4/17 Max AMPS 384 +3 427

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Ugh :arghh: what’s up with these numbers? I will be outside most of the day anyway. I will get a few more tests today but if he doesn’t come down should he get an increase tomorrow? I need some advice/opinions. Thanks so much. Happy Easter! @Wendy&Neko @FrostD
 
Sorry, yesterday was out of town visiting my mother and too overwhelmed when I got back to follow up the dozens of tags. Max did see green on this dose on the 13th, and we hold doses with green nadirs for 10 cycles. To answer yesterday's questions, doses with blue nadirs you hold 6-10 cycles according to TR. I decided where in between there based on how low the blue was. I think the night of the 15th either the fast drop or going a little lower later caused the bounce. Anyway, Max is being considerate.

Hope you have fun with the family today.
 
Sorry, yesterday was out of town visiting my mother and too overwhelmed when I got back to follow up the dozens of tags. Max did see green on this dose on the 13th, and we hold doses with green nadirs for 10 cycles. To answer yesterday's questions, doses with blue nadirs you hold 6-10 cycles according to TR. I decided where in between there based on how low the blue was. I think the night of the 15th either the fast drop or going a little lower later caused the bounce. Anyway, Max is being considerate.

Hope you have fun with the family today.

No worries!!!
Thank you. I came in to check on Max… he’s not coming down so I will just check again at PMPS. I meant to ask you, do you think I should ask for him to have the lab test for IAA? He’s getting some labs on Tuesday and I was wondering if he should be tested. I am not sure if he looks characteristic of a cat with IAA on his SS. I don’t know that much about it. If Max just looks bouncy I understood that. Just wondering if it’s worth getting the test done. I will check back later.
 
It's quite common for post SRT cats to be bouncy. Your decision whether you want to know if IAA is involved. The only reason I can think of now is to be extra careful if the antibodies break. That can be around 1 year after starting insulin, or a bit earlier or later. If you don't get the test done, then just be extra cautious if you start seeing reductions coming quickly in a row. Of course, that can also be the SRT effect.
 
It's quite common for post SRT cats to be bouncy. Your decision whether you want to know if IAA is involved. The only reason I can think of now is to be extra careful if the antibodies break. That can be around 1 year after starting insulin, or a bit earlier or later. If you don't get the test done, then just be extra cautious if you start seeing reductions coming quickly in a row. Of course, that can also be the SRT effect.
That’s a good point. It is coming up on one year. I think I will ask for the test just so I will know. When the antibodies break, do they come back in flare ups like any other autoimmune disease would or is it just gone after they break? I hope that question makes sense.
 
I don't think enough is known about the insulin auto antibodies in cats. With Neko (and it could be ECID), they broke around the same time as her SRT. Not sure if one was tied to the other. It never came back. However, if you retest IAA, the number always come back around the same, at least while on insulin. Interesting post from Sandy about that here. And then there is Lisa's Oberon, who seems to be taking longer than a year, maybe? Plus I remember one cat who was almost down to OTJ, got heart disease and then antibodies reared their ugly head. So, stories are not consistent.
 
Back
Top