4/17 Brody +9 325, DKA, Newbie - Advice Please

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Michael and Brody, Welcome to Lantus & Lev Land,

Maintain the 1.0-unit dose. We never try to "make up" for fur shots. Lantus requires consistency in dosing. The shed, or depot, that it builds in the cat's body helps to mitigate the effect of fur shots or partial fur shots. When you give a fur shot, just try to forget about it. Brody will recover over the next few cycles.

Have a good day and weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Any ketone tests?

It looks to me like he's bouncing from the blue numbers night before last. A bounce can last up to about 3 days - so he might be higher til tomorrow night. He could clear the bounce sooner, but it might take that long. No way to know.

I would hold the dose unless you're seeing ketones.
 
pmps 309, gave 1 unit
tested for ketones last night but not today, I have been at work. He was clear yesterday though.
 
Brody's bouncing. You haven't done anything wrong. Take a look at the second post in this thread for an explanation. Count forward 3 days from the "low numbers", which in this case is that string of blue numbers the night of 4/15. That would tell you that he might stay high until tomorrow night's cycle. He could clear the bounce before then, but if he stays high til Sunday morning don't sweat about it. He'll come down.

If I were you, I'd get one more test before you go to bed tonight and if it's still over 300 like this, go to bed. Tomorrow if he's still high in the morning, I'd check once mid-day and again at pmps.

At any point if you get a yellow (or lower) number, then start to test more often so you can see how low he goes when he clears the bounce. You'll know he's cleared it when you see blue or green numbers again.

For now, enjoy a good night's sleep. :)
 
That's still pretty much flat through the whole day, which go along with what @julie & punkin (ga) means when she says he's bouncing. You would keep the insulin dose steady at 1u every 12 hours unless advised otherwise. Nothing you can really do until then except keep dosing consistent and wait to see if the bounce clears.

Edit: She's a faster typer than me tonight!
 
A bounce can bobble around - the numbers aren't the same throughout the bounce. They can vary some - it was a while before I learned about that. The overall look is high, though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top