4/15-Racci-AMPS-155,+5.5-34!,+8.5-70,PMPS-149+10-137

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yay! Racci ate a new food that's only 2% carbs today!!!!! She decided that the Merrick BG Salmon is okay. That now gives me an 8%, 13% and a 2% that she'll eat in wet food! I can finally start really controlling her numbers! But better than that, what it tells me is that even tho she's been eating Wellness Core the last few days at 13%, which I didn't realize was so high, she has had good numbers, tho higher than the Wellness salmon/trout 8%. So is it the watered down frequent meals rather than the carb content so much that is making the difference in her bg? Food for thought. I'm just so happy I know have another choice that she will eat and one low in carbs to boot! It will be interesting to see her +6 today.

I'm sending healing thoughts and wishes to all who lost their loved ones and all our furry babies recovering from illness. Please get well. It's a beautiful sunny day in the low 80's here. All the trees and flowers are blooming or in bud. I'm sending some your way to enjoy.

Melanie & Racci

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68714
4/14-Racci-AMPS-154,+3-148,+6-160,PMPS-217
 
Re: 4/15-Racci-AMPS-155,+5.5-34 ! New 2% food!

The new food Racci ate today, Merrick's BG Salmon, won her a reduction! I just wonder if I should take it yet though since she doesn't like it as much as the higher carb foods? I'm wondering if she's going to stop eating it since today is still day 1 and I mixed it with the higher carb for lunch since she was so low so technically she only had one meal of it alone. What do you think? I still need to buy the mid carb that she usually eats also. I bought a bunch of the high carb just in case but still haven't found the good dates on the Wellness 8% and only have one small can left of this after today's meals since it was a trial.
 
Re: 4/15-Racci-AMPS-155,+5.5-34 ! New 2% food!

The number 30 is a definite reduc.

Congrats on finding another food that Racci will eat.

Woot!

Hugs
Tena
 
Re: 4/15-Racci-AMPS-155,+5.5-34 ! New 2% food!

Thanks Tena! I'm just wondering if it will last with the 13% food, which is all I have in abundance at the moment. Do you still think I should take it or wait till I get the other foods? I usually don't worry about taking them but she is a real problem eater and could very easily decide she won't eat it tomorrow. I wish she had been on it a few meals first. I bet you never heard anyone complain about a reduction before. :lol:

Any other opinions?
 
Re: 4/15-Racci-AMPS-155,+5.5-34 ! New 2% food!

Ummmmmm. I'd still take it. Someone else may chime in and say something different. Hopefully you can get some new fuds soon. It's got to be hard when Racci only eats just a few variety's.. Curry would eat anything.
 
Re: 4/15-Racci-AMPS-155,+5.5-34 ! New 2% food!

I'll have to try the Merrick BG Salmon on Eleanor. I'm still struggling with her eating. I thought she would be in lower numbers by now and I could experiment with slightly higher carbs and see if maybe they wouldn't raise her by much. Don't want to when she is still high 200's+!

Julie and Eleanor
 
Re: 4/15-Racci-AMPS-155,+5.5-34 ! New 2% food!

OH, thats great news, I would say a reduction also, but I don't give dose advice yet.

I'll have to pick some of that food up that is 2%. I use EVO 95%, so I know thats also very low, but it would be nice to give Daphne a change once in a while.
 
Re: 4/15-Racci-AMPS-155,+5.5-34 ! New 2% food!

What this seems to be telling you is that Racci's numbers will be very good on lower carb food. Technically, anything below 10% is considered LC. The more you can work on getting Racci to eat foods that are in the under 10% range, the better. Just because many of us feed around 4%, it doesn't mean that 2% or 4% is right for Racci.

I'd suggest taking the reduction.
 
Re: 4/15-Racci-AMPS-155,+5.5-34 ! New 2% food!

Tena,
My Calli was like Curry. She would eat any canned food as long as it was canned wet food. I wish Racci was like that. Racci is the fussiest eater I ever saw. All she ever wanted was dry food. This has been a real struggle. She's also stubborn about it. She would rather starve herself than eat something she doesn't like. It's scary so she almost always winds up winning. :YMSIGH: I finally won the wet food battle but this is only the 3rd type she will eat. I'll be thrilled and definitely take the reduction if she keeps eating it. That would be the only really low carb food she eats! It would be wonderful! The reason I question it is that she wasn't as thrilled the second time.

If she continues to eat it I would finally really be able to control her bg! I'd have a 2%, 8%, & 13%.

Julie & Daphne, try it. If fussy Racci will eat it, I'm sure your kitties will too. It even smelled good. (the salmon) I can't speak for the others in the series.

Well, unless I get some contrary advice, I'll wait till morning and give her a mixture again tonight so she doesn't go too low on me and see what her ps's are. I have a feeling I may have to wait anyway because she'll probably bounce from that low number. She usually does.

Thanks for the advice and just for visiting my humble abode :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/15-Racci-AMPS-155,+5.5-34!,+8.5-70 New 2% food!

Sorry Sienne,

I didn't even see your post before. You think so too, huh? Well, provided she's not bouncing I'll try 3.25u tomorrow and try to get her 8% food again. I'm going to try the BG again by itself tomorrow and the Core alone tonight. I just tried to feed her with them mixed and she wouldn't eat. I don't know if it's because it's mixed or if she decided she doesn't like it after all but I'll wait a little bit and go back to her Core and save the low BG for tomorrow in case she's bouncing.

I keep trying to find some that she'll eat that are lower carb but so far this is the only one she would even look at. The others caused an immediate total rejection - head turned away, mouth shut so tight I couldn't even get her to taste them, and a look of total disdain on her face! That's why I get so excited when she will eat one. :lol:

Thanks!
 
Re: 4/15-Racci-AMPS-155,+5.5-34!,+8.5-70 New 2% food!

A 34 means business. I'd rather see you err on the side of safety. Given Racci's fussiness, if the reduction doesn't hold, you can always bring the dose back up.
 
Re: 4/15-Racci-AMPS-155,+5.5-34!,+8.5-70 New 2% food!

That's very true, Sienne. She's on a large dose anyway but has always needed it. It's only been since 3/25 since her last decrease! If it sticks, it would really be wonderful.

I tried again with just the Core and she ate a little but wasn't all that interested. It could be the heat. She's lying under the ceiling fan. Maybe she's just not hungry but it's going to be a long night if she doesn't eat better than that after her shot tonight! Lately she doesn't like to eat until we're all done with meds and she can relax instead of before the shot. That's usually not a problem for me because if she doesn't eat then, I just feed her in an hour but if she's still green, I will be very nervous. nailbite_smile It's not really hot in here but I just finished cooking and it might have been then. I won't worry about it until tomorrow.
 
Re: 4/15-Racci-AMPS-155,+5.5-34!,+8.5-70,PMPS-149

Racci is a nice safe blue now but still low and ate but not a lot so I decided to start the reduction tonight rather than the morning. She just doesn't have much of an appetite tonight so might as well play it safe. Hopefully she won't bounce and make me sorry I didn't wait but if she does I'll just go back until the bounce is over.

Thanks again for the help Tena and Sienne.
 
Hi Serryn,

I replied to you on my new thread but then realized you might expect it on this one so came back here. :mrgreen:

I think you were right about the shed action. She was quite hungry at her +6 last night and woke me for food. Please look at my new post for today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top