4/17/13 Rags - AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

yo hon

Member Since 2013
7:13 a.m. took his numbers, thought he looked slugish AMPS 336 will feed him at 7:30 a.m. then shot.
Will be home by 1:00 to test.

YoHon & Rags
 
yaay! rags let you test him this morning! :mrgreen:

what do you mean by sluggish? how was he acting? is he eating well?

have you been able to test for ketones lately?


please post his BG number after you test him at +5 (1:00 PM) along with any questions you may have.

i'm working again today and probably won't be able to get on the board until later tonight, but there are plenty of others around who can help you.


have a great day! :-D
 
Jill & Alex, +5 is 366 which I think is high according to his 24 hour curve. I don't know, he just hasn't been acting like Rags. Thought something was wrong when I got home today. Couldn't wait to test. He tried running, I just don't understand him doing that. He was sooooo good the first two nightmare weeks. This a.m. after I tested him I told him to come eat. He ran down in the basement and wouldn't come up for an hour. I don't know why he is sooo afraid when i call him for dinner.

i have never tested him for ketones. i really think that would be an immpossible chore. i
know about spooning, and even have the charcoal beeds, but he will not go near the box if i come towards the room. He just started to use the litter box. i've had a VERY hard time with him and doing his business on my rug. i finally put a little bit of litter and topped it with "catnip" (the wrong thing to do ) it worked. the only problem now is if i put it on the floor for my other kids, he'll pee on it.

i don't know Jill, he just isn't acting right. He definitely does not want to be tested !!!! he doesn't look right to me. he is outside right now. i asked him if he wanted something to eat, he went out.

Rags is not taking care of himself, his coat is greasy, his hair is all knotting up esp. on his belly. The back of his left leg there is about 3 inches of skin showing, I don't think he has moved his bowels in a couple of days. I just gave him 1/8 tsp. of mirilax. See I was bragging about how he does not act sick or look sick, well I take ALL that back !!!! And he is scared to death to come in to eat. I had to take food outside to him. I don't know what that is all about.

I'm getting worried about him !!!!

i want to get himj reg. and off this stuff sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo bad !!!!!!

YoHon & Rags
 
Becki

While some cats do manage to get off insulin and become diet-controlled, some cats do NOT get off insulin. This is a chronic disease and will need management, insulin or not, for the rest of Rags' life.
 
BJM, let me be the first to tell you, Rags WILL get off the insulin !!! I like your positivity !! (if that is even a word ! ) One must think positive !!! I am determined to get him off somehow somway, got it ??? ha,ha, No seriously I will try very hard for him cause he needs me to ! I feel sooo sorry for my boy.
He is afraid of his own shadow. Right now he is outside trying to chase a rabbit. he is afraid to come in, I'm gonna have to go out and bring him in for his 8 p.m. test feed and shot and he will never forgive me, if I can catch him. Oh, can I change his swchedule to 7:30 to 7:30 p.m. ? 8:00 is too late in the a.m. I can't get to work on time.

Thanks !

YoHon & Rags
 
Yes, as long as his BG numbers are not too low, you should be able to shoot the insulin 30 minutes early without a big affect on him, as long as the 30 minutes early is only one time per day. So, if you shot is insulin at 8:00am this morning and his numbers are not too low, then shooting at 7:30pm should not be a problem.

Just try to remember, when you shoot late (after 12 hours), it acts like a dose decrease (because of the depletion on the depot) and when you shoot early (before 12 hours), it act like a dose increase (because of the increase to the depot). But, usually, giving his insulin 30 minutes early (if only once a day) should not have too much affect.

You are doing so good, and getting the "hang of this". I wish you well :-D
 
no, i meant changing his time all the time, a new schedule all together. if it will be a problem, then i'll have to stay at 8 & 8.

thanks

YoHIN & Rags
 
Becki,

Didn't you shot at 7:30 this morning? That was what I read from your first post this morning.

Then that means you should be shooting at 7:30 this evening to keep Rags on the 12 hour schedule.
 
7:26 p.m. Rags will not come in. He just ran in the woods. I have been out for the last 1/2 hour trying to get him to come in, he wants NO part of it !!! Guess he'll stay out all night. He'll die. His shot is due at 8:00 p.m. I don't how to get him in. If I DO get him in, he will NEVER go out again, I promise that !!!

Anybody have any suggestions ? He won't even come close enough so that I can grab him. He keeps runnung around the garage, now in the back woods.

Thanks,

Becki
 
Maybe sitting down on the ground, nice and quietly, and shaking something noisly like kibble, or opening a can of cat food? I know they don't respond as well to being chased as they do to being quiet.
 
Speak softly and carry a bag of treats.

Fill a paper bag with a handful of dry kibble and shake it. The paper bag is so it makes lots of noise when you shake it.


Keep shaking it to lure him into your lap or into the house.
 
I took a bowl of food out, but I can't find him anywhere. Looked allthrough the woods. I left his bowl outside with a cover on it, cause he is due for his test, feed and shot.
What do I do if he doesn't come ? No shot, no food, yes, I'm in a panic !!!!!

Becki
 
I would sit outside quietly and wait. Keep shaking the bag of treats or dry food every once in a while. Talk quietly.

Try to relax. I know it's hard. I've had cats escape before and they come back eventually, and usually when it's most quiet. Do you have any tuna? Maybe opening a can of human tuna and letting it sit beside you would lure him in.
 
I have no tuna nor treats. I left a bowl of food. But what happens to his shot now, if he doesn't come til later ?? This is really gona mess him up isn't it ?
What if he doesn't come at all ? Then what ??

Becki
 
NO, not like this. He stays right by the house and comes in when I call him, but he is sooooo afraid now. He has NEVER done this, never !!! His ear testing has done him in !!! He had too much of it in the first two weeks. every hour, two, three, 15 min. all the time. Even thru the night. Guess he has just had enough. He is petrified of me now, and I just hate it !!!! He does NOT trust me at all anymore. All because I'm trying my hardest to keep him alive and feeling better. I know he doesn't understand, but do you know how frustrating this is for me ? It hasn't been easy at all !!! As you all know. I just don't know what to do. Now it's past his test, feed and shot time. What's that gonna do to him ???

Becki
 
A late shot will act like a dose reduction, but he will get back on track. His depot may get just a little depleted.
He's probably hanging out near the house right now, in a dark corner. Cats don't usually go very far.

Do you have to work tomorrow? I'm just thinking, since the shots have to be 12 hours apart, if he doesn't get his shot until 10:00pm, let's just say, will you be able to give him his shot 12 hours later (at 10:00am)?

Maybe the people who live behind you in the cabin will have a can of tuna fish that you can borrow. Just a thought..
 
8:54 p.m. Rags just came back. What do I do ? test, feed, still shoot 1 unit even tho he is an hour late ?

Please Advise !

Becki
 
test him
feed him
if he is above 200 - then give insulin

if below 200 - skip the shot

you will get it back on schedule later

and please do yourself a favor - don't let the cats out of the house again
 
Hillary, Thank you so very much !!! Now does this mean I have tio give it tomorrow at 9:15 a.m. or do I stick to the 8:00 a.m. schedule ?

Thenk You,

Becki & Rags
 
what is the ideal time you want to give insulin?

7:30/7:30?

If that is the ideal time - then you have two choices

1) just give the shot tomorrow at 7:30 and it will be an early shot

2) give tomorrow morning's shot at 8:45 am, then tomorrow night's shot at 8:30 pm and slowly work your way to 7:30 and we give you the time for friday, saturday, etc until you are at 7:30

now remember only give insulin if the pre-shot is 200 or higher



which option do you want to do
 
Hillary, I wanted to change sched. to 7:30 because of work, however if doing it slower would be better, then I'll do that. What do you think ?

Eventually getting it to 7:30 a.m.

Becki & Rags
 
it is up to you - which one can you handle more easily

ripping off the band aid or slowly taking it off?

you may find the first option easier, but honestly it is your choice
 
Rags has only started building up his depot. Yesterday 4/16 was his first day of receiving 2 shots.

That gives you a little more flexibility here I think.

Normally, you would only want to move the shot time a maximum of 30 minutes a day.



Please tell Rags that his wandering days are over. With the need to give him 2 shots a day, I think you will be more comfortable knowing he is somewhere in the house, waiting for his test and shot. Also, he has plenty of space to hide inside and has disappeared on you before, hiding in the basement.
 
I guess I have to be selfish, the 7:30 a.m. will be best for me.

NO my boy will NOT be going out anymore, trust me !!!

I guess I'd better test him around 12 or 1 tonight, do you think ? He can have another 1/2can tonite, right ?

YoHon & Rags
 
I am going to say this one more time and one more time only - FEED THE CAT - give him as much food as he wants - you do NOT need to limit the amount he gets - feed him - it is fine

you have been told this several times - you can feed him as much as he wants whether that is one can, two or four - give him food and let him eat - as much as he wants

do you understand? there are no restrictions about the amount of food you are allowed to feed him -- do you get it now....FEED the cat!
 
Yes, a +3 would be really nice to see.

I see some more doses on your spreadsheet, for the morning, where you had not gotten around to the data entry.

Would you please put a 0 in the U column after the PMPS column for those days where you did not give an evening shot. Also, you need the 1 unit in yesterday (4/16) evenings unit column.

The preshot test number always goes in the preshot test column, not the actual time column. If you were late in taking the test, like you were tonight, the number still goes in the preshot column, not the +1 column.

You can certainly make a note in the remarks section that you were a half hour late or 2 hours early or 1 hour late.

The hours at the top of the spreadsheet were a temporary crutch to help you get the data in, but I think that now they have become a hinderance.

Why do I say that? Because the times of the preshot tests have been and are continueing to change rapidly over the last few days and will likely continue to change over the next week or so. Your preshots have been at 7 , 8, 8:15 8:30, 9, 9:15 since you started on lantus.

Certainly, keep the actual times in your notebook but change how you enter data on the spreadsheet. There are a lot of people in the lantus forum and they all expect to see the data in particular columns, not how you are entering it.

It will be much harder for people to advise you if the data is not in the expected places.

Would you please try to make these changes? Thanks.

Food except for the two hours before the insulin preshot tests.
 
Yes Ma"am Seargant Hillary !!! kidding ! I will feed the boy, I got it, O.K. ? I got it !!! He will be fed !!!! I just don't want to see high numbers, ya know ?

I know he needs three days to level out with the two shots, but I just don't want him high or low. Hopefully by now you know what you are talking about. So I will take you word for it. So be it !!!!

Thank you and I'm sorry that I upset you so bad, but you have to understand I'm new at this and it scares me. I just do not want to do anything wrong. You can't really blame me for that.

Becki &n Rags
 
Deb, in don't do anything right as far as your concerned. i've never done a SS before, i'm learning. I try to do the best i know how. I thought if I left a column blank one would know nothing was given or done. Excusea me ! I'm not perfect and never said I was. But I know you'll teach me how to be perfect !!!

As soon as I get the time I'll try and do it right and if I don't I know you'll be the first to tell me what I did wrong. Thank you !!!

I'll getb another test tonite, but no one will see it tonite. This forum seems to close early. they must work. So I'll put it on tomorrow.

When Rags see's me at the computer, he knows nothing good will happen, so now I have to move the computer.

Talk to you tomorrow,

YoHon & Rags
 
Becki, I am so glad that Rags is home and safe!!

I know you are trying the best you can and you are doing good, just keep working at it like you are and hopefully Rags will adjust and be more compliant when you need to test and feed him.
 
Becki

I'm very glad you found Rags and got him in the house safely.

You are doing fine, Becki. Don't you worry! Every new member has to get used to using the SS and they all have questions. I am more than happy to help you with the SS. You'll get it :-D If you would like me to take the times off the top, just let me know. It's easy for me to do and it's entirely up to you.

It's fine if you shot late tonight. It happens sometimes. Rags will be fine.

I'd like to give you a few other thoughts on things brought up in your condo tonight.

  • if Rags BG is 300 or higher in the morning, it's fine for you to shoot at 8 am. Then Saturday morning, you could shoot at 7:30 am and be on your new schedule. I'd probably be a little cautious about shooting almost two hours early and if Rags' BG is not high, I would suggest you don't shoot more than 30 minutes early.

  • The Health Forum has a "do not shoot" number of 200 or below. However, in this forum, we encourage members to post and ask for help if they get a number of 200 or below when they are starting out.

    I know you want Rags to make progress, so my suggestion is that if you get a BG of 200 or less in the morning, post and ask for help and we can discuss it. Dyana is on early, as is Sienne, and they can help you.

  • I thought you might like to read a different take on Feed Kitty as Much as He Wants. It's not such a great idea to let kitty overeat just because he thinks he's hungry.

I am usually on until almost 3 a.m. your time if you need help. There are also a couple other night owls on this forum so if you do have questions, just post.

You're doing great....there is a learning curve for all new members and we're here to help you.
 
A friendly reminder for everyone from the FDMB Community Rules: "Be kind" and "Be polite".
Let's all come back calm and rested tomorrow.
:mrgreen:


Becki,
I'm so glad you were able to get Rags back in the house!
I have a few thoughts to share with you...

  • don't worry about the spreadsheet. marje is a whiz with spreadsheets! she'll help. just ask if you have any questions. :-D
  • don't worry about filling information in on the spreadsheet when you were shooting once a day. that's done and over with. we really don't need that data any more.
  • check to see if i have your shot times right since you began shooting twice a day. (i've rounded the times off to the nearest quarter hour):

    4/16
    amps 7:30am
    pmps 8:00pm <--------------- the PM shot was given at +12.5 (12.5 hours after the previous shot)

    4/17
    amps 8am
    pmps 9:15pm or 10pm <--------------- this thread says you shot at 9:15. if you shot at 9:15, the PMPS would be at +13.25. your spreadsheet says Rags showed up at 9:54 so the PM shot must have been given close to +14 (14 hours after the previous shot). i'm not sure what time you shot tonight. i'm confused. :?

    i shoot early and late shots all the time. take a look at alex's spreadsheet to see examples of how to record early and late shots in the AMPS and PMPS columns on a spreadsheet: 2006 LANTUS DATA + 2009 & 2010-2013 LEVEMIR DATA. you can click on the blue type and it will take you to her spreadsheet.


marje offered some great advice! if you have any questions, please ask. we'll try to help. :mrgreen:
 
Becki

I just want to be clear that if Rags BG is above 300 in the morning, you are safe to shoot one hour earlier than you did tonight. I wouldn't shoot any earlier than one hour, though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top