4/18/13 Rags AMBS

Status
Not open for further replies.

yo hon

Member Since 2013
7:30 a.m. eastern AMPS 497 ate 2 temp. treats, 1 1/2 cans ff with water.
10:22a.m. 1/4 can ff wiith water.

His numbers are too high in a.m. he did better on 1u a day.

YoHon & Rags

Sorry about the AMBG, I corrected it. Thank you !
 
Re: 4/18/13 Rags AMBG

Hi guys .. Did rag's get his insulin today? I'm not real familiar with rag's story but AMBG is what we use if we aren't shooting, AMPS is the number we get right before we shoot insulin .. I know it seems like he may have done better on just one shot a day, but lantus likes consistency, about every 12 hours apart .. just hang in there and hopefully soon rag's will be in better numbers ...
 
Re: 4/18/13 Rags AMBG

Morning Becki

I know his BG this morning seems high but I hope you will continue to shoot twice a day. There are alot of things that can affect the BG ....a whole list of things. I doubt that shooting twice a day for one day has resulted in this number.

Lantus is not like Humulin/Novolin because of the way it works. You don't see an immediate change in numbers. So one day of shooting twice isn't going to result in a change. Jill has a great analogy: if you are in a cruise ship and want to change course, you can turn the wheel but it takes a while to actually see the ship move in another direction. Lantus takes time and patience to see a change. I hope you will give it several more cycles of shooting twice a day. We may then find that the dose needs to go up.

Cats use the insulin differently than people and with an insulin like lantus, they do require shots twice a day to keep their BG more stable.

You're doing great!!! I hope Rags is feeling better this morning.
 
Re: 4/18/13 Rags AMBG

1:30 p.m. +6 422

Marje, Thank you for all your time and patience with me, I REALLY do appreciate it !!! No, please don't take the numbers off SS. They help me to remember all the +'s.

Thank you for the avitar I love how you did it !!!

I will come to you for my SS questions, I'm happy to know you are all there for me. I know you have ALOT of other babies that you are helping, I don't mean to sound "like I'm the only one", I just didn't know anyone's schedule. I'll be more patient ! (which I really have none, ha,ha!)

I messed up this a.m. and gave him his inj. at 7:30 a.m., but was told I could. I'm gonna stay with that, because of work. I can't wait for my boy to level out.

I was gonna feed him now, but when I took his number and know that it will start rising now, I don't want to. I KNOW I can feed him as much as he wants, but I don't want to add to his high numbers. Once I figure all this out I will feel more cmfortable with feeding him. It's just that it was preached to me "feed him the SAME exact amount of food at the SAME exact time each day !" That's why I always asked about givng him more food when his numbers were high. I don't know very much about Diabetes in a cat, but BOY am I learning !!!


Thank you again,

Becki & Rags
 
Re: 4/18/13 Rags AMBG

Petr Devon Mocha, thank you for correcting me this a.m. I did fix it. the AMBG TO AMPS. All these letters confuse me, sorry. Yes he did get his insulin this a.m. I will continue to give him his inj. b.i.d. and I will try to have patience with his numbers leveling out. I know it takes time. I just wish we had started with Lantus to begin with. They started him on Novolin N-100, that was AWFUL !!! It has been one month today that he was dx. He has been on Lantus for two weeks now. The first week and a half just one unit in a.m. His numbers were ok then. NO highs or lows, we loved that. He had few high but not much over 400. When he was on Novolin he was A;WAYS HI. We had one hypo of 35, which was one too many !!!

Thanks for checking on us and posting.

YoHon & Rags
 
Re: 4/18/13 Rags AMBG

Deb & Wink, Just got your care package. OMG, you are a GOOD care package sender, and THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH !! Rags, and the other kids LOVE the treats. I think you covered every aspect that you could. Thank you for my goodies too. You're gonna get me FAT !!! ha, ha !!!!

However, you are spending way too much money just sending these things to me, not to mention what you are sending. Again, I DO appreciate ALL that you do for us and I mean that from the bottom of my heart !!! THANK YOU !!!!!

The appetizers you sent, Rags can have them ??? My girl, Freeway, loves the chicken ones. I used to buy them for her. She is a Turkey, Chicken girl.

Again, Thanks !

Becki Y& Rag
 
Re: 4/18/13 Rags AMBG

Glad to hear the care package arrived today.

Yes, Rags can have the Fancy Feast Appetizers. Think of it as a treat for testing and give him a teaspoon or so and share with the other 4 kitties.

I wanted you to have plenty of test strips. You should have 5 boxes of 50 Relion Prime strips now plus that partial box. You can go through 200-250 test strips easily in a month, especially when you are first starting out on a new insulin.

Trying to find the onset time, nadir time, duration time, overlap time, doing 2 preshot tests a day, dealing with hypos can all use lots of strips. I'd rather you had plenty in stock than run out.

Not trying to make you fat with the chocolates, just wanted to make sure you had a treat for yourself since I sent treats for the kitties. Enjoy.

I think I remembered to send everything. Did I forget something? Is there something you are low on that your FDMB family could send to you?

Has anyone mentioned the patience pants to you? They are really cool :cool: They get passed around to everyone on the board at some time or another. Here's a pretty pair:



We tell someone to put on their patience pants when they are eager for something to happen but it is going to take some time. Sort of like your wanting to get the hang of how to deal with the new Lantus insulin. There is lots to learn and you will need to put on those patience pants many times in this journey. :-D
 

Attachments

  • phpr8q1oq_c2PM.jpg
    phpr8q1oq_c2PM.jpg
    2 KB · Views: 353
Re: 4/18/13 Rags AMBG

Darlin, those pants are NEVER coming off as long as i'm on here. Someone NEEDS ALOT of patience here ! Ther are other people that could use them as well. Thank you !! I told you from the very beginning that I had none of that, especially when you have alot of people telling you different things, ya know ???
One does get confused and impatient. I Know it's going to take time to regulate my boy, I do know that ! That's what hurts, ya know ?
Some people don't seem to care or even try to understand what is going on in your own world besides your poor baby. Things don't come easy to all of us ! We aren't all brainy. I also take alot of medication that messes with my head, plus the other things In
life that I have to deal with this at this time. It's nothing that can be put on the back burner, ya know what I mean Deb ?

I HAVE been trying very hard to do things right and I'm sorry that some people don't understand that. When I was in Catholic School, my Nun's favorite saying was "PATIENCE WAS A VIRTUE !!" Amen !!!

I am not trying to be disrespectful to anyone, I wish I could say the same about them ! I'm just tring to learn the right way, and do the right thing for my boy.
With you, I know I can kid around a little bit, sometimes you need some relief. I'm sorry that a few people can't understand that.

Well, gotta run for now, gotta get ready for the BIG TEST, Feed and shoot time. My boy wants out bad today but I had to tell him NO. He has been very good today,

Talk to you later,
.
Becki & Rags
 
Re: 4/18/13 Rags AMBG

Darlin, those pants are NEVER coming off as long as I'm on here.

Didn't know your favorite color, but I thought the yellow and black were pretty. I can find you your favorite color if you like? ;-) ;-)


Oooooh!!!! Rags gets to have his new freeze dried treats for his testing tonight. Let me know if he likes them.
 
Re: 4/18/13 Rags AMBG

PMPS 7:30 p.m. 422 ate 1 1/2 can ff with water and two chickeen liver f/d treats.
I will update SS as soon as I get done Dinner.

Becki & Rags
 
Re: 4/18/13 Rags AMBG

Becki

Great job tonight!!!

My husband, who is also Catholic, always says "why does patience get to be a virtue? why can't 'hurry up!' be a virtue?" :lol: :lol: :lol:

I hope you don't mind but I went back into your SS and edited the BG entries for last night and this morning to give you an example of how to do those entries. It's very difficult to explain to new members so that it makes sense; I think that giving an example is easier for everyone to understand. I hope that is ok with you. I'm more than happy to help you with that because it can get confusing when shooting late, shooting early, or stalling 9like we all have to do at some time) and entering numbers. You'll get it...I know you will!

It's ok that you shot at 7:30 this morning. If you see numbers coming down the next cycle or two, it would be what we might expect with an early shot. But it's all ok!!!! :-D :-D :-D

I'm so glad you like the way I did the avatar. He has such a beautiful face and since the program forced me to crop something, I figured we'd just zero in on that handsome guy's face.

I've told other members that FD takes a village....and we are yours. Just keep focusing on the positive like you do.
 
Re: 4/18/13 Rags AMBG

Don't know how much you read of other condos on the board, but there were two sad events today with our FDMB family.

Newer member Autofade248 lost her cat Billy today.http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=92923

Long time member Michelle had to make that oh so hard decision to let her beloved Mannie cross the Rainbow Bridge. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=93548 I always loved reading these upbeat condos with Mannie, Kitteh Barista.

So sad they are gone. My heart is breaking along with their owners. Can't stay here any longer tonight.

Take good care of Rags. And give all your others lots of hugs.
 
Re: 4/18/13 Rags AMBG

Deb, favorite color BLUE. Rags LOVES, Loves his treats, so does everyone else !!! Rags says thank you sooooo much Aunt Deb for those wonderful treats, just wish I could have more than two teenie tiny pieces. They are MEOW, MEOW GOOD !!!!! Can't wait to try the chicken, I'm not much of a fish boy, but I WILL try them.


Thank you, get my mom a pretty blue pair of pants, cause she will have them on all the time. Light blue please, I like mom in that color.

Rags & Becki
 
Re: 4/18/13 Rags AMBG

Marge, his numbers aren't coming down, they are staying HI. i'm goona do a three hour. i have to get up at 5:00 a.m. for work. I'll post them and wait for you to answer, ok ?

thank you, Becki & Rags
 
Re: 4/18/13 Rags AMBG

Sounds good, Becki.

Remember....cruise ship....we need to give Rags time for the lantus to fill up the depot....imagine a pail and how long it takes to fill with water if you add a little at a time. We typically hold the starting dose at least 5-7 days.

We are all closely watching his numbers so we can let you know when we think you should increase the dose. We won't forget to let you know when we think it's time.
 
Marje, BG 378 and I gave him three small f/d chicken liver treats.

I'm falling asleep, I'll put on SS tomorrow, if that is o.k

Thank you for being there for us !

Becki & Rags
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top