4/15 Smokey AMPS 174; +2 168; +3 125; +5 113; +6 107

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smokey & Kim

Member Since 2013
Morning all!!

Checked and double checked smokey's amps this morning... 174... he's been running in the 200-400 range the last couple days.. my question is how much insulin to give him this morning??

Thanks everyone, hope you had a good weekend!!
 
Re: 4/15 Smokey AMPS 174, what to give??

What have you been giving since I can't tell by looking at his spreadsheet?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/15 Smokey AMPS 174, what to give??

1.5 units. I'll update it today, had family in house all weekend, had time to write on my home ss but hadn't had a chance to uodate..
 
Re: 4/15 Smokey AMPS 174, what to give??

Will you be around to monitor him today? If so go ahead and shoot your regular dose, if not drop back to 1u

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/15 Smokey AMPS 174, what to give??

Yes, someone will be here all day, taught parents how to test also.. I shud b here 99 percent of the time tho..thx again Mel!
 
Re: 4/15 Smokey AMPS 174, what to give??

No problem. Sorry had to fly out to take DH to work. So now to finish what I was going to say...If you shoot the full dose you are going to want to get a +3, +6, & +9 test at the very least to make sure he isn't going too low, if he starts dropping fast as in under 100 at +3 you will want to put the brakes on by giving him a tiny bit of food...no more than a teaspoon at a time, and start testing every hour. If he hits 50 he will have earned himself a reduction in dose.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/15 Smokey AMPS 174, what to give??

MommaOfMuse said:
No problem. Sorry had to fly out to take DH to work. So now to finish what I was going to say...If you shoot the full dose you are going to want to get a +3, +6, & +9 test at the very least to make sure he isn't going too low, if he starts dropping fast as in under 100 at +3 you will want to put the brakes on by giving him a tiny bit of food...no more than a teaspoon at a time, and start testing every hour. If he hits 50 he will have earned himself a reduction in dose.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


Ok, I'm on it! I'll let you know how he's running! A reduction would be a great thing!! I'll have to throw a insulin reduction party!! woohoo!!! :lol:
 
Re: 4/15 Smokey AMPS 174, what to give??

Smokey & Kim said:
MommaOfMuse said:
No problem. Sorry had to fly out to take DH to work. So now to finish what I was going to say...If you shoot the full dose you are going to want to get a +3, +6, & +9 test at the very least to make sure he isn't going too low, if he starts dropping fast as in under 100 at +3 you will want to put the brakes on by giving him a tiny bit of food...no more than a teaspoon at a time, and start testing every hour. If he hits 50 he will have earned himself a reduction in dose.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


Ok, I'm on it! I'll let you know how he's running! A reduction would be a great thing!! I'll have to throw a insulin reduction party!! woohoo!!! :lol:


Did someone say party? I'll think green thoughts for you :)
 
Re: 4/15 Smokey AMPS 174, what to give??

Thank you!!

Just wanted to let everyone know, Smokey's SS is updated as of today! Off to buy more supplies! :cool:
 
I guess Smokey decided to take advantage of the warmer weather today and spend the day playing in the water!

I gave him a few freeze dried treats, and about 10 pieces of Kanin Diabetic at +3, just because I was taking a trip out for about an hour. Then around +5 he had about 1/3 can of Friskies.

It sure is nice to see these numbers, I'm sure he hasn't felt this normal in awhile. I wonder how long he had been diabetic before his DX. It would be so nice if our furbabies could just cry or tell us when they don't feel good. They mask pain and not feeling good and as a animal lover, it breaks my heart to think that he could have been suffering for so long, and I had no clue.

This whole ordeal with Smokey has helped me with the decision on becoming a Vet assistant. I was undecided if I wanted to that or become a dental assistant. As hard as it's been poking him, force feeding him, and seeing him go thru heck these last couple weeks. The reward is great. I would love going to work every day knowing that I was helping animals. I've been a huge animal lover my whole life... I was the little girl who brought home any stray animal I came across and would insist on posting flyers, knocking on doors, etc.. trying to find the owner.. and I couldn't have been more than 6 or 7 at the time. I think I was just born with love for animals in my blood. I never understood people who don't like animals.. unless you've had a bad experience with a rogue animal, what is not to love?

Anyway,.. I think I'm going to take a nap for an hour or two.. I'll update with his +8 or +9 once I'm up.

Hope ya'll are having a good one!
 
Look at that beautiful blue surf....You go Smokey!!!!

I know what you mean about being born with a love of animals in the blood, I think I was too, in fact last year I was in school to be a Vet Tech but money got tight, and I got bit by a brown recluse that took out the use of my right thumb for the most part so I don't have the grip to help with lifting large dogs etc. So this summer I'm looking into an animal CPR class and thinking of starting my own pet sitting business and specializing in "special needs" since I have force fed, tube fed, pilled, injected, tested BGs, & given sub-q fluids. And eventually DH and I want to move even more rural with more land so we can open our own Sanctuary for the unadoptables (and then find them homes...because I don't think anyone is truly unadoptable if someone is willing to put the time into them. Sure some come with some pretty serious baggage, but if I sat down and told you all the horror stories of the Fur Gang most would have said all 14 were unadoptable at some point in their lives, they just needed to learn to trust again and a couple just needed a little medical help.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Look at that beautiful blue surf....You go Smokey!!!!

I know what you mean about being born with a love of animals in the blood, I think I was too, in fact last year I was in school to be a Vet Tech but money got tight, and I got bit by a brown recluse that took out the use of my right thumb for the most part so I don't have the grip to help with lifting large dogs etc. So this summer I'm looking into an animal CPR class and thinking of starting my own pet sitting business and specializing in "special needs" since I have force fed, tube fed, pilled, injected, tested BGs, & given sub-q fluids. And eventually DH and I want to move even more rural with more land so we can open our own Sanctuary for the unadoptables (and then find them homes...because I don't think anyone is truly unadoptable if someone is willing to put the time into them. Sure some come with some pretty serious baggage, but if I sat down and told you all the horror stories of the Fur Gang most would have said all 14 were unadoptable at some point in their lives, they just needed to learn to trust again and a couple just needed a little medical help.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


Very cool Mel! I've always thought that there is no such thing as a bad cat or dog, only bad owners. Some people just aren't cut out to give the constant love and care that some animals need... I can't tell you how many people told me I should just "get a new cat" while I was figuring things out with Smokey. People who think that it's okay to just "throw away" an animal just because they need a little extra time and TLC simply put, disgust me. I can understand if it's a matter of not being able to afford proper care, but if it's just a matter of inconvenience, that's just horrible...

Smokey has been a loyal member of my family for over 10 years, I could never imagine doing such a thing. My animals have been there for me whenever I've needed them, have been more loyal to me than many so called friends who have come and gone, why WOULDN'T I do the same for them?!?!

Like I said, some people just aren't cut out to be pet owners.. I can't stand it when people treat their pets like they are belongings or things...and don't realize they are loyal, caring, breathing, living beings who think, and feel, and love, just like we do.
 
BTW Mel! Nice new picture!! I need to get one with all 3 of mine. If only I could get them to stay next to each other long enough to snap a shot..lol
 
Great numbers!

Any chance of a +7 to see just how low he may go? Lucian will nadir at +7 or later once in a while, when He thinks he's a Lev kitty. :lol:
 
Looks like a little bounce from the lower numbers, don't worry, it'll work out. Lucian did the same thing tonight. He hadn't seen green in a week and freaked out on me. :lol:

It works out over time. After a while, the bounces aren't as high and they surf more often in blues and greens.

Remember - Patience!! If need be, you can borrow some of Mel's Patience pants, she has several. ;-)
 
Smokey & Kim said:
+8 152, but shot up to 359 at +10

That's very common - they aren't used to being that low and the liver goes into overdrive to compensate - a classic bounce. ECID, but don't worry if it takes a few cycles to clear...its part of the healing process....
 
Well I see the other girls beat me to the punch...Yep he bounced off those blues, he hasn't seen them in so long his body didn't know what to make of them so it thinks he is going hypo and throws out all kinds of stored sugars and counter-regulatory hormones...just gotta retrain his liver to what normal feels like...He will probably run high for a couple days now as it takes about 3 days more or less for the bounce to clear the system. But eventually his body will relearn its okay to be in the blue and then one day that it is okay to be in the green.

I kind of think of it like if you have been driving for a long time on a highway going 75 mph, pretty soon that 75 doesn't feel real fast, but then you come up on a town and have to slow to 45mph...while 45 still isn't slow it feels like you are just crawling along because you have gotten so use to going at 75.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top