4/17 Thomas AMPS 329

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonya

Member Since 2012
Numbers are still high, but they did go down a smudge with the increase. The new syringes make a big difference.

Sonya
 
Thomas! Why so high up there!? You and Pumbaa need to come down...Kit is getting so lonely down on the green floor...he only has Musette to hang out with but she's a G-I-R-L. He'd like to hang out with the "guys" as well!

Here's hoping to better numbers with the increase!
 
LOL ANd Miss Fancy Pants has decided to join them on the purple floor tonight...little <insert expletive here> decide to help herself to a bagel this morning and then half a plate of spaghetti at lunch....<sigh>

see even the best of us get the music changed mid-song...lol

Come on boys you can't let a G-I-R-L beat you....well at least most days... I guess today she figured out we had two new handsome men that she had to go check out. ohmygod_smile

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Happy to see a slight improvement....ALMOST YELLOW! :mrgreen: Hoping for more with tonight's shot.

Glad you got the new syringes. They are much easier to dose accurately!

I really don't want to come across as harping. I was just wondering what is preventing you from one last test before you go to bed at night? Maybe before you give him his bedtime snack? Of course if it is personal, you don't have to share! :? It's just that We may get to a point soon where it will be difficult for you to make safe decisions on raising/lowering the dose without a few random tests. Even if we do not know a nadir, sometimes getting a sense of which direction the cat is going once insulin kicks in can be very useful information.

:YMHUG: Please know you really are doing a great job! You helped Thomas make a transition to wet food, smoothly. You started testing both preshots, and doing weekend curves. You recognized thomas was likely at a very unsafe dose and after researching opted to start 'fresh'. Those are all scary things to do. But show what a great commitment you have toward him. Keep it up Sonya! :mrgreen:
 
412 this morning! I will be home tomorrow so I will get some more reading before I increase for the evening shot. This is how we got up to 5 units before the diet change. I'm thinking he will be somewhere between 2 and 3 units. I just have to be patient. I am a bit nervous about this weekend. I will be away and a friend, who also has a diabetic cat but does not do home glucose testing, will be giving him shots. He'll get his shots, and I will show her how to check his blood, but she probably won't be very good with the blood checking.

Sonya
 
You can also give her your log on info for here and if she has any problems she is welcome to post either here or on Health...Health will probably give her quicker information...and heck you might just be able to teach her to test at home too, and greatly improve her diabetic kitty's care as well as saving her money on the vet trips. :-D Turn her on to this board as well, that way if she ever needs us she will know right where to go, to learn all the ins and outs of feline diabetes.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Sonya said:
This is how we got up to 5 units before the diet change. I'm thinking he will be somewhere between 2 and 3 units.

Yes, but you were moving it 1u at a time. This is much safer. I think you are correct...he will probably need around 2-3 units now that he is on the wet food.

I think it is a great idea to get some more tests in before you increase. That will help you decide how much to increase by... .25 or .50
I would hate for you to do a large increase (.50) w/o knowing AND not being around to test him this weekend.

I think it is a great idea to teach your neighbor how to test and introduce them to this website. She can definitely post FOR you while you are gone, in case she has questions and cannot reach you.

I hope you are going somewhere fun!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top