4/17/17 pm bg 391/ rookie member needing help

Status
Not open for further replies.

apple

Member Since 2017
Hi
I'm new, frazzled, and needing help.

My cat:
Lantus 1u 2xdaily
Today the vet said to bump to 1.5u 2xdaily.
This evening, he tested at 391. This am he tested at 328.

His blood glucose has been steadily rising since he has been on insulin. It's like it's making things worse not better. His weekend curve showed each blood check with a higher number than the once before. Almost like he's allergic to the meds instead of it helping him.

Has anyone found their cat to have higher numbers instead of the numbers going down?

We use alphatrak 2 to test.

He is on steroids. As the dose is being reduced, he throws higher numbers.

The vet said to let him eat whatever he wants as long as he is eating.

He's easy to test. We use the large back paw pads.

Other items to note:
He has had pancreatic issues and does take buprenex at times.

Apologies for this an all future typos. My only access is via my phone. Sometimes phone autocorrect and I don't catch it.

Anyone have numbers go up. Gotta say 391 is making me very edgy, as well as seeing no downward trend in the numbers.
 
Chuck started on ProZinc insulin and he was running 350 ish before going on insulin and he definitely went up after gettting insulin. Our case is a bit strange because he's a bouncy cat.
Have you gotten any mid cycle tests between the two shots?
 
Before insulin he was in the mid- 200s.

Now, on insulin, he's not getting below 300. These past few days have been up, up, up. At the vet his first shot took him down to 229. Now this. For the first time, he's acting like a "stereotypical" diabetic cat. He's ravenous and drinking. Before today, he was a cat. Vet said numbers to high. Before insulin, his numbers were not this high.

4/15
7.32 am 362 1u Lantus
9.17 am 309
9.56 am 354
1.43 pm 358
3.45 pm 325
5.52 pm 360
8.01 pm 331 1u
 
4/16
8.11 am 351 1u
1.36 pm 329
7.52 pm 333 1u

4/17
6.35 am 328 1u
8.30 pm 391 1.5u (or 1.ish.....hard to tell with the tiny markings)
 
Hi and welcome. Is the diabetes from the steroids? When was he diagnosed? Are the steroids for pancreatitis? Max had it for six or seven years but never was on pred. I treated him with nausea and pain meds. How long have you been using them? You likely haven't found the right dose.
 
Cause: unknown

Dex: post surgery requirement/ he lives on dex

I've told his vet things have been off for awhile. It's been in his chart for two weeks now.
 
How long ago did he start lantus?
How long was he on the 1 unit dose?
We stuck with our starting dose for 5 days then increased. We are following the tight regulation method. We also switched from another insulin so we kinda knew how big of a dose my vat would need. (Sticky yellow post at the top of this forum will explain the methods including when to increase or decrease dose)
What is he eating and do you know how much?
Is he underweight?
When their numbers are higher they don't get all the benefits from food. So they will usually eat til they puke then eat again.

It's easier for us to tell the timing of tests if you use the +1, +2 number method.
So your pre-shot test then each reading after the shot would be how many hours after the shot.
So tonight your PM preshot was 830 pm so +2 would be at 1030pm.
I see you were 2 hours later on your pm shot today...(NOT judging, it happens) That could act like a decrease in dose with lantus insulin. It's best to try to stay close to normal shot time as possible. Have you gotten any readings after the 1.5unit dose tonight? (It's 12:21am here so that's why the +number system works well, quicker and easier than determining time zone difference)
 
Last edited:
1.5u (or 1.ish.....hard to tell with the tiny markings)
A cheap pair of reading glasses will help you see those tiny marks better! I don't have issues reading normal print but those syringes are tricky even with my normal vision! $2 well spent in my eyes (pun intended:p)
 
Hi, I just want to send a little encouragement your way. Steroids can cause a need for higher doses. If he doesn't have to have the steroids, getting him off of them would help lower his blood sugar. If he has to have the steroids, then you have to adjust the dose to compensate. What was his surgery for and why does he need steroids after the surgery? I suspect the steroids are the cause of those higher numbers that are concerning you.

I think the best thing to help you start is to encourage you to read the sticky "The Basics: New to the Group? Start Here!" It helps if you do some reading to understand a little more of the basic information. We aren't vets, and we rely on numbers (blood tests) to help us help people. Our spreadsheets are essential tools, because the numbers matter in context with how many hours after the shot.

A cat's blood sugar will go up and down - a single lower number can raise a cat's blood sugar for as long as 3 days because it triggers a response in the cat's body to prevent a hypo. We call that a bounce - so the higher numbers you're getting could be because your cat's body is in a bounce. They pass on their own and you just wait them out. Here is a great description of bouncing:
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
Because bouncing is so common (and normal) we look at numbers over the past 3-5 days, to identify what's going on. A spreadsheet is essential for seeing this bigger picture. If it's difficult for you to get a spreadsheet going on your phone, we do have some people who are willing to start one for you and turn it over to you to manage. Just say so if you need that

The thread "Where Can I Find?" can help you navigate to information we commonly use in this group. You may want to bookmark it for the future.

Glad to have you here. Ask as many questions as you have - we're happy to help.
 
Thank you for the replies.
4/18 am before insulin 333

I don't know how to connect threads and posts. When I do, I'll make a new one for today. I just wanted to do an update.

Not sure if he should get 1u or 1.5 this am.
 
Thank you for the replies.
4/18 am before insulin 333

I don't know how to connect threads and posts. When I do, I'll make a new one for today. I just wanted to do an update.

Not sure if he should get 1u or 1.5 this am.
Lantus works best with consistent dosing. Changing doses too often interferes with the insulin depot and can cause erratic blood glucose numbers. Your best approach right now is to:
A kitty's responses to insulin can be unpredictable at the start but we can help get you on track. If you need help with the spreadsheet just ask. There are people here to help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top