298 +3 223 +5 241 +8 271 Dose help

She went into hospitalization on March 7 due to dehydration from puking, diarrhea, and not eating.

Pancreatitis was diagnosed with blood and urine and ultrasound. Vet did not send fPLI. She was put on IV for fluids, and pain medication. Then I started to feed baby food because she would not eat her regular food.

After 1 week, she was then slowly put back to normal food, and her appetite came back. But kidney infection still there at the time. Urine was not concentrated, and she was on Zeniquin for that.

She only recently came off Zeniquin and her urine is now concentrated before stopping Zeniquin. In about 1 week I will send off another urine sample to see if her urine is still concentrated.
 
Re: 4/18 Shishi AMPS 298 +3 223 +5 241 +8 271 Dose help

Ultrasound is only as good as the person doing the test. The spec fPLI is considered definitive. I'd really encourage you to get the test run.

Here's info from a roundtable on pancreatitis. They discuss issues regarding diagnosis. Take a look at page 7 for info on ultrasound.
 
Re: 4/18 Shishi AMPS 298 +3 223 +5 241 +8 271 Dose help

sorry Shishi is feeling so crummy. Jazzy was like that when she came here - she was doing almost everything you describe, including not grooming and not wanting to be touched. When her numbers came down she started feeling better. You're doing a good job with the dose, and I would keep increasing every 4-6 cycles until she reaches a breakthrough.

Do you still have pain medication to give her? A lot of the people here who have cats with pancreatitis keep pain meds and fluids on hand to give when the cat starts acting punky. Maybe she does still have some pain, as Sienne suggested. Since cats by nature hide their pain, the best way to find out if they hurt is to try pain meds to see if there is an improvement.
 
Re: 4/18 Shishi AMPS 298 +3 223 +5 241 +8 271 Dose help

will, i keep thinking how good it is that you are trusting your gut instinct here. you raised a flag because she isn't doing well and ronnie, libby & sienne all are experts who can offer some directions for you to look into.

keep checking in - i know i'll be wondering how she is. and you too, it's stressful having a sick kitter. hang in there.
 
Re: 4/18 Shishi AMPS 298 +3 223 +5 241 +8 271 Dose help

Thanks for all the information guys, its great to know that there are others experiencing similar experiences.

I will go and get a fPLI done, and I will keep increasing the dose.

I do have some Bupe at home, and I will try it out to see if it gets better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top