4/17 Harley PMPS 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Am not panicking, you all have taught me well, Harley is only 33. Went to my great niece's 1st birthday party and neighbor shot Harley. I think she gave 8.5u so this is to be expected. Gave HC now. Don't have too many strips (planning on shopping trip today) so I can only test ever 20-30 minutes.

Pattie

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=41229
 
Re: 4/17 Harley +11 33

Testing on that schedule is fine. As long as you feel like you're in control of the numbers, all is good.

For the future, you may want to set up a sample syringe when a neighbor is lending a hand.
 
Re: 4/17 Harley +11 33

I have tried the sample but still it is hard for her. She can do the amount that is on the line but Harley is 8.25 and she cannot judge that.

Pattie
 
Re: 4/17 Harley AMPS 57

Harley is going up but I am sure some (or most) is the HC food. I am home for most of the day so testing will not be a problem.

Pattie
 
Re: 4/17 Harley +12.15 57

I decided to hold off for a bit on the shot, just to see what he is doing. Will test again in about 20 min,

Pattie
 
Re: 4/17 Harley +12.15 57

As long as a bit of a stall won't throw you too far off schedule, you're fine.

If the neighbor has trouble with the between the line shots, better she shoots a little low.
 
Re: 4/17 Harley AMPS 64

Finally go a good number to shoot. Shot 8.25u. I was wondering if I should go back to the 8.5u since his numbers on the 8.25 were in the 300's...guess not. He must have been in a bounce.

Pattie
 
Re: 4/17 Harley AMPS 64

Woo~Woo! Busy morning so far for you two! Hope Harley will surf nicely and allow you a few minutes to go get more strips. Does he have stock in the company? :lol:
 
Re: 4/17 Harley AMPS 64, 38 +2.5, 39 +7

Harley is liking the 30's today. I am going to give even more HC food. He has gone through a can already today but can't seem to get above 45-47.

Pattie
 
Re: 4/17 Harley AMPS 64, 38 +2.5, 39 +7

you could add a few drops of Karo to his gravy to see if that will bump him up a little more. It would be good to get him out of the 30s.

Depending on what happens by shot time tonight, it might not be a bad idea to skip or BCS tonight's shot to let his shed drain some. If he hasn't bounced yet by PMPS then you might consider that.
 
Re: 4/17 Harley AMPS 64, 38 +2.5, 39 +7, 37 +11.5

Only 30 minutes to shot and Harley is 37. Well, I can't shoot this number. Don't really want to feed and shoot because the high number will only be the food. I will wait, hopefully he will at least get to 50 and I will shoot 8u. Any suggestions if he does not get up to 50 anytime soon.

Pattie
 
Re: 4/17 Harley AMPS 64, 38 +2.5, 39 +7, 37 +11.5

Harley has been extremely low for at least 16 hours, and has not come up despite high carb food (and maybe some karo?). To be honest, this is looking like a possible overdose. Are you SURE your neighbor only shot 8.5 units last night? I'm not saying for sure that is what happened. With IAA, sometimes a dose that was good yesterday is all of a sudden too much so maybe 8.25 or 8.5 was actually an overdose. Either way, my opinion is that Harley's shed needs to be drained tonight. I'm afraid that if you shoot anything, he will go too low overnight.

If you do decide to shoot, you'll need to stay up and test until he starts his bounce. When you get a test in the 30s, you can't wait over 4 hours to retest, ok? I realize that Harley spends quite a bit of time in low numbers, but you don't want to get THAT comfortable with 30s. Don't forget that with IAA, the antibodies' influence can change quickly. If the dose is suddenly too much, then hypo is possible.
 
Re: 4/17 Harley AMPS 64, 38 +2.5, 39 +7, 37 +11.5

oh, and *always* feed the 30s, even if it is almost shot time. I would go with a bit of gravy, since we don't know how long this will go on.
 
Re: 4/17 Harley PM 70 +12

He is up to 70, but I did give some HC food. His day might be catching up to him. I was going to go with a BCS dose of only 5u but I might wait another 30 minutes, see what he is and give a lower (than usual) dose of 8u. That is what his dose decrease should be.

Pattie
 
Re: 4/17 Harley PM 70 +12

pattie, just offering an opinion...
harley has spent the entire day in numbers which are much too low for my comfort. as libby mentioned, this looks much like an over dose to me. i'd be inclined to skip tonight's shot to let the shed drain. he's not hungry. if you shoot and he goes low you'll have one heck of a time getting the numbers up. why chance it?
 
Re: 4/17 Harley PM 70 +12

I worry though that with the IAA, if I skip a shot, I would lose ground. If I go with a much lower dose, his bg would still rise, lose some of the shed but the antibodies would not take over.

Pattie
 
Re: 4/17 Harley PM 70 +12

i understand your concern. however, we have an unusual and unknown factor here... last night's shot. we don't know how much insulin was given. it looks very much like an over dose to me. and then harley received his regular dose this morning on top of it.
it's your decision. i prefer to err on the side of caution than possibly dealing with emergency treatment or worse.
 
Re: 4/17 Harley PM 70 +12

antibodies won't take over because of one shot. I have an autoimmune disorder, and I can promise you that antibodies don't react that quickly. I wish they did so it would be easier to control them!

You're being very aggressive with Harley and it is working, BUT you also need to consider safety. Sandy/BK did shoot low and aggressively, but she also had Dominick to help monitor and they would literally take turns sleeping so they could test around the clock. You don't have that luxury, so you have to put safety first and IAA second.

Harley hits green, then bounces for 2-3 days, then goes back to an even lower green number after that. He can hit 40s from almost any preshot reading. He might be getting too much insulin and bouncing because of too much insulin rather than too little. Letting the shed drain for one cycle will let you get a more clear picture of what the dose is doing, and more importantly will protect him from hypo.
 
Harley has gone up to a safer number. I did choose to shoot but a very low amount for him - only 4u. I will watch and test during the night. With this lower dose, I feel that I am being safe with Harley. In the past, I have shot a higher dose but regretted it later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top