Re: 4/18 Gizzy AMPS 400 Dosing Question
Lori, I may not know alot but here’s what I see in the numbers on your ss.
Since start of April, the dose 2.5u looks too high.
End of March, you were bounces, like 3/29 with amps 413 and +6 133, then back up 301 for pmps. Then on 3/30, amps was 366 and +10 was only 164, so what happened in the earlier part of the cycle, plus pmps was up to 443 – a jump in less than 2 hrs... I think, whoa what happened there? And the bounce began. On 3/31, the am cycle was pretty much a write off, clearing through the bounce, but in the pm cycle, you were down to blue with a +5 167, so without any further tests in the pm, I would have to guess that you got some much lower numbers because the amps for 4/1 was 401... something happened to get that high by morn. Again, you have a write off cycle till that bounce clears, and also no tests for that pm cycle, so we are guessing again for 4/2 numbers. On 4/2, you start the day with an increase from 2.25u to 2.5u on the amps of 308. I am not sure why the increase, but you can pretty much know what more insulin is going to do.... make bigger bounces. And that is exactly what happened.
If you look at 4/2, amps is 308, you increase by .25u. Look at the numbers you have for that one cycle.... it is straight down – 308 283 250 229. When I see a steady drop like that I think the drop is going to continue, but till when? And sure enough by +4 you dropped from 229 pmps to 99 at +4.5 and no tests after that 99. Again you can pretty much guess what happened overnite because the morn delivered 4/3 amps 306 and still rising with a 400 at +4. The cycle finished off with a nice high of 433 and by +4 again you had dropped to 210. Another straight line down from pmps 433 to amps 176. At this point, after 3 cycles of 2.5u as a dose, I think I would have said, back we go to 2.25u because that bounce is worse than on 2.25u. Of course, on 4/4 amps was 176 and that cycle was another straight up to pmps of 331.
On 4/6, you have amps 426 and pmps 406 with nothing in the middle for numbers BUT guessing how the past few days have gone and then how you dropped from the 406 down to 73 at +5 and feeding HC did not bring up the number by +7 which had dropped more down to 60, I would have pulled back for sure which is what you did but by only a drop?
By 4/10, on the 2.35u dose, pmps was 373 and dropped to green 90 at +5 and stayed green for most of that cycle including that 33 at +7.5. For sure, I would have dropped the dose, which you did and that is good. You would have had some shed to dump and you would have shed to settle in the new dose, and bounce to clear, so the next couple days showed maybe a dose of less than 2u was not quite enough, but without numbers in mid cycle we can’t know.
On 4/12 and 4/13, you have ps numbers of 409/410 and 410/359. You may think all is staying high and want to raise the dose, but you can’t base dosing on the ps numbers. Just look at 4/13 pmps 359 and you got a drop to 184 by +5, so with no other pm cycle numbers, you have to guess the numbers were lower because the 4/14 amps was 573. I am not clear why you increased the dose at that time, just for one cycle.
With frequent dose adjustments, you are going to see strange numbers as dose is settling, draining or filling, and fast changes are not helpful for smooth numbers.
On 4/15, you see a drop from amps of 431 to 175 at +5... big drop, and then back up to pmps of 471 followed by more bouncing.
I think I’d try the 2u dose and leave it for at least 3 days, no fat or skinny 2’s, just the same dose and let it settle.
For feeding, with those big drops in the front of the cycles, I would think you will get much better results by feeding hourly in the front half of the cycle and make the portions smaller. Instead of feeding at ps and +4, divide those 2 meal amounts into 5 portions.... you want to have slow, small and steady flow of foods to try and slow down the big drops.
Without seeing what’s going on in the middle of many cycles, it’s hard to say what to do as much is going to be based on assumptions, but I you try a lower dose and stick with it, then once the bounce stops, you can see where you need to go.