? 4/17 Chino|AMPS=165|+8=441|PMPS=430|+2=368|+4=179|+5=111

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

I went to bed at +5 last night but stayed up on my phone and was glad I did, because I was still up at +7, looked at his spreadsheet, saw that his nadir sometimes comes earlier when he dives, and decided to get a +7 test. I would've missed a green if I'd waited until +8.

Of course, he's bouncing from it this morning. But it's great to know that just 2 tsp HC given with his +4 meal was enough to keep him safe for the rest of the night, even after he dropped over 100 mg/dL in the first 2 hours of the cycle.

My ex-wife is moving into the same apartment complex at the end of the month. Chino was our baby. I got him from her when I was 19 and he slept in a pile of clothes on my floor until a week and a half later when she had to take him back because of surprise inspections (I wasn't supposed to have a cat). We got engaged the same year and moved in together with the little guy the following year. When we split, I kept him, but he went to live with her after he started peeing on my bed when I started doing 12-hour shifts for clinicals. We got back together, married, and he and Molly (GA) were our babies until we separated 3 years later, then eventually divorced (though we remain close friends).

This might be good news for Chino's insulin schedule. I haven't asked yet, but I'm hoping she'll be willing to learn to test/inject and test again 2 hours later on the rare occasions that I have evening plans. While I'm totally not a dog person, I'd be willing to walk her dog in return when she's going to be out, or even pay what I'd pay a sitter. I'd rather have someone who knows and loves Chino to look after him than someone who's just doing it for the money.
 
That was quite the rainbow of colours last night Chino! No bouncing now, 'K?

I hope your ex will be OK with the testing and shooting for Chino. It's great to have someone who can sub in for you occasionally so you can get more of a life back. And have that person be someone that Chino knows and will be relaxed with. I'm sure he'll like more time with her too.
 
The past 3 times he had a green PM nadir, the next PM cycle started with a quick drop but turned into a flat blue cycle. So I might've jumped the gun when I fed him 9% tonight... though the 9% has fewer carbs overall than the 7% he got 2 nights ago (3.1 vs. 3.8 gm).
 
......wtf???? How does he drop ~60 mg/dL in the first 2 hours, then ~190 mg/dL over the next 2 hours? At this rate, he'll be under 100 at +5. I gave 2 tsp HC 20% with his +4 meal like I did last night. Hope it has the same impact.

PMPS = 430 (3rd meal LC 9%)
[10 units Lantus]
+2 = 368
+4 = 179 (4th meal LC 9% + 2 tsp HC 20%)
 
He dropped close to 70 mg/dL over the last hour. That's a slight improvement from the 95 mg/dL per hour he was averaging before... giving more HC and getting a +5.5 or +6 to see where it takes him.

PMPS = 430 (3rd meal LC 9%)
[10 units Lantus]
+2 = 368
+4 = 179 (4th meal LC 9% + 2 tsp HC 20%)
+5 = 111 (3 tsp HC 20%)
 
Could the dose be too high? He hasn't gone under 50 since we went up to 11, and that's because I'm not going to let it happen if I can help it, but it seems a little excessive to have to give him HC or corn syrup at least twice a week just to keep his BG from dropping too low.
 
PMPS = 430 (3rd meal LC 9%)
[10 units Lantus]
+2 = 368
+4 = 179 (4th meal LC 9% + 2 tsp HC 20%)
+5 = 111 (3 tsp HC 20%)
+5.5 = 85 (3 tsp HC 20%)

There's only 1 tsp left in the can. This is just ridiculous. I hope +6 will be his nadir, though it's already too late to take my 1st dose. I'm thinking about going down to 9.5 units for the next 6 cycles to see if he can reach the same numbers in a less dramatic manner.
 
PMPS = 430 (3rd meal LC 9%)
[10 units Lantus]
+2 = 368
+4 = 179 (4th meal LC 9% + 2 tsp HC 20%)
+5 = 111 (3 tsp HC 20%)
+5.5 = 85 (3 tsp HC 20%)
+6 = 68 (1.5 tsp HC - all that was left - w/2 drops Karo and 2 Temptations treats)

If he goes down by another 17 mg/dL in the next 30 minutes, he'll be at 51, which won't earn him a reduction, but I can't keep throwing carbs at him until 2 or 3 AM on a regular basis. I'll give 10 units tomorrow morning because he's most likely going to bounce, but will be decreasing to 9.5 after that. We skipped it on the way to 10 units. I'm hoping it will be able to take him to normal ranges but in a safer way that leads to less bouncing (and more sleep).
 
PMPS = 430 (3rd meal LC 9%)
[10 units Lantus]
+2 = 368
+4 = 179 (4th meal LC 9% + 2 tsp HC 20%)
+5 = 111 (3 tsp HC 20%)
+5.5 = 85 (3 tsp HC 20%)
+6 = 68 (1.5 tsp HC - all that was left - w/2 drops Karo and 2 Temptations treats)
+6.5 = 69 (treat: 2 small pieces of freeze-dried chicken)
 
When a kitty's clearing a bounce they can get a lot of momentum going. You're doing the right thing to try to slow down the drop, because those fast drops alone can trigger another bounce.

Looks like he's stopped dropping now. Hope he flattens out and you are able to get some sleep tonight.

Sounds like having your ex able to help with Chino's shots and tests would be a great plan.
 
PMPS = 430 (3rd meal LC 9%)
[10 units Lantus]
+2 = 368
+4 = 179 (4th meal LC 9% + 2 tsp HC 20%)
+5 = 111 (3 tsp HC 20%)
+5.5 = 85 (3 tsp HC 20%)
+6 = 68 (1.5 tsp HC - all that was left - w/2 drops Karo and 2 Temptations treats)
+6.5 = 69 (treat: 2 small pieces of freeze-dried chicken)
+7 = 69 (treat: 1 small pc freeze-dried chicken)

FINALLY. It's been an hour since I last gave HC and his BG is holding steady. I'm going to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top