? 4/17/17.Sprocket. AMPS/286.+2/344, +4/302, +8/277, PMPS/295, +2/272 FS? 3.25

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have famotidine last night by syringe. Hehad cerenia 5 days last week. Stopped Friday.
He wants to eat. Had a little now. What do i do with dosage

He needs something else for nausea.
Something daily for awhile.
Or more often

He had a few bites.
We did 3.25u at 6:50am.
I am gonna open some tuna n see if that helps?
I saw clam juice mentioned before, what about that??

He is licking his lips
 
Unfortunately I'm not familiar with your dosing situation so I don't feel comfortable offering any insulin ideas, but Sprocket does sound nauseated. FWIW, my Trixie has been getting cerenia daily for probably close to two years, so it can be OK for daily dosing - HOWEVER, this is something you should discuss with your vet. The other option that people are very happy with is ondansetron (Zofran) - this can be given twice daily and can actually be given in conjunction with cerenia. If your vet hasn't mentioned ondansetron, definitely inquire about it. It's a great anti-nausea med.

I any event, I would call to discuss the nausea with your vet. I hope Sprocket feels better ASAP.
 
I am so not an expert here, but when Callie absolutely won't eat, I have not given her any insulin. I think the licking of lips indicates nausea. How is he doing now? Any more vomiting?

The tuna is a good idea. Did he eat any of that?
 
I am so not an expert here, but when Callie absolutely won't eat, I have not given her any insulin. I think the licking of lips indicates nausea. How is he doing now? Any more vomiting?

The tuna is a good idea. Did he eat any of that?


Sprockett NEEDS to have insulin because of 4 separate episodes of DKA and cannot afford to skip a dose. Shooting the 3.25 unit was a good choice. I would talk to the vet and continue with the cernia since he was eating better when he was on it.
 
Cerenia is expensive! I would ask your vet about the injectible form of ondansatron. You can purchase it with an Rx at any pharmacy since it's a human drug. It's injected exactly the same way as insulin -- it's a subcutaneous injection. You can either get a slightly larger size syringe or ask the vet or pharmacist to do the calculation so you can use your insulin syringes to administer the ondansatron.

Has Sprockett been tested for pancreatitis?
 
Sprockett NEEDS to have insulin because of 4 separate episodes of DKA and cannot afford to skip a dose. Shooting the 3.25 unit was a good choice. I would talk to the vet and continue with the cernia since he was eating better when he was on it.
I blew that about the insulin. So very sorry! I just had a second, saw that about Sprocket vomiting and refusing to eat, and with what we just went through with Callie and her refusing to eat at all, I responded. I need to be way more careful and check details. Hope Sprocket is doing okay, and you can get him to eat. :blackeye::confused::facepalm::oops::banghead: I think that about covers it. :)
 
I will read TR again. Thanks for the words. I am trying hard to stay positive. And calm. Sleep helps alot. A plan does too. I feel we are almost there to balancing. Much better than a few weeks ago.
Update:
His new vet called back within 30 mins. New vet 40mins away but calls back fast, and answers questions. Told me dosage for him for the anti-nausea ondansetron of 1mg every 12-24 hours as needed.
Keep famotidine, cyproheptadine, and ursodiol.
Do 100ml fluids 1x daily for now n see how that works since he was down to about 75ml 2xday for last few days.

Stay at 3.25 for today and 2 days then call in with bgs. He had last antibiotic yesterday so if that effected bg then it will show within a few days. If not then up to 3.5u. Watch.

I am trying so hard to keep him alive and want him to grow old and cranky.

He was 302 at 10:45am after eating some. 2.25 total so far for food. 100ml fluids done.

Nap time now. Had only 4-5 hrs of sleep myself.

He has been tested for pancreatitis and negative.

What are thoughts on the plan from vet?
 
Obviously don't know enough to comment on vet's plans, but thoughts and prayers to you and Sprocket. Someone with more sense and expertise will comment soon, I'm sure. This all gets so hard, doesn't it?! Hope you get some rest.
 
Glennie, not sure what you mean about not knowing enough about the vets plan. This is what the vet told me.
What do you mean?

It is very hard to comprehend so much info so fast. I try to get sleep when I can. I have been doing alot of napping in small hour doses.
 
Glennie, not sure what you mean about not knowing enough about the vets plan. This is what the vet told me.
What do you mean?

It is very hard to comprehend so much info so fast. I try to get sleep when I can. I have been doing alot of napping in small hour doses.
I just mean I don't know enough to know what's a good plan and what's not a good plan. It sounds good to me, but I have no experience with DKA kitties. Callie was diagnosed with diabetes in November, but that's the only health problem she has, and so many of you on here are dealing with so many issues I have no experience with. And even with the diabetes, I don't know what's best most of the time. I guess I was just trying to add moral support. Sorry if I have complicated things. I know...so much info to absorb, and it's all so important to keep our kitties safe and alive. That's why someone like me that really can't add anything helpful needs to keep my fingers to myself.
But I know the people on here will continue to help you as they have me. Wishing you the very best.
 
Last edited:
I guess I was just trying to add morale support. Sorry if I have complicated things.
That's why someone like me that really can't add anything helpful needs to keep my fingers to myself.
I disagree with that completely. Emotional support means so much especially for the beginners such as myself and Darnell. One of the most horrid things I have experienced is that when not knowing myself what to do, uncertain which of millions of questions to post on the forum and then to get silence in response. I was there and it was awful. And I felt very uplifted when someone would post just a kind words, something that if not practically employable but supportive and caring.
And, on the practical side of things, every new post bumps the question up on the forum giving it an opportunity to be seen by ppl who just got online.:) That is the practica help for the one with a question. :bighug:
 
I disagree with that completely. Emotional support means so much especially for the beginners such as myself and Darnell. One of the most horrid things I have experienced is that when not knowing myself what to do, uncertain which of millions of questions to post on the forum and then to get silence in response. I was there and it was awful. And I felt very uplifted when someone would post just a kind words, something that if not practically employable but supportive and caring.
And, on the practical side of things, every new post bumps the question up on the forum giving it an opportunity to be seen by ppl who just got online.:) That is the practica help for the one with a question. :bighug:
:bighug:Thank you for your kind words. You made me feel better about not being able to add anything but emotional support. :bighug:

Sounds like Sprocket is doing better. Sure hope he continues to improve. And hope you and Ducia have a good day. I saw those greens! Hope she doesn't go too low today! You're both doing great! Thanks again!
 
He was 302 at 10:45am after eating some. 2.25 total so far for food
Maybe you can talk to your vet about appetite stimulants?I have pills called Mirtazapine at home in case Ducia refuses to eat but I never actually used it. I know some people on the board have and I am sure they will share their experiences if you ask.
 
I just mean I don't know enough to know what's a good plan and what's not a good plan. It sounds good to me, but I have no experience with DKA kitties. Callie was diagnosed with diabetes in November, but that's the only health problem she has, and so many of you on here are dealing with so many issues I have no experience with. And even with the diabetes, I don't know what's best most of the time. I guess I was just trying to add morale support. Sorry if I have complicated things. I know...so much info to absorb, and it's all so important to keep our kitties safe and alive. That's why someone like me that really can't add anything helpful needs to keep my fingers to myself.
But I know the people on here will continue to help you as they have me. Wishing you the very best.

Oh no. I only asked because I didn't understand what you meant or if you forgot words or something.
Moral support is great!!
I understand we don't all have the experience but you may have tips I dont.
All helps.
 
Silence is hard when your needing answers.
Moral support is great.
Follow me too I think to find me easier.

Tonight he had bg of 295.
Ate well.
We have cyproheptadine as appetite stim. It works better on him then the mirtazipine.
He added ondansetron today for nausea.
Has famotidine & ursodiol left. Both those coming in liquid wed.
I messed up on liquid dosage as I read it fast. I did .05ml instead of .5ml. Was thinking the syringe number was 1ml.
Was wondering why it didnt seem to work.
Now he got that correct tonight and we did a partial furshot of insulin!!
Crap!!!
Its like his skin oozes it back out. We shaved him to make it easier and still missed. But saw needle go in & went slow n pulled out.
He has had alot of fluids but Chris says that heals within a day.
Is there a needle length between 8mm short needle & long needle??
 
I think your vet's suggestion sounds fine. I'm glad you got the ondansetron. I used to give it twice a day. Is he eating better now?
I don't know why you reduced the dose from 3.5 to 3.25. Sorry, I work a lot and can not keep up. The blue numbers yesterday were looking like he was going in the right direction.
 
I think your vet's suggestion sounds fine. I'm glad you got the ondansetron. I used to give it twice a day. Is he eating better now?
I don't know why you reduced the dose from 3.5 to 3.25. Sorry, I work a lot and can not keep up. The blue numbers yesterday were looking like he was going in the right direction.

He is eating better now. Especially since I am giving right liquid appetite stim dose now. (I did .05ml instead of .5ml).

We did a possible fur shot tonight. Did you see that?

I went down last night cause he didnt eat much yesterday afternoon, had last antibiotic, then got nauseous. His bg at preshot was 179. Which was odd? Then he wasn't eating much so we worried he wouldn't eat then go too low.

We keep messing up something. It sucks. Nerves are getting to us.
Vet thinks cause he had last antibiotic to see (since he already had 2 doses of 3.25) if it will effect his bg not to have that medication.
I hope he will be ok overnight with possible fur shot.
I will feed 0-2 carb food.

He was ketone negative tonight
 
He added ondansetron today for nausea.
Does help vomiting too?
I see in you medsheet that you give Famotidine daily as I understand it is what your new vet told you.
I used to give Ducia Famotidine when she was vomiting white foam. Fam is strong med. My hubby who has human medical background was opposing strongly to it.
Here is what I read at The Nest "Possible Side Effects: Even though famotidine is considered safe for cats, it does have some potential side effects to be aware of. These include increased thirst, diarrhea, vomiting, lethargy and a change in appetite. If you notice any of these side effects, you should inform your vet; they could be signs of an allergic reaction. Famotidine can also aggravate problems from kidney or liver damage."
Note that change of appetite. Maybe ask your vet again if you should go on giving Fam.
Maybe because you have now ondansetron you won't need to give him Fam as often?
You do remember that I am not expert, right? I am only suggesting to double check with your vet and better yet, with the experienced members of FDMB.
:bighug:
 
I have never heard of that. I used to take it too. I will look it up. And ask.
I know its an antacid that works different from ondansetron.
Maybe within a week or so we can reduce it n see how it goes.
I hope he feels better everyday.
 
Silence is hard when your needing answers.
Moral support is great.
Follow me too I think to find me easier.

Tonight he had bg of 295.
Ate well.
We have cyproheptadine as appetite stim. It works better on him then the mirtazipine.
He added ondansetron today for nausea.
Has famotidine & ursodiol left. Both those coming in liquid wed.
I messed up on liquid dosage as I read it fast. I did .05ml instead of .5ml. Was thinking the syringe number was 1ml.
Was wondering why it didnt seem to work.
Now he got that correct tonight and we did a partial furshot of insulin!!
Crap!!!
Its like his skin oozes it back out. We shaved him to make it easier and still missed. But saw needle go in & went slow n pulled out.
He has had alot of fluids but Chris says that heals within a day.
Is there a needle length between 8mm short needle & long needle??
We've had that happen with Callie, too. We shaved an area so we could see the needle go in. We watch it go in, and watch it oozle back out. Whoever my helper is for that shot (my husband or my daughter since Callie has decided that I can test her, but no way is she letting me inject her without someone else loving on her) and I just look at each other, wondering what just happened. It hasn't happened often, but enough to drive us crazy. So frustrating!

I've used both the 8mm and the 12.7mm (1/2 inch). I don't think there's anything in-between. I've had the oozing back out with both lengths, but I don't inject the needle in very far.

So glad he's eating well. Hope he continues to improve.
 
Things about famotidine: This medication reduces acid in the stomach. However, the lower valve in the stomach to the intestines relies on the acid in order to open. The first part of the intestine also relies on the acid to stimulate the release of bile and other digestive enzymes. So with any acid-reducing medication, it can delay stomach emptying, it can delay transit time of food in the GI tract (constipation) and it can interfere with the absorption of nutrients. The delay in stomach emptying can also -increase- nausea and increase vomiting. It should really only be used if there is a confirmed diagnosis of GERD or ulcers.

Most nausea is due to either -delayed- transit or is in the brain, so antacids don't really help.
 
We've had that happen with Callie, too. We shaved an area so we could see the needle go in. We watch it go in, and watch it oozle back out. Whoever my helper is for that shot (my husband or my daughter since Callie has decided that I can test her, but no way is she letting me inject her without someone else loving on her) and I just look at each other, wondering what just happened. It hasn't happened often, but enough to drive us crazy. So frustrating!

I've used both the 8mm and the 12.7mm (1/2 inch). I don't think there's anything in-between. I've had the oozing back out with both lengths, but I don't inject the needle in very far.

So glad he's eating well. Hope he continues to improve.

Thanks ! Glad I am not crazy!
I don't get it but I just hope he got enough.
I also do put he needle in completely so its baffling to what goes on.
Glad its not just me but bad timing on Sprockets part.
 
Things about famotidine: This medication reduces acid in the stomach. However, the lower valve in the stomach to the intestines relies on the acid in order to open. The first part of the intestine also relies on the acid to stimulate the release of bile and other digestive enzymes. So with any acid-reducing medication, it can delay stomach emptying, it can delay transit time of food in the GI tract (constipation) and it can interfere with the absorption of nutrients. The delay in stomach emptying can also -increase- nausea and increase vomiting. It should really only be used if there is a confirmed diagnosis of GERD or ulcers.

Most nausea is due to either -delayed- transit or is in the brain, so antacids don't really help.


Wow! Never knew that. He hasnt had any constipation but he was also on the antibiotic for so long. I have given probiotics too daily. And fortiflora.
Ok so I will talk to vet about this soon. Dont want to take all meds away at once.

Question: so with your explanation of how it works. When can I tell when he will need it once he stops it? What symptoms would he have for me to give him some?
I just got it compounded so I will have it in fridge for awhile.
 
I don't have a lot of experience with using it in cats (others here do), but it's useful when there is too much acid or in cases of pancreatitis because it slows the bile dump into the intestines (this causes pain in pancreatitis). If your cat doesn't have pancreatitis or ulcers (gastritis), in not sure the usefulness of famotadine. What was the reasoning that your vet started your cat on it? If for nausea alone, there are better medications as it could potentially increase nausea.

And I agree with not changing too many things at once.
 
There are some cats that vomit white foamy liquid if their tummies get empty. Small frequent meals can often prevent that. It might be something you can try. I've seen people suggest even a teaspoon or two of the kitty's regular food.

Just to encourage you, there are times when no one will comment on a post. Often that happens when it's a difficult situation, like Sprocket's continuing to not feel well. There are also plenty of people who don't feel comfortable suggesting dose changes. It's a big responsibility to make comments on another's person's cat and if people aren't experienced, they want to be careful, of course! It's not personal, it's people not feeling confident in a difficult situation.

It also sometimes happens just because a thread falls to the bottom of the pile. Anyone having an active situation going on, like the person is dealing with low numbers, will get a lot of attention. When I get on the board I usually start at the top of the list, and sometimes I can spend more than an hour without even getting below the first few posts.

I've noticed in the last little while (months) as more people are posting on their phones that they seem to only look at their own cat's thread. I learned a lot from reading other people's threads (condos) and asked a lot of questions about other people's cats. It's also a great way to get to know others.

It's great news that you're getting negative ketone tests on Sprocket! WAHOO! Can I suggest that you make a note of those in the comments section of his spreadsheet, where you're noting his meds. It's important for us to see those.

You're doing a great job, Darnell, so hang in there!
 
Well the famotidine was given with the antibiotic to chill the acid from churning especially since the area (liver, bile duct, gallbladder area) were inflammed already. Before I asked to add it he barely wanted to eat n looked ucky.
It definitely helped.

Thanks Julie, I appreciate your info.
It helps.
I try to add the test results to ketones in comments too. He doesn't like me doing it so he tries to pee when i am not looking. Smart boy!
 
Glad he is feeling better though. I wanted to encourage you to try to get his blood sugars down a little lower. Being in the 300's on it's own can make a cat feel pretty lousy. At some point, if you want to get your cat regulated, you will have to shoot full doses on numbers in the blue. The first couple times you do, make sure you can monitor. You'll get more and more comfortable doing this as you understand how he will respond.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top