4/16 Gizzy Need dosing help AMPS 413, +6 363, PMPS 403

Status
Not open for further replies.

pistull

Member Since 2011
Should I be increasing his dose? He's been stuck in a "high" pattern for a few days now....
His SS is up to date.
 
Lori, do you have a 5 hole auto feeder. Looking at the ss, I would do what Gayle suggested I try with Harley. Do heavier feeding hourly at the front end and then you don't get big drops and have to guess if you are bouncing. It worked for Harley.

Pattie
 
Your dosing has been a little all over the place lately and only 4 cycles on this dose so far. I think you're just into the 5th cycle but the shot isn't noted on his ss so I'm not sure how much you gave. Could also be some bounce action from the 175 on 04/15 so I would be giving this dose a chance to settle and waiting out the bounce before increasing. I think see what happens tonight and tomorrow AM at least.
 
Lori held the dose at slightly over 2u. Lori, try feeding up front...it might level off the numbers and not have such a dramatic fall.

Pattie
 
Gizzy is bouncing. Remember, it takes up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear and these numbers look like a bounce. You need to hold your dose for 6 cycles. Lantus needs time to stabilize. If you keep shifting the dose around, the shed doesn't have time to catch up and it can result in wonky numbers.

I don't disagree with what Pattie suggested. However, I don't necessarily see Gizzy's numbers dropping early in the cycle. Much of what we do with using food to manipulate the curve is a matter of trial and error. I would try spreading Gizzy's food out and see if you start getting better results. What I would suggest is that you keep good notes about what you're doing on your SS. And, I would not expect big changes overnight. It can take weeks to begin to see how food is influencing the cycle.
 
I have been spreading out the food. His typical day:

3/4 can FF at +12
1/2 can FF at +4
1/4-1/2 can FF at +8
3/4 can FF at +12
Some bites of boiled chicken breast as treats throughout the day.

I've been introducing raw food again too. He likes it much better (and less stinky poops!!) :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top