Donna & Buddha said:
I'm not even sure I using the right term, but it seems if one is
1) using a sliding scale and shoots a dose x at ps y, and if
2) 2 hours later bg has climbed into a higher range on the sliding scale
then shooting the extra amount at +2 (and in my head I'm thinking it would be a .1u or .2u, to make up the difference between what was shot at ps and what one would shoot had the +2 been the actual ps number.)
ECID for most, but for mine it seems more like EDID (every day is different.)
EDID, I love that!!!!! In theory, the sliding scale based on PS is taking into account the zoom rate, so if you have a cat who isn't in the EDID camp

then you might know that a 250 PS means 320 at +1, and you know what dose to shoot at 250 that will land you at a nadir of 80 (or whatever). If you had an actual 320 PS and shot more insulin based on your scale, it would be in part because you know that means a 400 at +1, and have already taken that into account.
I think I get what you are saying, like base your scale on a low zoom rate, and then if +1 tells you the zoom rate is higher, pop in a little extra insulin to make up for the difference. In my head, it seems like one of those things that sounds like it might be a good idea, but in reality might drive you nutso, or be ineffective at a low dose, vs. dangerous at a higher dose. I guess since it violates the rules of PZI that I've been taught (for better or worse) it just makes me edgy.
I know people do bolus dosing, but I haven't seen much of it, seems a bit like playing with fire. I did it a couple times when I was panicked, and ended up no better off for it. It can mess with the nadir if you have 2 doses potentially peaking at once, risking unexpected low #s/hypo, and can mess with your following PS - might be lower than it would have been b/c of the bolus, but then might zoom even more after the bolus fully wears off. When ever I did it, my mind all but exploded at the next PS, trying to figure out how much insulin was still in his system for how much longer, etc.
Not to be overly discouraging or anything. :lol: I guess I'm more comfortable with shooting early if the #s are zooming, or doing some kind of "zoom test" and then shooting more/less at the +12 to compensate. Ultimately, you hold the syringe though, and who knows, maybe unconventional methods are just what he needs. I don't know if there is anyone around with bolus expertise, but maybe someone will chime in...