4/16: Rosie AMPS 290: How Long to hold the dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol in Chicago

Member Since 2017
Previous thread re: no green for 2 weeks w/ DX of UTI.

Her numbers still seem too high and relatively flat based on earlier experience. Should I hold the dose longer with an infection in the picture?
 
I think I would take the dose up to 3.25u, it's been 9 cycles and no sign of green.

So in line with the guidelines of TR
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
I notice that you have been making dose adjustments in 1/2unit steps, for most cats as per TR the dose changes are done in 0.25u increments, have you got syringes with the 1/2unit markings? if so you can just eyeball the in between dose, it's tricky, but it can be done. Taking them up more quickly can prove risky.
 
How long should I give Covenia to work until I conclude it is ineffective? Only other recent change is introduction of YA Zero.
Without the culture it's impossible to say if what she has is infection or just inflammation, Dr Lisa site has a very informative and well written section on urinary tract problems on cats, I recommend you read it, it's quite enlightening, she explains that inflammation of the urinary tract is far more common than infection and that misdiagnosis often leads to overuse of antibiotics.
http://catinfo.org/feline-urinary-tract-diseases/

The site has lots of great info on all things cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top