4/17 Ducia Pmps 149, +5 90, +8 69, +11 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya and Ducia

Member Since 2017
Hello and Happy Holidays,

Ducia is in her 9th cycle since the reduction on skinny 1U dose ~0.8U. She was doing so well on this dose for a couple of cycles but beginning 4/14 her numbers are worrying disappointment. It could be bouncing.

There are two things that concern me and that might have caused the BGs being high:

1. I am I overfeeding her? Currently eats about 5.5 oz can Tiki 0% carbs, 221 Kc per 6 oz. The vet recommended her weight to be maintained at 9 - no more then 9.5 lb and her daily Kcal intake is 200. Today she is 8.6. Ate large breakfast of 4 tsp because I am trying to figure out the best way to feed her thru the day; a front loading was suggested for her as a kitty prone to big drops by +4.

2. Recently she had etube removed and site was healing under a sport wrap which she tried to remove. Several times a synthetic thread from the wrap would got hooked on her teeth, she was shacking her head trying to release the thread and I guess might have hurt her gums. There is redishness on her upper gums that I have a picture of. Is is infection? Or inflammation? that can mess up with insulin? I do not observe signs of mouth pain but cats are hard to read. She finishes her meals. Since yesterday eats shredded chicken in the same way she was eating pates - I do not register her as being in pain although more chewing is required now than before. Here are the pics: DentalFrontApr15.jpg Upper left.jpg Upper right.jpg

Could any of these two affect the readings? Her clinical signs are good, really really good.

What holds her so high?:blackeye::confused::banghead::confused:
 
Last edited:
Ducia could still be bouncing, but that should be finished by tomorrow and you can reevaluate the dose then. Infection/inflammation can definitely increase BG readings. Could you send the pics to your vet? The red on the right side should be looked at.

As for food, I would weigh her every few days and let the scale tell you whether you are overfeeding her. It's great that her clinical signs are good.
 
Happy Easter.

I think the vet needs to look at her teeth. If they are bothering her that could contribute to higher numbers. I agree with Wendy that she could still be bouncing.
 
Any bouncing from the greens on 4/13 ought to be resolved by tonight, or at least tomorrow morning's cycle.

If she hasn't seen green numbers by tomorrow at pmps, I'd go back to 1.0u again.

By the way, she's pretty typical for a cat in this stage. Her numbers are pretty normal and her dose is relatively small, so I don't think you have anything to worry about.

Regulation takes time to achieve.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top