carolynandlatte
Very Active Member
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12059
Recap:
PMPS-327
+2-277 (pred given)
+5.5-281 (kibble)
AMPS-246
+2-216 (pred given)
+4- 283 (kibble - not much, also wet)
+7-391
+10.5-371 (little wet food)
Latte was a tad crabby this a.m. She did not eat as well on the pm cycle and had no desire to get out from under the piano this a.m. Was kind of a bummer. She did perk up later in the a.m., so that was hopeful.
I went back to the original increase of the steroid because:
1. Her vet highly recommended it, and that we stay there for at least 1 week.
2. Cheryl echoed my vet's opinion w/o me ever saying what he thought.
3. Her decreased appetite last night and hiding this a.m.
She is definately eating better. But Im still a little on edge as to if it will continue to be enough. I know I also have to factor in some of her other conditions, as the kidney disease and metabolic acidosis is quite certainly playing more of a role in her symptoms than it did in the last few years.
She has been under the piano most of the day, but up and about occassionally to see what Im doing. Bright and full of purrs when I pet her.
Question (I know its getting too close to shot time for to probably get an answer):
She cant sit in these high numbers and WILL continue in them if I do not do anything about her insulin. Would it make sense to increase it for the next 7-10 days while getting the dbl dose of pred? Of course when I taper the pred, I will have to reduce her dose and accept the messiness of it, as it sorts itself out.
Thing is, I dont know how much. She is @ 1.75u right now. I was thinking s2.0, but then saw what her numbers are doing today and think maybe a full increase to 2.o. I can monitor until monday, and drop her down if for some reason its too much (im thinking not). She was a little lower yesterday because I didnt give her all the pred I plan on giving in the upcoming week. Today is probably more representative of the numbers we will see. I have to keep in mind that I have someone coming in to shoot her most pm's this week, and will have little time to monitor. So, this is the only increase I could do- comfortably.
On the other hand, could she possibly be bouncing from the low yellow this a.m., since she has been so high since Wednesday?
I know there isnt a soul out there who likes to give us dosing advice. But seriously, if this is your cat what would you do? Let them sit in the 300-400+"s for the week? Increase a drop and hope it helps, knowing it might/probably wont? Increase the full .25 and hope its not too much...back down if need be mid week?
Any thoughts would really be appreciated.
Now...I think we are off to the big P A R T Y!!!! :mrgreen:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12059
Recap:
PMPS-327
+2-277 (pred given)
+5.5-281 (kibble)
AMPS-246
+2-216 (pred given)
+4- 283 (kibble - not much, also wet)
+7-391
+10.5-371 (little wet food)
Latte was a tad crabby this a.m. She did not eat as well on the pm cycle and had no desire to get out from under the piano this a.m. Was kind of a bummer. She did perk up later in the a.m., so that was hopeful.
I went back to the original increase of the steroid because:
1. Her vet highly recommended it, and that we stay there for at least 1 week.
2. Cheryl echoed my vet's opinion w/o me ever saying what he thought.
3. Her decreased appetite last night and hiding this a.m.
She is definately eating better. But Im still a little on edge as to if it will continue to be enough. I know I also have to factor in some of her other conditions, as the kidney disease and metabolic acidosis is quite certainly playing more of a role in her symptoms than it did in the last few years.
She has been under the piano most of the day, but up and about occassionally to see what Im doing. Bright and full of purrs when I pet her.
Question (I know its getting too close to shot time for to probably get an answer):
She cant sit in these high numbers and WILL continue in them if I do not do anything about her insulin. Would it make sense to increase it for the next 7-10 days while getting the dbl dose of pred? Of course when I taper the pred, I will have to reduce her dose and accept the messiness of it, as it sorts itself out.
Thing is, I dont know how much. She is @ 1.75u right now. I was thinking s2.0, but then saw what her numbers are doing today and think maybe a full increase to 2.o. I can monitor until monday, and drop her down if for some reason its too much (im thinking not). She was a little lower yesterday because I didnt give her all the pred I plan on giving in the upcoming week. Today is probably more representative of the numbers we will see. I have to keep in mind that I have someone coming in to shoot her most pm's this week, and will have little time to monitor. So, this is the only increase I could do- comfortably.
On the other hand, could she possibly be bouncing from the low yellow this a.m., since she has been so high since Wednesday?
I know there isnt a soul out there who likes to give us dosing advice. But seriously, if this is your cat what would you do? Let them sit in the 300-400+"s for the week? Increase a drop and hope it helps, knowing it might/probably wont? Increase the full .25 and hope its not too much...back down if need be mid week?
Any thoughts would really be appreciated.
Now...I think we are off to the big P A R T Y!!!! :mrgreen: