4/16,Chuck,AMPS 487,+2 552,+4 466,PMPS 274,+2 351,+11.5 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

StephG

Member Since 2016
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-389-2-485-4-364-pmps-240-2-307-3-287.176361/

AMPS 487 :confused:
Fed 4.5oz +2 T water. .8oz pate + 1T water @+4. .5oz ff pate + 1T water @+7.
Gave 8 units.

Not sure if I should increase his dose? I liked where he was going this afternoon but I wasn't home after +3 to test him and won't be after +2 tomorrow afternoon either so if I increase it won't be til Monday AM dose.
I was thinking maybe an increase to 8.25 for a few days to see where he goes? Or should I hold out on 8 units a bit longer? I'm waiting for a urine sample- doubt I'll get one tonight since he was in the box when I got home.
He's eating and acting fine. Had some softer stool today. I hope he's not getting use to the insulin and starting to throw his prozinc numbers again. :banghead:
 
I'm dog sitting my step-dad's dog this weekend. He may have gotten into some of his kibble but not today. Possible it happened friday evening. If he did it wasn't much. Would that help drain his depot? I was talking to DH. We discovered that Chico likes to hide a few bites around the house. No idea why. Anyway I suppose it's possible he hid some pieces and Chuck found them Friday afternoon. I have watched him eat since then so I know he's not hiding any now. We also searched for April's chip-feeder tag and didn't find any food after sweeping every inch of these floors. Still didn't find the tag either. Grr.
 
so you mean Chuck has the card key to the crunchies? ;)

I think you would be ok increasing his dose. If he were mine, I'd consider going to 8.5u again. Even though he got to the 40's on it before, that's been a week and it doesn't mean he'd get there again. If you are nervous about that, then 8.25u would be a possibility. At this level of dose a 0.25u increase is like fattening the dose . . . and I think he needs more than a fattening. But of course it's up to you!

How are you coping waking up every 2 hours all night long? That would kill me. I always got a +4.5 at night and I got so that I could assess that and feel pretty comfortable deciding from that whether or not he needed food to keep him safe overnight.

Hope some of that is helpful!
 
The dry food won't impact the depot, but that 7.5 unit dose in there will. You want six consecutive cycles at a dose to evaluate it. You are just starting cycle 5.
 
How are you coping waking up every 2 hours all night long?
DH tests overnight for me. He works a late second shift and gets home around AMPS time. If I don't have to get up early I stay up for a +2 if I can. Then he takes over. I'll get up after he goes to bed around +4 to get more tests in if he's blue. I've been trying to work on my "If he's a this number by +4 he's not dropping much after that" programming. So I'm trying to get the last part of his cycle to see if he's dipping before +12. Once I'm sleeping it's difficult for me to get up but I scare myself into thinking he's dying so then I won't hit snooze or silence the alarm. :smuggrin:
I'd consider going to 8.5u again.
I wasn't sure if that would be a good idea because of the 43 reading but I would be willing to try it again. DH is a little more reluctant but I think the latest numbers have convinced him he needs more.
You want six consecutive cycles at a dose to evaluate it. You are just starting cycle 5.
So we will wait til Monday to increase and see how he's doing then. ETA: **Does the 7.5 dose on 4/13 pm cycle not start the 6 cycles over?** IGNORE THIS PART. I'm tired and thought 6 days not 6 cycles!
If we decided to go with 8.25 units before 8.5 units--would we hold that for 6 cycles too?
 
DH tests overnight for me. He works a late second shift and gets home around AMPS time. If I don't have to get up early I stay up for a +2 if I can. Then he takes over. I'll get up after he goes to bed around +4 to get more tests in if he's blue. I've been trying to work on my "If he's a this number by +4 he's not dropping much after that" programming. So I'm trying to get the last part of his cycle to see if he's dipping before +12. Once I'm sleeping it's difficult for me to get up but I scare myself into thinking he's dying so then I won't hit snooze or silence the alarm. :smuggrin:

I wasn't sure if that would be a good idea because of the 43 reading but I would be willing to try it again. DH is a little more reluctant but I think the latest numbers have convinced him he needs more.

So we will wait til Monday to increase and see how he's doing then. ETA: **Does the 7.5 dose on 4/13 pm cycle not start the 6 cycles over?** IGNORE THIS PART. I'm tired and thought 6 days not 6 cycles!
If we decided to go with 8.25 units before 8.5 units--would we hold that for 6 cycles too?
I think the answer to that is yes, Steph. The only time you'd do an immediate dose change would be a for a reduction after a lime green. If I'm wrong, the pros will let you know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top