4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352; +6 312; +9 278; PMPS 260; +2 357

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer&Cain(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's thread

Ok got lancing device and man that was easier. Well once I got the device to work. It worked well on my finger. >_<

Will be feeding and giving him his morning shot shortly. Oh, questions: how much should I feed him before shooting, and is it okay to shoot him after I gave him half a can of Fancy Feast? He's distracted while eating and sometimes comes looking for more after a 1/2 can. And is stomach sides ok to shoot him? That's what I used the last two shots (hopefully different sides. I couldn't remember which side he had yesterday morning for the shot.)
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402 More questions :)

We do the test-feed-shoot, all in about 10 to 15 mins. Zener is a bit of a grazer so we have to chase him around with the bowl, that's what takes so long. It sounds like you don't have that problem with Cain. Lots of people give the shot while the head is buried in the food bowl. :lol: :lol: We always give the shot in the scruff but I know other people shoot in different places. Paws crossed for Cain to find some lower numbers today.
Liz
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402 More questions :)

I had to give the shot while the head was buried or I get it :shock: :lol:

I started out shooting in the flanks... alternating until she had enough of that. There is plenty of area in the scruff to move around and the difference as to whether or not you shoot
in the flank or the scruff is just the absorption rate. You might have an earlier nadir when you shoot in the flank.... I think that contributed to our early nadir.
But Each cat is different.
They still get all the insulin either way so one sight isn't better than the other.

I always gave 1/4 to 1/2 can at shot time... and then fed again 2 to 3 hours later... and again at +6 or +7 and then tried to withhold the food until shot time in the pm.
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402 More questions :)

Thanks for the answers. :D I think my vet didn't prescribe Lantus cause it was a) expensive compared to other insulins and b) I get the feeling he didn't know how to work with it. So I'm learning all from y'all and the stickies.

My cats were grazers with dry food and now it's all contained in containers they can't get into, thank goodness, they like to ask for food every two to three hours. Which I give them 1/4 sections of it or 1/2 to 3/4 if they're really hungry (like mornings when I get up and long periods of time if I haven't been home to feed them). They're not too happy with me withholding food so I can get a non-food induced BG. :)
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402 More questions :)

This board was a life saver for Zener, that's for sure. :-D We got an autofeeder so he would have access to food overnight. We got the 5 compartment one that rotates and it has worked fine. You will figure out what works for you and your furbabies. Hopefully you will get useful suggestions on things to try.
Liz
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402 More questions :)

Cain does a fine job of sticking his face with a wet nose near my face until I wake up to feed them. If my parents haven't done so. :)

And tada! User picture! I finally figured out, with a friends help, how to save an image small enough so I can upload it here. That's Cain, sitting on my chair as usual.
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402 More questions :)

OMGEEEEEEEEE...he is absolutely sweetie!!! he looks like an orange Gobbles. -And your boy is sweeter now, I'm sure, since becoming a sugarcat. I put Gobbles' food up 2 hours before shot time, then test him, then put his food in his dish and let him eat while I prepare his syringe. As soon as he is finished eating, I sit on the floor with him in my lap lying on his tummy and give the shot in his scruff. The few times I thought I gave a fur shot were when I was giving him his shot in his flank or top of the leg. I think by him being short-haired, it makes giving him his shot easier.

BTW, if I haven't already done so: welcome to our family!!!
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352

Thanks for the welcome! :D I'm glad that Cain is short-haired. Makes it easier to get blood. Brownie is what I call a medium-haired cat. I don't think she's a long haired but she's so fluffy.

+3 test is 352.

Hmm should I be making a list in the first post? Or is just adding what the new test is in a new post and on the header good enough?
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352

Just wanted to check up on you now that you've moved to Lantus Land. :lol:

Narillan said:
Hmm should I be making a list in the first post? Or is just adding what the new test is in a new post and on the header good enough?

The Subject has limited space, so depending on how many tests you get in, you have to delete some of the results from the Subject to make room for new tests. I don't bother with making a list in my first post (because half the time, I'm lucky if I even post to begin with!), but it's up to you if you prefer to also update the first post and not just the Subject or if you prefer to just add a new comment to your existing post with the number.
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352

Updating the subject line with your test data is great. There are several of us to scan the board to make sure there are no problems or questions so having info in the subject line makes it far easier to know what's going on. Putting information in the first post (e.g., a recap of your testing or editing to add a question) is not the best strategy. If I've already visited your condo, I tend to click on the "unread" posts which drops me to where I left off reading. Anything that's in the first post will be overlooked.

In addition, if you edit your first post, it doesn't change where your post is on the board. If you add an additional post, it will bump your condo to the top of the board which is particularly helpful if you have a question.
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352

Hello KPassa!

Ah, so keep doing what I'm doing pretty much. :D Cool. Just wanted to know in case I was messing up. But I figure someone would have said if I was. :)
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352

Are you making catsicles yet? Decant wet food from can. :shock: Divide food into smaller portions if needed. Transfer food portions to those non-stick muffin pans to freeze, or a cookie sheet. Freeze. Pop out after frozen and store in a ziploc bag. Take out portions as needed to leave out for your cats while you are gone.

The food will slowly defrost, and the kitties can nibble on it throughout the day as it melts into a puddle. I do advise putting said catsicle hockey puck into a dish to let it defrost. Kitties don't care but us beans don't want to clean up the missed spots, if any. :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352; +6 312;

+6 test is 312. Lowest number yet since testing. :D It was taken at 39mins after which most of the tests have been on the hour or darn close.

Oh yeah! I've done that once for a trip I was going to take back in December. I think I saw to try that on here. I've been lurking a bit. :) Never did end up on that trip due to me oversleeping. It was one of those had to leave early or it wasn't happening trips. But I had transitioned them to canned food by then and I didn't know how to feed them while I was going to be gone till I saw that trip. It's a great idea. I didn't think about the extra water bit. I haven't done it lately though I should if no one's going to be home when I'm out on the weekends. Thanks for the tip!
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352; +6 312;

I also give Sweetie his insulin shot while his head is in his bowl eating a meal. I even test his BG while he's getting a taste of the FF appetizer I use for testing treats (I peel back the lid bit by bit); he just won't sit still otherwise. And I give the shot in the flank near his front legs - but maybe I'll try the scruff sometime if he needs a later nadir - thanks Rhiannon for that tip!

I hope that Cain responds well to the Lantus for you!
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352; +6 312;

Hi Jennifer

Glad to see you and Cain doing so well.

I would suggest you try and get a +2 or before bed test at night. Numbers can often go lower at night and cycles be more active. So if you are able to grab a nightime spot check (before bed is fine), that would be great.

When you have a chance, could you please do a Profile for Cain and link it in your signature block? It helps us when we are assisting you to have some basic info about Cain that we can easily access. Let me know if you have questions.

Welcome! We are here to help :-D
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352; +6 312; +9 278;

+9 test is 278. Lowest I've ever seen since I started testing. Late test again cause I couldn't get his ear to bleed enough. So that was 43 mins after.
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352; +6 312; +9 278;

There's not much difference between his +6 and +9. You can probably wait until his preshot to test again.
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352; +6 312; +9 278;

Okay. I'll do a spot check before sleeping. Either before bed or at +2.

The preshot was my next planned check cause it took so long to get blood earlier. Hopefully he'll be cooperative soon. :)

I'll work on that profile soon too. I was wondering about the profiles in the sigs.

I'm coming down with a cold, which is making me all fuzzy. Darn cold. Nyquil tonight looks like.
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352; +6 312; +9 278;

Some cats just take a little time to get used to it.

Hope you feel better !
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352; +6 312; +9 278; PMPS 260

Ok I tried to give the evening dose but I think I fur shot it. I won't give another until tomorrow at his regularly scheduled time. I'll still test him at +2 or bedtime.
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352; +6 312; +9 278; PMPS 260; +2

PM +2 357

Climbed again. Insulin probably didn't get in him. I'm guessing anyways. Going now for overdue sleep after I feed him. Lancelet device works great until it doesn't and he shakes his head just as I'm getting blood on the meter. Cats, huh? I swear I'm losing more strips to timeouts at the moment. Need to get another pack.
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352; +6 312; +9 278; PMPS 260; +2

Narillan said:
Thank you. :)

PMPS is 260. Is that ok to give him another shot?

We generally recommend for new members to not shoot anything under 200 but post first, so 260 is okay to shoot. :-D

Narillan said:
PM +2 357

Climbed again. Insulin probably didn't get in him. I'm guessing anyways. Going now for overdue sleep after I feed him. Lancelet device works great until it doesn't and he shakes his head just as I'm getting blood on the meter. Cats, huh? I swear I'm losing more strips to timeouts at the moment. Need to get another pack.

Ugh! I hate it when fur shots happen. But you did the right thing and didn't shoot again. :thumbup It's always better to have a potentially missed shot than an overdose on insulin. And that's one of the reasons I love the Prime. No matter how many strips I waste, it's still cheaper than even the Micro! :lol:
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352; +6 312; +9 278; PMPS 260; +2

We generally recommend for new members to not shoot anything under 200

This is the process on Health. In the Lantus forum, we ask that you post for help if you get a 150 or below for the first time and we will walk you through it. We have options which include stalling, reducing the dose, or skipping and we work with you for your specific situation.
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352; +6 312; +9 278; PMPS 260; +2

Marje and Gracie said:
We generally recommend for new members to not shoot anything under 200

This is the process on Health. In the Lantus forum, we ask that you post for help if you get a 150 or below for the first time and we will walk you through it. We have options which include stalling, reducing the dose, or skipping and we work with you for your specific situation.

Sorry, Marje is right. :oops: I'm so used to posting on health that I forget that it's 150 here in LaLaLand. :lol:
 
Re: 4/17 Cain AMPS 402; +3 352; +6 312; +9 278; PMPS 260; +2

Ok cool. Thanks for the answers. :D I'll definitely put a request in for help if it's 150 for the first time near a shoot. I shoot so late in the evening (*cough* early morning*cough*) that hopefully someone will be available. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top