? 4/15 Keno AMPS 307, +6 55 - Meter Malfunction??

Status
Not open for further replies.

jacereske

Member Since 2014
Previous Condo

So, I got a 55 at +6, retested and got 56. Decided to compare to Alpha Trak - the Alpha Trak gave 106 and 104. Really confused. I thought human meters tested higher?

Would appreciate your insights and thoughts.

thanks,
Jeanette
 
Hi Jeanette, human meters test lower than the AT. 50 on a human meter is supposed to be around 68 on the AT, and the difference increases as the blood sugar gets higher.

How is Keno doing?
 
Hi Jeanette, human meters test lower than the AT. 50 on a human meter is supposed to be around 68 on the AT, and the difference increases as the blood sugar gets higher.

How is Keno doing?
Hi Wendy - OK I had it backwards. That's a relief - I was worried that something was wrong with one of my meters.

Keno is doing OK. Her diabetes is still not regulated and I've had to increase her insulin to 4.5 u. Her bloodwork on 3/6 showed elevated neutrophil and slightly elevated WBC & monocyte. We tested for UTI and she does not have an infection. So we suspect that the problem is that her pancreatitis has worsened and the inflammation is sending her BG up.

She is going to get labs done again in 3 weeks and at that point we will make a decision on whether to do an ultrasound.

All that said, her appetite is great and her weight is stable. She occasionally vomits white foam - but not daily. She seems to feel quite well for a cat that turned 17 years old today.

Thanks,
Jeanette
 
Pain or inflammation can definitely inflate the blood sugars. It does look like she is getting good nadirs on this dose. I might recommend the odd before bed test to see if she's going lower at night. When using SLGS, that 55 today means a 0.25 unit reduction.

Did the vet run. spec fPL test for pancreatitis?
 
Pain or inflammation can definitely inflate the blood sugars. It does look like she is getting good nadirs on this dose. I might recommend the odd before bed test to see if she's going lower at night. When using SLGS, that 55 today means a 0.25 unit reduction.

Did the vet run. spec fPL test for pancreatitis?
Her internist did a spec fPL when we adopted her in June and she also had an ultrasound at that time. She was diagnosed with the pancreatitis, but was not symptomatic, so no treatment was recommended

She is taking pepcid twice a day for her acid reflux due to the kidney disease but she was still throwing up foam 2 - 3 times a week. So now she's getting cerenia every 3 days in addition to the pepcid and has not vomited anything at all this week.

I wonder if the low BG is connected to getting fluids this morning? I know I should reduce but may wait to see what she looks like at nadir tomorrow. She was having a lot of high nadirs on 4.25.

thanks,
Jeanette
 
Happy 17th Birthday, Keno!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
wishing_happy_birthday_animation.gif
 
Happy birthday Keno!

Sometimes fluids can lower blood sugar. My personal unverified theory is that it may make a difference if the cat is dehydrated or not. For example, the first time we gave punkin fluids his blood sugar plummeted, but after that it didn't seem to affect his blood sugar. So . . .

The other possibility is that if you gave the fluids near the insulin shot, it could've affected the insulin's action. Most people separate the insulin and the shot, at least by distance. We usually gave punkin his shot, then at +3 when he ate a second meal, we gave him fluids. That still kept his face buried in his bowl and busy, but wasn't with his shot. If you have to give it at the same time as the shot, you want to not give them in the same area of his body.

And of course, it might've been a one time thing and not happen again. Cats do love to keep us on our toes!
 
Happy birthday Keno!

Sometimes fluids can lower blood sugar. My personal unverified theory is that it may make a difference if the cat is dehydrated or not. For example, the first time we gave punkin fluids his blood sugar plummeted, but after that it didn't seem to affect his blood sugar. So . . .

The other possibility is that if you gave the fluids near the insulin shot, it could've affected the insulin's action. Most people separate the insulin and the shot, at least by distance. We usually gave punkin his shot, then at +3 when he ate a second meal, we gave him fluids. That still kept his face buried in his bowl and busy, but wasn't with his shot. If you have to give it at the same time as the shot, you want to not give them in the same area of his body.

And of course, it might've been a one time thing and not happen again. Cats do love to keep us on our toes!
Thanks Julie. I like your unverified theory.

We actually do the same thing, we give her fluids at +3 while she eats her second meal.

I am wondering if the fluids lower the inflammation from the pancreatitis and that's why the BG drops. Or it could be both dehydration and inflammation that the fluids are addressing. Right now we are only giving fluids once a week, but I wonder if she needs them more often.

Lots of wondering I know - cats will make you do that!

thanks,
Jeanette
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top