4/17 Mooch AMPS 117 PMPS 332

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Mary

Member Since 2012
Mooch's blood glucose was good this morning. He ate very little of the wet foods I offered him yesterday but did get ~1/8 cup of EVO dry last night to make sure he ate something and he scarfed that down. This morning I gave him some fresh chicken and mixed in ~1/8 cup of EVO dry to encourage him to eat it and make sure he ate something even if he didn't like the chicken. He wasn't impressed with the chicken at first and I didn't hold out much hope as he disliked all the poultry flavoured wet foods. However once I put the EVO kibble on top he started eating that and tried some of the chicken and I saw him eat one piece and start another so maybe I found something he likes. Keep your fingers crossed nailbite_smile

Smooch sends smooches to everyone!

Yesterday's condo post viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68839
 
Re: 4/17 Mooch AMPS 117

Great AMPS!

I find it amazing that now you hear how cats should be eating as they did in the wild (high protein, no dry) yet so many of them LOVE kibble! I'm going to start trying out all the ones you are to see if any of my 4 stubborn ones will budge!
 
Re: 4/17 Mooch AMPS 117

punkin will eat anything, so he didn't have any trouble transitioning to canned food, but a lot of people have said that you can pulverize the dry, like in a coffee bean grinder (yum - extra flavor for your coffee!) and then just sprinkle it on to get them to eat the canned food.

is this the evo kitten dry? i think that one might be 8% carbs, which is ok, but you may want to double check whatever variety it is in the Binky's food list. Look in the starred yellow sticky that's titled "New to the Group?" and it's in there.

one of the prerequisites for following the Tight Reg Protocol is that they have to be on an all low-carb canned food diet. the way i understand it is that this provides some protection against hypoglycemia that is not there with dry foods. i'm not sure of the connection, but i do know it is important to give only canned food. it also most closely mimics a natural diet for a cat - which is a mouse, bird, snake, etc.

good luck helping him with that transition.
 
Yes, I've been using the EVO cat & kitten dry. He was eating the Wysong canned food for about a week but then decided he didn't like it so I've been trying different canned foods/raw over the last few days. In the morning I've been giving him thecanned/raw with a few kibbles mixed in and if he didn't eat anything/very little I've been giving some EVO dry (dissapeasr in about 30 seconds) as well as some wet/raw in the evenings to make sure he got at least 100-150 calories.

Adding ground up kibble didn't help much but adding some whole kibbles helped him try various foods as he'd at least push the food around and eat small amounts as he hunted for the hidden kibble. I've ordered some of the Fortiflora which is also made of the animal digest used to coat dry food and is supposed to be good to encourage eating.

The good news is that Mooch seemed to like the raw chicken today and ate about a third of a chicken breast plus the ~1/8 cup of EVO. I think eating so much more than normal including the dry raised his blood sugars. This evening I've given him just some more of the chicken breast with no kibble and maintained the 0.5 unit insulin shot.

My cat Jester was so much easier as she loved canned food and was happy to switch over and loved lots of different canned foods. She was also a calico cat with one white/orange ear which made glucose testing super easy as you could see exactly where the blood vessels in her ear were!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top