4/15 Kushi PMPS~121 +1~84 +2~63 +11~60 QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe & Kushi

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo

Let's see what today brings. I showed my vet Kushi's numbers from 4/12 and she said she though they were getting too low. I explained we try and manage the BG with the Lantus and feeding. If the numbers go low I give her HC to bring the numbers back up. She did agree that we should reduce Kushie's dose the .5u. I am printing out the "low numbers" protocol and other materials from FDMB to give to her. She is very open to discussing Kushie's diabetes management with me and I have encouraged her to visit this website. She has not done so yet, however.
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose)

Great AMPS for Kushi.
A lot of vets think that the numbers are too low. It is good that she is open for a discussion. I have a good relationship with my vet....she knows I researched FD more than she has and she is humble enough to let me know that.

If your vet thinks the numbers are too low you ask her what the normal numbers for a non-diabetic kitty are. They can be pretty low and usually in the range that we shoot for here.

Have a good day. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose) +1.5 48

Kushi already down to BG 48....feeding HC.......Advice please. Will see how levels climb back up and if low tonight maybe not shoot? I know we have to wait and see. Just thinking out loud. :smile: Or "skinny" the .5u?
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose) +1.5 48

Hi Joe, nice catch at +1.5! I see you fed HC...please retest in 20-30 minutes.

Like the last time you reduced, this is likely shed action from the previous dose. As you said, we'll have to see how the rest of the cycle plays out before making a plan for tonight. Kushi is on a mission though....looking very good! :-D
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose) +1.5 48

This looks to be a very active cycle. I am not saying that Kushi won't get another reduction but this number is from the last dose of 0.75.

Since it is so early in the cycle just feed very small amounts of HC like a tsp so she won't get too full.
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose) +1.5 48

I am just coming in to say hi! Kushi sure knows how to make you stay alert. Good luck with everything, Joe!
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose) +1.5 48

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Hi Joe, nice catch at +1.5! I see you fed HC...please retest in 20-30 minutes.

Like the last time you reduced, this is likely shed action from the previous dose. As you said, we'll have to see how the rest of the cycle plays out before making a plan for tonight. Kushi is on a mission though....looking very good! :-D
Now +50 @ +2. Test again in 30. Fed another "scant" tsp HC w/gravy.
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose) +1.5 48 +2~50

Very good....I'm glad you saw Miriam's suggestion about feeding small amounts. You know what to do...lather, rinse, repeat...test, feed as necessary, retest in 30 minutes. I'll see you in 30.
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose) +1.5 48 +2~50 +2.5~49

More HC w/gravy; hoping BG will start to climb from here (test in 30min) if not will rub just a bit of karo on her gums.
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose) +1.5 48 +2~50 +2.5~49 +3~

Looks o.k. here; will give her a rest for an hour. No karo necessary.
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose) +1.5 48 +2~50 +2.5~49 +3~

Ok, just keep testing, she may wobble up and down. She's not really rising..it's within meter variance.
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose) +1.5 48 +2~50 +2.5~49 +3~

Just wanted to throw this into the thread...RE: constipation issue. Since the LC canned food is so low in fiber, is it a good idea just to add Miralax/Purelax/Metamucil as a feeding routine. I would hate to see her get "plugged up" again. :o
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose) +1.5 48 +2~50 +2.5~49 +3~

You can use Miralax daily if your kitty tends to be constipated. One of my civies is like that, I give her 1/8 tsp daily. Just make sure you add water too, because that is important. Some people use canned pumkin....make sure it doesn't have anything else in it though.

Did she finally go?
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose) +1.5 48 +2~50 +2.5~49 +3~

cheering you on from the peanut gallery, joe! you're like an old pro with Kushi's low numbers!
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose) +1.5 48 +2~50 +2.5~49 +3~

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
You can use Miralax daily if your kitty tends to be constipated. One of my civies is like that, I give her 1/8 tsp daily. Just make sure you add water too, because that is important. Some people use canned pumkin....make sure it doesn't have anything else in it though.

Did she finally go?

Thanks Laurie.....and yes she did (big time) :lol: Me thinks she feels much better...she said, "geez bean, I finally get some relief and you start poking me multiple times again!" cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 +1.5 48 +2~50 +2.5~49 +3~55 +4~59

Gonna give her a little rest here; test again @ +8 & +11
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 (New Dose) +1.5 48 +2~50 +2.5~49 +3~

julie1220 said:
cheering you on from the peanut gallery, joe! you're like an old pro with Kushi's low numbers!
Well Julie, you got the "old" part right...but I don't know about the "pro" part! :smile: I will say this: I have learned a tremendous amount from all of you on this forum; I would have been TOTALLY lost without you guys!
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 +1.5 48 +2~50 +2.5~49 +3~55 +4~59 +

Really slow climb....amazing how "gentle" Lantus is and how quickly HC raises BG levels.
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 +2.5~49 +3~55 +4~59 +8~72 +11~98

Kushi & I are surely hoping for a calm night. We do not want to pull an "all-nighter" again. @-)
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 +2.5~49 +3~55 +4~59 +8~72 +11~98

Very nice work today, Joe. She is looking reall, really great! Go Kushi!! Hope you have a calm night.
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi AMPS~107 +2.5~49 +3~55 +4~59 +8~72 +11~98

I have noticed that Kushi almost always starts dropping at +1 and +2. Insulin not had time to kick in yet, right? She does not eat a lot after PS so food doesn't act as much of a balance? Should I just shoot a skinny dose?
 
Re: 4/15 Kushi PMPS~121 +1~84 +2~63 +11~60

This is a new low for +11. I am anticipating AMPS will be low also?? If so, Hold shot and test?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top