4/15 KiKi AMPS 440 +4 480 +11 330 PMPS 307 +2 395

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & KiKi

Member Since 2010
Ack, this is just not what I wanted to see today. He doesn't seem to act like there is anything wrong -- just sleeping (as he usually does) most of the day. He'll come curl up beside me and purr ... lick my fingers and hand like they need cleaning.
 
Re: 4/15 KiKi AMPS 440 +4 480

Oh Kiki, I hope he does better soon. Is there anything else that could be wrong and effecting his numbers?
 
Re: 4/15 KiKi AMPS 440 +4 480

Not that I can see . . . and nothing that I am aware of -- no kibble left out. He'll chase his feather . . .
 
Re: 4/15 KiKi AMPS 440 +4 480 is our insulin bad???

The only other thing I can think is maybe the insulin pooped out on us? This would be Day 41. The insulin itself looks perfectly fine tho. When it poops out, does it just instantly stop working like that? He was doing so good . . . . and then poooey . . . .like he stopped getting his shots or something.
 
Re: 4/15 KiKi AMPS 440 +4 480 is our insulin bad???

I was just about to ask about the age of the insulin. It's certainly suspect given how well Kiki had been doing on .25. The other thing I was going to suggest was getting a "sleep test" to make sure you're not missing an overnight low. Sounds like the insulin should be replaced, though, regardless.
 
Re: 4/15 KiKi AMPS 440 +4 480 is our insulin bad???

I think if you change the insulin, you will find out quickly if the container you are using has fizzled.
They say 28 days, so any days after that point I consider as a bonus.
Try a new cart and get better numbers, you know to toss that other one.
 
Re: 4/15 KiKi AMPS 440 +4 480 is our insulin bad???

I will try it tonite. Gosh, I sure hope that is all that it is..............if numbers are still 400-500 by +11 could we shoot hour early?
 
Re: 4/15 KiKi AMPS 440 +4 480 is our insulin bad???

I am not too sure about moving up the shot time because then what will you do for the following shots? If you moved it up an hour, then you need to move your am shot up an hour. If you don't, then your next shot would be an hour late!

I have wondered about insulin that has fizzled; what does that do to the shed? Maybe it would a shed of nothing worth having, so once you start that new cart of insulin, you may see some good numbers soon or maybe not?

I changed Shadoe container on Dec27/09 and that pm shot showed a very good response. We went from red and pink to much better numbers.

At any rate, I am sure kiki will benefit from some nice fresh juice!
 
Re: 4/15 KiKi AMPS 440 +4 480 +11 330

I could should 1 hr early -- then 15 min early each cycle afterwards ...we'll be back on track in 2 days ?? I don't work at all tomorrow, so it's not an issue. That would work? or no?
+11 is 330 (drop of 217 in 3.5 hours)
 
Re: 4/15 KiKi AMPS 440 +4 480 +11 330 PMPS 307

Typically, if we're moving shot time, you can move 30 min. per day without having too much of an effect on the shed. It would take 4 days to get back the 2 hrs. You can either move 30 min during one cycle or 15 min. per cycle.

I've run into Lantus poop out twice with Gabby. The pen looked fine -- no floaties. Gabby's numbers just got wonky. They were inconsistent. Once I changed the pen, things started to settle down. It did, however, take a few days since the shed had to be refilled with good juice. Like Gayle said, change out the pen and give it a couple of days to see if you get back on track. Unfortunately, it's trial and error. What I've found is that Gabby is very sensitive to the insulin. I change pens at 28 days.
 
Re: 4/15 KiKi AMPS 440 +4 480 +11 330 PMPS 307

I would use caution - shooting early is also like a dose increase and new insulin can pack a punch compared to old, fizzled stuff, IF that's what's going on.
 
Re: 4/15 KiKi AMPS 440 +4 480 +11 330 PMPS 307

whatever those high numbers were, it looks like it has broken. KiKi has dropped pretty fast in the last half of the cycle, so you might want to get a +2 to see if he's still dropping.
 
Re: 4/15 KiKi AMPS 440 +4 480 +11 330 PMPS 307

Libby and Lucy said:
whatever those high numbers were, it looks like it has broken.
I surely hope so :sad:
Due to the action all of a sudden -- its possibility its not the insulin. I'm giving the old pen one more go around .... see what happens. nailbite_smile (If it hadn't been for the drop -- I'd have started a new one)
Ended up only shooting 20 min earlier than scheduled.
At any rate -- will get a +2
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top