4/15 Lucky's Glucose Curve Results & Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luckyducky

Member Since 2012
Hello again everyone! Lucky's been doing well, and I just finished getting his numbers for a 24-hour curve based on his new dosage of 1u bid. His spreadsheet can be seen here.

AMPS 347
+2 361
+4 298
+6 299
+8 286
+10 286
PMPS 289
+2 237
+4 182
+6 185
+8 308
+10 359
AMPS 325

Should Lucky's dosage be increased? I'm thinking of increasing his dosage by 0.25u, but was wondering what you all thought. Or, is there anything I should be looking out for given his somewhat uneven numbers before I make any changes? I thought it was a bit odd that the day cycle went up slightly, then dropped and stayed relatively flat. The night cycle dropped into the 100's, which was relieving, but then it suddenly jumped up into the 300's, which I'm guessing was a rebound(?)

Also, does the curve look normal? I guess I'm wondering since when Lucky was on 1u bid back in March, his numbers were much lower. I'm happy Lucky hasn't been in the 400+ range since I went back to 1u bid, but a little disappointed his numbers haven't improved as much as I'd hoped. The strange cycles are wondersome as well.

The only changes I made in the last week (beside the increase to 1u bid) would be a new Solostar pen (just yesterday morning, which doesn't seem to have affected the overall trend), and I also slightly modified Lucky's feeding schedule since the day before that (I now feed Lucky 1 3/4 cans in both the morning and in the evening --- 3/4 can after the AMPS/PMPS, and 1/2 at both +3 and +6). It's the same amount I was feeding him before, but portioned differently so that he gets the same amount of calories during the cycles and at an earlier time.

Thank you all again for your help, and I hope all has been well for you all too.
 
Re: 4/15 Lucky's Glucose Curve Results

Hi,
I just read through your post in March about how you and Lucky found each other. You are wonderful for sharing your home with him and caring for him. He is a gorgeous kitty! Well done, too, on learning how to follow the protocol and all the home testing you've done.

I can't offer advice on Lucky's dose or interpret his curve, but I suggest you edit your post and put the ? in the "Post icon:" at the top, instead of "None"; and change the subject line to let people know you have a dose question. Something like this:

4/15 Lucky's Glucose Curve Results & Dose ?

What's your name? I couldn't find it in your posts.
 
@Randa&Mookie - Thanks so much for the helpful advice, I've updated the post accordingly. Also, my name is Joe, I can't believe I forgot to mention it up until now (I guess I forgot that my username is the nickname for my cat).
 
Did you already shoot this morning, like your ss says? If so, I would see what his BGs are tonight, and if you're going to be home to monitor tonight, then depending upon the PMPS number, go ahead and up the dose to 1.25.
 
I do think you have room to increase Lucky's dose.

Are you home during the day to get spot checks? If not, you might want to wait be sure to get spot checks during the PM cycle. It's important to get spot checks during both cycles.
 
Yes, I gave Lucky his shot this morning, and I just gave him his evening shot right now. I decided to increase his dose to 1.25u bid, and to do a spot check at +6 tonight (I hope that's sufficient), as well as monitoring him the rest of the evening. I'm actually home during the day (I work from home), so I think from now on I'll do a spot check at +5~7 in both the AM and PM cycles (I hope that's sufficient too). I'd really like to do more if I could, but after all the emergency hospital treatment I unfortunately can't afford to do much more than that just yet.

Thank you all again for your advice, it's much appreciated. Lucky and I are both grateful for it, and if anyone else has more suggestions or insight, please let me know.
 
Just stopping by to say "Hi" and "Welcome!"

It's great that you can get some spot checks during the day. I would consider maybe checking a little earlier than +5 ot +6...a lot of times, you can tell where a cycle is heading by about +2 or +3; if there is a big drop between AMPS and +2 or so, then you know you need to be on higher alert. By +6, things are usually (but not always!!) settling out and possibly heading back up, depending on the cat. You want to catch things early if Lucky takes a dive and is running too low. Just a thought.

I know how draining those test strips can be. I was using a One Touch Ultra Mini last year...the price of strips was killing me! We switched to the Relion Confirm, which was priced much better. However, we recently switched to the Arkray Vital, and it's strips are even cheaper than the Relion. Here's the link on American Diabetes Wholesale, in case you're interested:

Artkray Vital Meter
Arkray Vital Test Strips

Again, welcome aboard!

Amy

ETA - Lucky is quite handsome!!
 
hi joe! punkin says hi to his brother, lucky too! ;-)

i'm glad you're increasing too. good idea. building on the idea that amy suggested above, it's sometimes helpful to get different times of days on different days. so today if you got a +6, tomorrow get a +4 or +5. you can do that instead of doing a curve all on one day. it just gives a little bit more information. i also agree with her about getting a check a little earlier in the cycle because if lucky's numbers do drop, you want to catch them in the act!

we also switched meters & strips - they can really suck up your $$! we use the relion confirm meter from Walmart (yuck) and buy the Arkray strips from ADW that are generics that work in the confirm meter. i just got 500 strips for $140.00 - a fraction of what i was paying with my previous meter.

1548274050K5 Buy 4 Boxes, Get 1 FREE - Arkray GlucoCard 01 Sensor Test Strips 50/bx $0.00 $69.99 $139.98

good to see you today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top