4/15 Minnie PMPS 99

Liz & Minnie

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-11-minnie-pmps-326.246035/

Was giving Minnie a break since the last vet appointment. Libre stopped working, she dislodged the e-tube so went back and had it removed. She is looking much better and appetite good, though finicky. Aldosterone levels markedly elevated consistent with hyperaldosteronism. Vet concludes she has bilateral zona glomerulosa hyperfunction, prescribing spironolactone.

Morning shots have slipped because I keep falling asleep at the wrong time after mostly sleepless nights checking in on her. Planned to bring PM early by 30min then was shocked to see a green, no food for last 2 hours. No R used since L dose increase to 5u.

Waiting to take another reading. Looking for advice please about shooting! Thanks.

@Bandit's Mom ?
 
Last edited:
Wow. I was just reading in the Merck Veterinary Manual about Minnie’s condition. It’s quite complicated. I’m sorry she has this, but I am glad that your vet figured this out. Have they also checked her blood pressure and/or prescribed BP meds like Amlodipine?

I’m so happy that she seems to be feeling better! You must be so tired!
 
I shot at 99. First green.
Wow! I just realized this was the first green you shot and so, here's your BOS award!

upload_2021-3-15_19-9-43-png.60173
 
Wow. I was just reading in the Merck Veterinary Manual about Minnie’s condition. It’s quite complicated. I’m sorry she has this, but I am glad that your vet figured this out. Have they also checked her blood pressure and/or prescribed BP meds like Amlodipine?

I’m so happy that she seems to be feeling better! You must be so tired!
BP is fine! I added yet another column to her s/s for the BP readings. No other meds prescribed but when we add the spironolactone we reduce the potassium - she's on 2 scoops of that every 6 hours right now. Mind you after the hyperlipidemia diagnosis I am not even convinced this is permanent! Will ask the vet at next appt - normally her potassium levels are fine until she has a DKA, then they can't control them. I'm wondering what the results would show if they took blood sample when she is back healthy again.

You must also be tired!
 
Thank you! I remember when you did yours - it seems so long ago but not really when I look at your s/s! Now you are a pro. This has been quite a month.
It does seem so long ago :)

We hope Minnie will start seeing better numbers more consistently as well, but lets take it one step at a time, her eating by herself is huge progress :cat: she is very lucky to have you :bighug::bighug:
 
BP is fine! I added yet another column to her s/s for the BP readings. No other meds prescribed but when we add the spironolactone we reduce the potassium - she's on 2 scoops of that every 6 hours right now. Mind you after the hyperlipidemia diagnosis I am not even convinced this is permanent! Will ask the vet at next appt - normally her potassium levels are fine until she has a DKA, then they can't control them. I'm wondering what the results would show if they took blood sample when she is back healthy again.

You must also be tired!
I know. Minnie is a unique creature. Cats are fascinating creatures (and frustrating too.). I hope this will be a passing thing!
 
Been missing your posts. :bighug: Something in your first post triggered a memory that finally surfaced. An FDMB kitty name Mannie (not Minnie) who lived in Seattle (of all places :p) and was diagnosed with aldosteronism and was prescribed spironolactone. If you are interested, you can follow along Michelle & Mannie's posts, here is the post where he got his diagnosis. You will see that Michelle's posts were quite the read. :p She tried to keep the diabetes thing light hearted, and helped teach me to have a life and a diabetic cat too.
 
Back
Top