4/15/2022 Cali AMPS 299, +3.5 278, +6.5 277, +8 255, PMPS 356, +2. 3 228 , +4.75 241

carlascalico

Member Since 2020
prior: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...124-4-111-8-55-8-5-79-9-2-79-pmps-127.262015/

4
/15/22 Cali AMPS 299, +3.5 278, +6.5 277, +8 255 PMPS 356, +2.3 228, +4.75 241


Levemir 2.0 units 3rd day and boy was it active. Stickeys are dog eared “shoot low, don’t panic…”
Thank you for all the help yesterday. I learned more of the nuances of this journey and that managing diabetes can be more challenging than turbo tax and the application of ever changing tax laws! Too bad diabetic pets can’t be claimed as a dependent on our 1040s.

To date: Cali’s onset is approximately +3, her nadir is +7.5-8.0. She is fairly carb sensitive and BGs can be raised quickly with LC food [no MC nor karo was needed yesterday]. Testing is key and more so as the numbers go lower. Bounces are bounces, but compete with the “logic” of tax formulas. Neither can be accurately extrapolated.
Bottom line: ECID as their personality and this calico sugar kitty can change at a moment’s notice!

Grateful on this GOOD FRIDAY for the love of family and friends. A kind word can makes someone’s day. Smiles are contagious [or blinkey eyes in cat language]. .
 
Last edited:
Here's hoping the potential "double whammy cycle" is tomorrow morning and not tonight....
 
Here's hoping the potential "double whammy cycle" is tomorrow morning and not tonight....
Only tests will tell, right? @+8 [approx nadir] 255
Still studying other Levemir spreadsheets to glean patterns. But I laundered pjs just in case.
Thanks for stopping by today.
 
The other saying we have is "flat yellow means action to follow"....it's true for some cats, not others. As with everything right? :rolleyes:
 
The other saying we have is "flat yellow means action to follow"....it's true for some cats, not others. As with everything right? :rolleyes:
Guess that does not apply to Cali either here. She wanted to wear pink PJs tonight so we have PMPS 356. SO what suggestions on tonight’s tests? Maybe +2, +7, +10?
 
Bounce cycles are an opportunity to take a break from testing and tank up on sleep :)

missed you Bhooma! Cali took the opportunity to flex her catitude and throw a bounce, bucking me from the comfort of your handholding. I was ok to shoot full 2 units on AMPS of 4/13/22 with an 88. But later that day @+8 when she produced a 55 [lowest she had been in MANY months]. My concern was still thinking nadir might be “closer to shot time” as I had read. But 20 minutes later with only LC, she started rising. I guess she and her liver panicked also because she jumped to her testing/feeding site and demanded food. She ate like a rabid, starved animal growling and scarfing her food, even biting the fork that was trying to put more food in her dish. She knew she was low and informed us dramatically. But the bounce was from the PMPS the day before, yes?

This AM, you could have stopped testing at +6. How many hours after the PM shot is bed time?
.
2 lol, but whatever I need to do I will. We always pack her lunch and take to bed with us so she gets fed a bit at +5 and +8, regardless.
 
@+2.3 drop to 228 [from 356 PMPS]. I like the back in yellow but wasn’t expecting any onset until about +3.5 or +4.
Does this mean she is “active” and should be tested later or towards second half of cycle?
Advise please and thank you
 
@+2.3 drop to 228 [from 356 PMPS]. I like the back in yellow but wasn’t expecting any onset until about +3.5 or +4.
Does this mean she is “active” and should be tested later or towards second half of cycle?
Advise please and thank you
Yes. That is quite a drop and could mean an active cycle. How about some food now and an alarm for say +4 or +5?
 
Back
Top