4/18 Cobb AMPS 205 PMPS 361 +2 321

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Well, not an exciting night per se, but an unexpected one. Here's a recap:

PMPS: 212
+2: 146
+3: 171
+5.5: 179

I certainly was surprised at the +2. Cobb usually food spikes, and if he drops, it's usually not that much. But it was nice to see he surfed the blues, probably for most of the night. He was quite active so I'm guessing he dropped a little lower.

We are starting the morning off nicely as well (is that grammatically correct? Nicely?). Anyway...I like that...it gives him some room to climb if today's car ride stressed him out. I don't know who will end up more stressed: Cobb or Matt. He is really stressed about having both the baby and the cat on a 4-hour drive. I told him many of you have taken longer ones, but I wasn't sure if there were kids in the car for those adventures. :lol:

Since we'll be out of town, I won't be on as much. I'll miss you guys!! :smile: No worries, you'll get my morning and night posts, perhaps with a few other sprinkled in.

But before I go...I want to be as educated as possible about medications that some vets give after dentals...I know Covenia and Metacam are no-nos. Is there any particular medication that you have found helpful and safe for diabetics? I appreciate it in advance!

Have a great weekend and a Happy Easter to those who celebrate!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 4/18 Cobb AMPS 205

Nice night last night. Nicely done Cobb! :-D How about another blue surf today? Safe travels.

The medications you get after a dental depend a bit on what is done. Neko just had a cleaning and tooth paring and didn't have any meds. Extractions can mean antibiotics and pain medication. A common one for dentals is clindamycin, but ABs are hard on the gut flora so you should pick up some probiotic and perhaps start Cobb on it a day or two before his operation. Mariko/Lucy had a good discussion on drops vs. pills in her condo yesterday as Lucy just had 2 teeth extracted. For pain meds, buprenorphine is fairly common. Neko gets that daily now as one of her acro side effects is arthritis.
 
Re: 4/18 Cobb AMPS 205

Thanks Wendy! The car ride is over! Cobb was awesome! Can't say the same for the baby, who apparently hates the car. :lol:

I'll grab Cobb's pm test later. He's not happy because I'm sure he smells my parents' cat. Oh well...
 
Re: 4/18 Cobb AMPS 205 PMPS 361 - stressed, not eating??

Not awful PMPS, given the car ride and stress of being in a different house. I was expecting much higher.

Anyway...now the bad news. He's not eating like he usually does. Stress?? I gave him his full dose and will monitor over the next few hours. What do I do if he won't eat??
 
Re: 4/18 Cobb AMPS 205 PMPS 361

I am glad that Cobb did well in the car. How much did he eat? Monitor him and see where is at. The stress or bouncing might keep him up anyway. With the large amount of insulin you are giving, I don't think the food means as much as it does with smaller doses. Let see what the more experienced people say.
 
Re: 4/18 Cobb AMPS 205 PMPS 361

are you keeping him in a bedroom while he adjusts to your folks' house? that might help him settle down.

there are a bunch of things you can do to tempt him. maybe he's a little nauseous from the car ride. i'd leave food out and check on him in a bit. here are a few tricks:

- heat the food up so it's smellier
- sprinkle on parmesan cheese, oregano (relative of catnip), catnip
- feed him some with your finger to "prime the pump" and hopefully get him interested
- add lunchmeat (although most will have sugar, so go easy)
- rotisserie chicken is pretty well irresistible for many cats
- try a different flavor
- baby food, but only meat and broth, no onions or garlic
- pour on some tuna juice or give a little tuna (onion garlic alert again, check the can)

i'd wonder if he's just a little carsick. i say that because I get carsick. it's a mom thing - i'm cold so would you put on a sweater please? hahaha. but maybe give him a little while to settle down.

let us know how the next couple of hours go - now i'll be worried about him! if it comes down to it, any food is better than no food. a little ice cream, high carb food, anything except food with onions or garlic. Dyana gives JD a little steak. nom nom nom
 
Re: 4/18 Cobb AMPS 205 PMPS 361

oh, and re the dental - clindamycin is what worked best when punkin had extractions but the probiotics are a must. otherwise it gives diarrhea to many cats.

bupe - yes.

have some baby food at home so when you bring him home you can start him a teaspoon at a time until the anesthesia has cleared and his tummy is working right again.

get clear directions on how much insulin to give him and what to do about morning food. most vets suggest 1/2 dose. i negotiated to feed punkin regular amounts the previous evening until midnight, then i gave him a couple of teaspoons of food along with his insulin shot (1/2 dose) in the morning. In general, you want to do what your vet suggests because if they have experience working with cats that have skipped a shot, or cats that have 1/2 dose, you want to stay with their plan. If the vet isn't certain, i'd ask about 1/2 dose and that bite of food in the morning if you need it to give the shot.
 
Re: 4/18 Cobb AMPS 205 PMPS 361

Cobb is hanging out in a bathroom that no one is going in and out of. My mom put down a blanket for him to hangout on, a large litter box, food and water. But he wants to come out and explore. Understandable but my parents just recarpeted the part of the house that he's in and don't want him to pee on it. I did bring some gravy food as our rescue food if he gets low...which I doubt but I want to be prepared. I just gave him his regular dose, no R...figured that was best.

I mixed a little extra water in the food to see if that would entice him. I'll check him again after I get the baby down.

Regarding the insulin and dental...I asked twice. They told me to give his regular dose and feed as usual. They do gas anesthesia only, no injectable. I asked twice and told them exactly how much he is on. They said yes, both times. The vet tech said they like to see them as healthy and medicated as they normally are and monitor constantly. That does make me nervous, given what everyone else does though...but I don't want to give too little on Monday and then them not do the dental until later in the week, although I could always make it up with done R if needed and treat it like a fur shot.
 
Re: 4/18 Cobb AMPS 205 PMPS 361

It sounds like they are confident about taking care of him. I still might reduce to 75% of regular dose, just because we know anesthesia can lower blood sugar. As you said, you can make it up with R if necessary if he's high from the reduction. I don't know about the implication of using gas versus injection, but perhaps someone else will know.
 
Re: 4/18 Cobb AMPS 205 PMPS 361

Just checked on Cobb. He is eating a bit. Maybe half his regular dinner. We tried to bring him out of the bathroom but he started growling and hissing :roll: so he's going to have to stay in there for right now. It's crazy...granted it's been several years, but he's been to my parents house before...actually lived here for a few weeks back when I first got him in college.
 
Re: 4/18 Cobb AMPS 205 PMPS 361

we kitty-sat my daughter's cat, Jackson (named for Jackson County, Alabama, where she got him) for 6 months and STILL every time he comes back he acts like it's dangerous territory! :lol:

glad to hear he's eating a bit. sounds like he just needs to settle back in!
 
Re: 4/18 Cobb AMPS 205 PMPS 361

Oh good, I am glad he is eating some. Cats can be strange out of their element and usual territory.
 
Re: 4/18 Cobb AMPS 205 PMPS 361

More reading - a post from Sienne on questions to ask the vet about anesthesia. I agree with Julie - I'd go light on the insulin on the morning of. Use your judgement based on his morning AMPS. R is a great tool to use if you need. I've seen way too many cats dive the night after an anesthesia and that's especially scary if they have extractions and don't feel like eating. Neko's last dental they said 1/4 dose and I did a token .1U instead and they measured her BG at 76 on their Alphatrak just before inducing the anesthesia. :shock:

I'm glad Cobb is eating a bit. He'll do more as he relaxes. Maybe leave one of your shirts there so he has your smell with him.
 
He's starting to come down from his PMPS. I went in to check him and he started purring when I petted him. I also got biased at when I left the room though. :roll: Make up your mind, Cobb!

I agree on the insulin. While I doubt he'll be that low pre-anesthesia. I'd rather not risk it. Given his current stress level, 1/2 to 3/4 of a dose would probably be ok. I was thinking 15uL - if he is where he is now, less if he's in the low 200s like this morning. That is somewhere in between those values. I'd rather him be high instead of too low and then have to have a glucose drip which will throw us all out of whack! But I haven't had to make this judgment call before, so I'm a bit nervous... nailbite_smile
 
Hi Suzanne,

I don't have any advice for you. I just wanted to let you know that I'm keeping both you and Cobb in my thoughts and prayers. I know you're both really stressed out right now.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Hang in there!
Shelly
 
Hi there :cool:

Just popped in to let you know I saw your questions regarding your developing an R scale for Cobb. I'm putting together my thoughts and will post in the next few days.

Regarding the dental day - for BKs first dental I skipped the shot the morning of the dental. His BG dropped to 30 while he was in recovery. I also skipped the PM shot. The next morning I shot 7u L which was a little over half his 13u L dose at the time. The day of his 2nd dental he also skipped his AM shot (which was 5.25u at that time) and I gave him a BCS of 4.5 that night (at +23.25)


Easier to tap down any high numbers with R for a while rather than to try and bring up low numbers when a cat won't eat.
 
Hi Suzanne:

I'm glad you all survived the drive to your parents' home. Poor Cobb is stressed I'm sure - cats are such creatures of habit. We've traveled with cats many times, and they are always upset the first night or so. Giving him something that smells like you to comfort him is a good idea.

Sending good vetty and dental vines.

Enjoy your visit with your famiily.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top