4/16 Darcy has dropped to 63 @ +2.5

Suzanne & Darcy

Member Since 2020
Long morning. Shouldn't have given R today. He was too low, but I cut the R dose by two full units from last night... and he still went lower than I wanted him to go. This was all with various interventions... 5% food, then higher carb food (a little gravy lovers), then 5% food with Karo, then a little straight karo... more 5% food with karo (he's been getting his diarrhea back because of too much of the FF Gravy Lovers, I believe, so I tried adding Karo to some of the food to which his tummy is more accustomed.)

The good news is that this morning I awoke to a really happy kitty behaving more normally than he has been for a long time. He sat next to me in a favorite spot, he jumped up on his barstool ready to be tested and he really wanted to EAT! So he's had a very good appetite today. He's sleeping now, but I'm going to re-test to find his +6.5 now.

Yesterday's: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-117-4-25-99-5-107-6-106.246188/#post-2778296
 
Hi Susanne, you really did have a busy morning.It's so great to hear that Darcy and was in such a happy mood this morning. What a good boy jumping up on the barstool ready to be tested. I'm glad he has a good appetite today.
Hope you both have a nice day ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Long morning. Shouldn't have given R today. He was too low, but I cut the R dose by two full units from last night... and he still went lower than I wanted him to go. This was all with various interventions... 5% food, then higher carb food (a little gravy lovers), then 5% food with Karo, then a little straight karo... more 5% food with karo (he's been getting his diarrhea back because of too much of the FF Gravy Lovers, I believe, so I tried adding Karo to some of the food to which his tummy is more accustomed.)

The good news is that this morning I awoke to a really happy kitty behaving more normally than he has been for a long time. He sat next to me in a favorite spot, he jumped up on his barstool ready to be tested and he really wanted to EAT! So he's had a very good appetite today. He's sleeping now, but I'm going to re-test to find his +6.5 now.

Yesterday's: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-117-4-25-99-5-107-6-106.246188/#post-2778296
Hi again Suzanne :). You have been busy, a lot of work, love and knowledge of Darcy. So happy he is a happy kitty this morning and behaving normally, obviously feeling good from your balancing his insulins :cat:. Continue your safe surfing Darcy and both of you have a wonderful day. Sending hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Congratulations, Suzanne! You are really getting a good handle on Darcy and it is WONDERFUL to hear that he feeling really good. That makes a lot of difference when we worry about our diabetic cats. All the best wishes for you and your kitty as you move forward in this journey!
 
Gravy Lovers caused Neko diarrhea too, figured it was a wheat allergy. I moved to Weruva (potato starch for carbs) instead. Grandma's Chicken soup is 21% I think. The Cats in the Kitchen pouches you can find 16-18%.

How would you feel about 27 units L now as his new dose? Maybe no R under 150 for a bit to see how that goes, unless he's really zooming up at PS.
The good news is that this morning I awoke to a really happy kitty behaving more normally than he has been for a long time. He sat next to me in a favorite spot, he jumped up on his barstool ready to be tested and he really wanted to EAT! So he's had a very good appetite today. He's sleeping now, but I'm going to re-test to find his +6.5 now.
Where is that LOVE button? :joyful::kiss:
 
This is so amazing!!! Both the numbers and his behaviour returning to normal. Mr. Darcy is really keeping you on your toes but you've had to fight so very hard to get him to this point. It's wonderful to see all of your efforts paying off!:bighug:

I had to use wheat-free for Butters too and actually used the same ones as Wendy. Grandma's Chicken Soup is indeed 21%. Butters's favourite Cats in the Kitchen pouch is Chick Magnet, which I could only find by the case:rolleyes:, but it is 16%.
 
Hard work but wow, this is so impressive and so heartwarming when they behave normally! I have a tendency to gaze lovingly when I see her eating. Just look at Darcy's numbers from this time last month for comparison. This is so good to see - though obviously comes with its own stresses! :bighug:
 
Hard work but wow, this is so impressive and so heartwarming when they behave normally! I have a tendency to gaze lovingly when I see her eating. Just look at Darcy's numbers from this time last month for comparison. This is so good to see - though obviously comes with its own stresses! :bighug:
It sure does.... like NOW. His PMPS is 70... what the heck? Why?
 
Gravy Lovers caused Neko diarrhea too, figured it was a wheat allergy. I moved to Weruva (potato starch for carbs) instead. Grandma's Chicken soup is 21% I think. The Cats in the Kitchen pouches you can find 16-18%.

How would you feel about 27 units L now as his new dose? Maybe no R under 150 for a bit to see how that goes, unless he's really zooming up at PS.

Where is that LOVE button? :joyful::kiss:
Exactly what I was thinking (the no R if under 150). And I was ready to shoot his 30 units tonight, but he's at 70. I really don't know WHAT in the world he's doing... so I'm nervous. He's eating now. Shot time is already about 1/2 hour late. I will re-test in a bit. But all I have is this 5% food... and it doesn't seem to elevate his sugar much
 
Here is your award for shooting your first green :D:joyful::D you have balls of steel! congratulations!!
upload_2021-4-16_19-27-30.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-4-16_19-27-30.jpeg
    upload_2021-4-16_19-27-30.jpeg
    5.2 KB · Views: 500
What will happen when the lev kicks in?
Hopefully he stays flat. It could also be that he's just getting some great duration and will go up before onset yet.

One technique to consider for next time. After a reduction, if you want to drain the depot some, do a half dose, followed by the new lower dose the following cycle.
 
Hopefully he stays flat. It could also be that he's just getting some great duration and will go up before onset yet.

One technique to consider for next time. After a reduction, if you want to drain the depot some, do a half dose, followed by the new lower dose the following cycle.
Yes. I remembered that I had read you telling another member about doing a half dose to really help drain the depot, but I wasn't certain if I should do it tonight. I vacillated back and forth trying to decide if I should shoot 27 or a half shot... but nobody was around at the time....... so I went for the shot. But I will keep that in mind next time. He just ate again -- he really wasn't that interested because he's kind of full I think, but we put some people tuna water on there and he ate it right up -- I'm still tired from last night so I hope this is not going to be a long night... I'll just keep setting alarms and try dozing in between tests, I guess (if necessary). THANK YOU!!
 
Suzanne, I know how much these green numbers make you nervous, but all of your hard work is really paying off. :cat: Hope he stays steady for you, and big hugs, mama bean!
 
He's dropped to 63 at +2.5. And he's been eating almost constantly. Just finished about a third bowl of cat food. I'm going to have to switch to straight Karo. He's just not going to be able to keep eating.
 
I got him up to like 113 then 30 minutes later he was going down to 103. He just doesn’t want to stay up for me. At this point I could not care any less about green numbers for tonight. I want him in the blues until he can stay there on his own. He’s only in the low blues because of 1 cc Karo every 30 minutes. So I will be testing again at 1 a.m. and every 30 tonight until things level out. I’m not even updating my SS anymore because all computers are shut down and I am just on the couch with my phone. I will do the half shot tomorrow then resume the 27 units in the evening I guess? It’s very exciting, though, if I think about him having low numbers — so I will focus on the positive side of this! Never thought we would have this situation.
 
Congratulations Suzzane for shooting your first green, its nerve wracking but it is part of the process but most importantly: its the best part of the process :) all your hard work is paying off. I understand that Darcy is a high dose cat so it brings its own set of stress but it seems he is carb sensitive which gives you some control over his BG.

we stopped giving Chico commercial food as well because of diarrhea, we started using honey instead, and to avoid filling him up we give him 5g of food and honey, does the job :)
 
Back
Top