4/18 Laurie's Gracie AMPS 310

Status
Not open for further replies.

LaurieL

Member Since 2011
I'm new so I hope I'm doing this right. Since there's another kitty named Gracie here I didn't want to cause any confusion so I stuck my name in the subject line, too.
My Gracie was recently diagnosed and the vet has started our home shots at 1 unit of Lantus two times a day. This Wednesday she is supposed to return for a blood glucose curve but this weekend I wanted to start learning how to do home testing.
 
you're in the right spot, laurie! everybody here will help you get a spreadsheet going and get the home testing down.

probably best place to start is to read the starred threads that are at the top of this section on "new to Lantus" "tight regulation protocol" and all of that. there are about 5 of them - it's a lot of info and i know i couldn't retain it all at once. i've read them about 20 times in the past 2 months! each time i get a little bit more of it.

nice to meet you!
 
Greetings Laurie and Gracie!! You'll find Lantus Land is a warm, caring place with great information and guidance... and a great sense of humor! Once you've read the overwhelming amount of information about Lantus and how it works, feel free to just stop by our daily threads (or condos as we call them!) and just see how things work!

One thing I think really helped me as I started out was to buy a presentation binder that had a clear cover and 20 slicky sheets inside. I printed off all the key information from the stickies, the food charts, etc. and put it all in my little binder so I could read and re-read things easily (I still refer back to them!). I also tucked a copy of the food charts in there along with all Willie's lab test results. Finally, I put the contact information for my vet and the emergency vet on the cover so that in a crisis, I knew I just had to grab the book.

Please know that we have all been in your shoes. You're in good hands now!!
 
Hi Laurie and Gracie-

I just wanted to stop in and say "Welcome"! You've found the best place to be for Gracie...there is so much help, information, and support here! FD is a pretty overwhelming diagnosis, but it does get easier, day by day! When you can, just pop into other people's condos to see what their kitties are up to (check out their spreadsheets, too)...there is a wealth of information all over the place here - all sorts of little tidbits that will help you along the way.

Have you started home testing yet? If you have, you'll get a more accurate curve if you do it at home, rather than having the vet do it - and it'll be cheaper to boot!

Don't hesitate to post any and all questions!

Amy & Trixie
 
welcome to Lantus Land

don't forget to visit the health forum often too, for home testing info and diet.

Julie has posted a link to your health thread. That'll come in handy for others to glance back at.

while you are here in Lantus Land, read the starred stickies for lots of info on how Lantus works.
ditto to visiting other condo's/threads, lots to learn but it does get easier. :razz:
 
Welcome to Lantus Land.

It looks like you've already introduced yourself on the Health board and gotten your feet wet with home testing. I'd encourage you to get a couple of tests each day even before you start giving insulin. It will get Gracie used to the process and help you get more confident with testing, too. Remember to give treats no matter whether you get a successful test or not. (And let us know if you know about low carb treats.)

Getting familiar with all of the starred sticky notes at the top of the board is essential. There's a huge amount of information there both in the notes and the links they contain. Here's an overview of the stickies.
  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal versions -- the Tilly Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in Germany and the Queensland/Rand protocol developed by Jacqui Rand, DVM and published in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot/shed: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Becoming Data Ready: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation.

Please let us know how we can help. Ask questions -- the people here are incredibly generous with their time and information. I hope you'll post regularly so we can get to know you and Gracie.
 
I too just wanted to say welcome to Lantus Land! You've fund a great lace, with lots of caring people. There is alot of information to absorb all at once, so feel free to ask questions on anything that is not clear. I also did as Christie, and have a binder that has all information contained in one spot. It does make things so easy to find.

I hope you'll post often so that we can get to know your kitty. Welcome aboard Laurie, and Gracie.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land, Laurie and Gracie, from the other Gracie and her bean!! We are one big family here to help each other so don't be afraid to ask any question you need to...we've all been there and asked all the same questions although we love it when we get new ones, too. I second Amy's idea of doing the glucose curve at home....you'll get much more accurate results and it is way cheaper and less stressful for Gracie; she can chill in her own home in between tests. Once you start testing at home regularly, we would love to see you put a Spreadsheet together so we can all be nosy and see how Gracie is doing. :lol: Let us know when you're ready and we can point you in the right direction to getting the SS up and running. You've got lots to read and if you get overwhelmed....just ask us.
 
Thank you so much for the warm welcome! And thanks, Julie, for linking my info. from the main board. I've already collected a pile of papers that really do need to be put into a binder soon!
Gracie is being so good about getting her shots, and today I attempted the glucose testing three times so I'm just thankful she's still willing to let me get close enough to pet her! Computers, gadgets like the glucometer, and medical stuff are all out of my comfort zone so I'm feeling pretty overwhelmed tonight.
The numbers today were AMPS 310, then 5 1/2 hours later it was 260, and 314 before her dinner/second shot for the day. (Her dose is currently 1 unit of Lantus.)
 
You're doing great! It is overwhelming at first, but it does get easier as your confidence grows. My guy was a little uneasy when we started too, now he purrs for every test, comes when I tell him we need to test again. It sound like it will be the same for Gracie. congrats on a great day!

when you need help with your SS and your profile, just ask - there are those here that can help get that up and running.

Have a great night!
 
It's great that you got three tests done yesterday!!! You and Gracie will get used to it. The first time we tested Trixie was just awful...I didn't think I'd be able to do this. But now, she comes running when she hears the clicking of the lancet device! If you told me that she would look forward to testing after that first attempt, I never in a million years would have believed it. Of course, that little post-poke treat certainly helps...kitties are very malleable when it comes to goodies!

Keep on postin'!

Amy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top