4/15-Cini Mini- PMPS 164,+3/65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68687

Yesterday's BGs:

AMPS- 99
+3- 89
+6- 95
PMPS- 100
+3- 40
+4- 99
+5- 133

This morning's AMPS was 78 and I gave less than 0.05u. I cannot say for sure exactly how much less but I did my best to have something in the syringe.

Sienne,You have a good point there. I didn't get to see your note on yesterday's condo before I shot or I would have given a full 0.05u this morning. This afternoon's PMPS I will likely go back to the 0.05u I have been dosing.

I read Tilly's Page this time around and the link to measuring tiny doses. The second to last picture at that link of the zero line is exactly my 0.05u that I currently give. The last picture shows "some" insulin but even this page doesn't give a measurement to it. :YMSIGH: I think if Cini goes below 40 then I will reduce to the "some" insulin but it will be a very subjective dose.

And I think the very last paragraph on Tilly's Protocol page really sums it up for Cini Mini:

The longer a cat has had diabetes, the less likely it will go into remission. Many long-term diabetics get stuck in Phase 3 or 4. Yet there is a benefit of using this method for such a cat as well: keeping the cat's BG levels as normal as possible is much healthier for it long term. Insulin requirements will often decrease to very low levels too.
 
Re: 4/15-Cini Mini- AMPS 78 - What Now?:Part 2

There are a number of "old timers" who don't post all that often. Some have cats that are on tiny doses of insulin and are able to stay below renal threshold with a microdose. IMHO, if Cini needs insulin, regardless of the dose, staying under renal threshold and in as close to normal numbers as possible is a good goal. That's what tight regulation is all about.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top