4/15 Orange AMPS 454, +5 129, +6 121, +11 340

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Good afternoon everyone! Last post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68546

Orange has been feeling great lately! But his numbers are still on the high side. I've had him at 0.5 units for almost 2 weeks now, so I'd appreciate a little advice from all you experts out there. Is it time to go up to 0.75? :)

I haven't seen any greens on this dose, but there have been a few low blues, and yesterday was his lowest PS ever (212).

And shhhhhh... don't tell Orange kitty that the box is a few sizes too small for him :)

Thanks!!!!


DyXEE.jpg
S3RAd.jpg
KY6lt.jpg
 
Re: 4/15 Orange AMPS 454, +5 129, +6 121 - Dose Advice?

Hi Julie. I don't believe I've posted in your condo yet. :smile:

Is Orange still eating dry food? If so, you could probably stay on the same dose if you transition him off the dry all together.
 
Re: 4/15 Orange AMPS 454, +5 129, +6 121 - Dose Advice?

Hi Cini Mini's Mom!

He's been off of dry food for about 2 weeks - I'm feeding him about 1.5-2 cans/day of Merrick Turduken (the only wet food he will eat). I'm also trying to mix in some other wet food and boiled chicken to see if I can get him to like any others, but no luck yet.
 
Re: 4/15 Orange AMPS 454, +5 129, +6 121 - Dose Advice?

I'm sorry, I don't remember which protocol you are following. If you are following the Start Low Go Slow protocol, it would be very helpful for us if you would add that to your signature block so we don't have to keep asking :-D It makes a difference with the advice we give.

I'd see how this cycle plays out before we decide on an increase...he's headed down so we need to see how far down he will come. My thought is that he's probably going to bounce back up and also that he could probably use a little
more insulin. Can you please post a +10 or +11 and ask for advice then? I know that's a frustrating answer but things can change quickly in a cycle....he actually came down pretty fast today.

And lastly, could you please do a profile for Orange (who is very handsome btw!). Here are the instructions: Creating a Profile. It's additional info
that will also help us advise you ....we have lots of kitties to remember little things for and so we don't have to keep asking....the info in the profile will assist us.

If you have any problems with it, just PM me. THanks, Julie!
 
Re: 4/15 Orange AMPS 454, +5 129, +6 121 - Dose Advice?

My hunch is that you're going to see a bounce given the 300+ point drop today. Once the bounce clears, that may be a better time to increase Orange's dose. Like Marje suggested, I'd wait to see what the numbers look like closer to PMPS.

Orange is one cute kitty!!
 
Re: 4/15 Orange AMPS 454, +5 129, +6 121, +11 340 - Dose Adv

Ok, a basic profile is up.

+11 = 340 - That's normalish/lowish? I'm not sure how to recognize a bounce though since his PS numbers are nomally pretty high/all over the place.

As for the protocol, so far I have just been dosing based on the vet's recommendations. From what I have read, I would like to have him on tight regulation but I need some advice on that too. Due to our work schedules we will not be able to test in the middle of every cycle. See his SS for how much we are currently testing - we really won't be able to do more than that on a regular basis. If this doesn't work for TR/puts him at high risk for a hypo on TR, then I'll stick with start low go slow.
 
Re: 4/15 Orange AMPS 454, +5 129, +6 121, +11 340 - Dose Adv

Hi Julie

I chuckled when I saw Orange trying to fit in that red box. He's a cute fella.

Good for you on getting him on the wet food. It's not always easy making that transition.

So much to learn here..

You are doing a great job.

Hugs
Tena
 
Re: 4/15 Orange AMPS 454, +5 129, +6 121, +11 340 - Dose Adv

Hi Julie,

Orange is adorable! Isn't it funny how they always love the most uncomfortable looking boxes? :lol:

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 4/15 Orange AMPS 454, +5 129, +6 121, +11 340 - Dose Adv

Hi Tena! Hi Melanie!

Yeah, I think I have the most adorable kitties ever, but I'm a little biased :)
 
Re: 4/15 Orange AMPS 454, +5 129, +6 121, +11 340 - Dose Adv

So he did bounce.....and you don't want to increase on a bounce. A bounce can take up to six cycles to clear. If he gives you a low yellow or a blue PS then that is a sign he is clearing the bounce and then I would increase his dose by .25u bid.

I think you are testing plenty enough to follow the TR protocol. We recommend you get a +2 test for every cycle that you possibly can....it will tell you whether it will likely be an active cycle or not. If the +2 is not pretty much the same as or higher than the PS, then you should be prepared that he will come down. Then we recommend either a mid-cycle or out the door test for work days and a before bed test for work nights. If he's coming down, you might have to set an alarm to get up mid-cycle and make sure he is ok.

So the next time he comes down into low yellow or blue for his PS, then please post and ask for help OR if, after six cycles, he's still high, then increase by .25u.

Sound like a plan? I'd also recommend you read the stickys at the top of the forum for more info on the TR protocol and then ask ask ask away!!
 
Re: 4/15 Orange AMPS 454, +5 129, +6 121, +11 340 - Dose Adv

Thanks Marjorie! Sounds like a plan. Given that I've only seen 1 low yellow PS ever I think we might just be waiting out the 6 cycles. I'm not very good at predicting his numbers though so maybe he'll prove me wrong :)
 
Hi Julie. I just came by to say "Hello" . I've not visited your condo before. Orange is adorable, especially in the two sizes too small, box. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top