4/16 Callie AMPS 345

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janet and Callie

Member Since 2013
I don't know what's going on. It seems like she's just stopped getting better. We've tried to keep everything very consistent, but her numbers have just started getting worse. I had asked our vet about Levemir which came highly recommended to us, and our vet said she didn't know a lot about it but that it wasn't really necessary unless Lantus wasn't working. Should we try it?
 
Hi guys .. I just checked out callie's SS .. looks like you were shooting two times a day, then three times a day, now back to two times a day? I'm not familiar with that protocol at all .. but hopefully others with more experienced eyes can help you get things figured out .. I do know some people have switched to levemir with better results .. so I guess it is something to think about .. have a great day guys!
 
I honestly think you need to give this more time. There's a switch back and forth from BID to TID to BID dosing. The switch back to BID has been less than one month. At maximum, Callie was getting 2.75u total on TID and now, you're just up to 2.5u total on BID dosing.

It's likely that the numbers aren't stable because you had been giving 1.25u in the AM and 1.0u at PMPS for several days. I realize you may not have been comfortable shooting a lower number some evenings, but it would provide at least one explanation for why the numbers aren't where you want them. In some instances, I'm not sure why you reduced the dose. (Are you following SLGS or TR?)

I wouldn't be concerned about raising Callie's dose. Sometimes what may be a good dose one week is no longer doing the job. If you're following Tight Regulation, you want to evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles and increase the dose if you need to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top