4/16 Kitty AMPS 87 - Questions about the T word!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and Kitty

Member Since 2009
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12081

In 24 hours, Kitty will have completed seven days at .1 -- and he's been pretty much green.

Sooooooo........

How does this happen, going to a trial? How, if at all, does the feeding schedule change? How many times do we test, and does when? In what relationship to meals?

these are nice questions to have! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
OOOhhhh exciting I don't have any advice but just want to say I will be watching because I need to know answers to these questions since Mr Scrabble seems to want to head in that direction! (anti-jinx!!!!) Good luck, and pre-congrats!!! :-D Isn't it great how we can all learn from eachother???
 
Yes they are amazing questions to ask and I am so happy for you.
I kept the same schedule for Max basically cuz I was so nervous about his numbers.
Feeding and testing for us was the same, except I gave up sometimes on the BT check.

I am sure you will get more answers for the green light later on.
We will be watching!!!!!

Yay Kitty.
 
yes what great questions....it's very simple going to T

you continue feeding as you are are currently doing.

you test twice a day - AM and PM - what would have been the PS times or thereabouts.

If you feel the need you can test more, but it's not necessary.

As the T moves on, you can even change the times you test, just to be sure - but twice a day is all you need to do.

Then you enjoy Kitty and love him and all the hard work you went through to get here.


then you do the P word!!!!!
 
Ohhhh...That T word :mrgreen:

Can't help there, I do know that some people would also test 2-3 hours after feeding to make sure Mr P is working.
 
Oh how exciting for Kitty! Have you stocked up on gum for the chewing? :mrgreen: I'm glad you asked these questions as Max will start chewing on Monday if he holds steady through the weekend (paws crossed!). :mrgreen:
 
What exciting questions Kathy! First, I think you plan your revenge on the vets...exactly how are you going to deliver the OTJ news? :twisted:
 
Boo said:
What exciting questions Kathy! First, I think you plan your revenge on the vets...exactly how are you going to deliver the OTJ news? :twisted:

Heather, I love you for remembering!!!! :YMHUG: For the sake of maintaining proper anti-jinx-osity, I will think about this more in, let's say, two weeks. ;-)

Hillary, do you think the PM test +2 snack remains necessary? It would change my life to get to bed an hour earlier. I vaguely recall a thing named sleep....
 
Paws crossed for Kitty! I saved this from a recent post, I think it was from Libby
OTJ Trial procedures:
Here's what you should do:
Test at normal AM/PM meal times
If green, go about your day
If blue, feed and test again in 2-3 hours (if possible) to see if the number came down
Occasional spot checks 2-3 hours after a meal are a good idea
Remember, multiple small meals are easier on a newly functioning pancreas than larger meals.
After 14 days we party! And if you do start seeing blue numbers, don't panic and don't shoot, post for advice first. Good luck!
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
Hillary, do you think the PM test +2 snack remains necessary? It would change my life to get to bed an hour earlier. I vaguely recall a thing named sleep....

I have to comment on this one too!!! Remember how hard it was for you to test 'cause you selfishly wanted to do this worthless thing called sleep? Just think of how many more hours you have in your day now.
(Just kidding, of course! You have done such an amazing job with The Kitty!).
 
You have done an amazing job--This is what all the hard work is for!! The measuring, recording, sleepless nites, worrried days--
Now you get the GREEN!!!--Take it slow, listen to the learned ones, Be happy,
AND WE WILL ALL DANCE TILL WE DROP AT KITTY'S PARTY!!!!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Tomorrow will be Day 1?
I am beyond happy for you!
Although Moonie will probably never get there, It still makes us joyous when others do!! START THE T"S!!!
 
Technically, Kitty should get a shot Saturday morning -- that will be the 14th cycle on .1.

Thanks for those tips, Ann! I had to laugh at the part about "frequent small meals." No changes there -- we have provided 24-hour counter service for Kitty for ages! :lol:

I have to go now. I have to cross not only my fingers and toes, but also Kitty's paws and anything else I can find to go cross.... :mrgreen:
 
Hi Kathy-
SO EXCITING!!
Kitty is doing great today! He's been virtually doing it on his own for awhile anyway. Thanks goodness no more shaves to figure out...especially for someone as OCD as me!

Seems there's a whole slew of new T kitties just about to come out of the gate. It is so great to have compadres to go through this with.

We're watching and crossing.

betty
 
I would encourage you to wait for input from Jill or Libby. They have both been so instrumental in Kitty's progress that they have the best sense of what the next step needs to be.
 
lol! no bowing, please.
kathy, here's what i would do... shoot tonight as usual. tomorrow... start the trial on the first green ps number whether it's AM or PM.
during the trial... i know there's been a whole lot of suggestions talked about in different condos about when to test, but "we" (those of us who have been doing this for years) suggest is to test at what used to be shot time. if kitty is green go about your day or go to bed, dinner, or whatever. if kitty is blue, feed and retest 3 - 4 hours later to see if he's brought himself down by then. kitties new to going otj often take as long as 4 hours to bring their numbers down. occasionally, you may see a blue number. don't panic. don't shoot. post the numbers and we'll help you evaluate the situation.
last, but not least... GOOD LUCK!!!

ps - if kitty is green at pmps you do NOT have to get a +2! :mrgreen:
 
Jill & Alex said:
occasionally, you may see a blue number. don't panic. don't shoot.

Panic? Moi?? :lol:

Can I repeat this, to be sure I understand?

1. Tonight, same as usual. Tomorrow, if AMPS is green, skip the shot?

2. Continue to test at usual AMPS and PMPS times.

3. Feed and re-test 3-4 hours after a blue.

Last question: I have not been doing a PM +2 test lately ( :oops: ), but I have given him a +2 snack. Should he still get a PMBG +2 snack?
 
(((Kathy, it looks like you understood everything Jill said))) You only need to get a + any # if the BG is Blue Good luck!!! Fingers & paws crossed here!
 
1. Tonight, same as usual. Tomorrow, if AMPS is green, skip the shot?
CORRECT.

2. Continue to test at usual AMPS and PMPS times.
CORRECT.

3. Feed and re-test 3-4 hours after a blue.
CORRECT.

Should he still get a PMBG +2 snack?
Ask kitty! :-D
 
Should he still get a PMBG +2 snack?
Ask kitty!

I asked Kitty. He said, and I quote: "Duh!" :lol:

Thank you, Jill. :-D

Gee, I haven't been a gum chewer for a long time... Cavities :roll: . I wonder how many flavors I can remember... IF I need them. Anti-jinx.
 
WOW! I can't believe it's time! I'm soooo happy for you guys! Mocha can't wait to party the night away at kitty's OTJ party!
 
I kinda thought I should be Jill's honor to proclaim the trial. Congrats.

(I'm still delighted that I got to be the one to tell you that 7 days of green earned a dosecrease!!)
 
I kinda thought I should be Jill's honor to proclaim the trial. Congrats.

Kitty's very first test WAS performed by Jill!! It does seem fitting.

(I'm still delighted that I got to be the one to tell you that 7 days of green earned a dosecrease!!)

With all the kitties you watch over, I am just amazed you remember. Good heavens, we might still be at the other end of the syringe without that essential piece of knowledge! I was so elated when I read that -- all of a sudden, a road opened up in front of me (complete with destination). :YMHUG:
 
...and if you need encouragement during the trial, take a look at Boomer's spreadsheet! It's a little crazy on some days but he's still doing it.

Best of luck!!!!
 
You and Kitty have done so well! If I recall, he was a good example of "must go up to come down". Congratulations.
 
I am so happy for you :mrgreen: I have just been amazed watching your patience with sneaking down the dosing scale, but its definitely paid off and you are almost there flip_cat
 
Re: 4/16 Kitty AMPS 87, +6 82, PMPS 88!!!

Nina, you are right -- we had to go up to go down. That wasn't fun! I was so worried about him then.

Thank you all -- except none of your congratulations can be received at this time, because our Anti-Jinx magical cloud has moved all of those things to wait in the wings, until we get our next green test. :mrgreen:

nailbite_smile
 
antijinx.jpg
 
Hi, Jen!!! Nice to "see" you! :lol:

Gee, am I even going to be able to sleep tonight?? I have to remind everyone that Kitty had two blue AMPS this week. PMPS is usually better! So tomorrow morning could be same ol' same ol'.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top