4/14: Rosie hasn't seen green in 2 weeks - UTI

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol in Chicago

Member Since 2017
After not seeing green in 2 weeks, Vet visit confirmed UTI. :eek:

Need to regroup because in my effort to understand why her numbers were getting higher and flatter, I increased dose and changed food. Adding YA Zero for grazing stopped all food fighting in multi cat household, but put my 3 civvies into a food coma for 3 days (it was like 3 days of Thanksgiving - constant over eating!). I think they are slowly getting the concept.

Vet recheck for UTI in 2 weeks after long acting AB - assume numbers will continue to be wonky for 2 weeks. :confused:

Rosie's intro: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/please-meet-rosie.175897/
 
Did your vet do a cystocentesis (needle into the bladder to get a urine specimen) along with a culture and sensitivity so you know which antibiotic is best for the UTI? Which long acting AB did the vet use?

If it's the right AB, I would not assume you won't see a rapid change in numbers.
 
Hi Sienne - Thanks for looking in on Rosie! The sample was collected via cystocentesis. The vet reported the sample contained white and red blood cells, bacteria, protein and significant glucose within about 10 minutes of "spinning" it. Based on her explanation, this was determined via machine reading and microscopic evaluation. I don't think culture was done (but not sure). The AB administered was Convenia. I recently learned about the negative reactions to Convenia, but Rosie has had this before with no negative reactions in the past.

With recheck planned in 2 weeks - should I do anything different?

Thank you!
 
I would think it takes longer than 10min to do a culture.

I believe that part of the problem with convenía is that it's not particularly effective where uti's are concerned.
 
It takes several days to do a complete urine culture to find out what antibiotic the infection is sensitive to. Convenia is not the best AB for UTIs. Although in "some" cases it may help clear a UTI many times it may have to be repeated since it does not clear the infection. Also Convenia comes with a set of warnings as far as use in kitties. Unfortunately once any AB has been given you have to wait for it to clear the system before asking for a C&S to be done. Convenia can stay in the system for several weeks after injection.
 
Thanks for inputs - Soooo Much more for me to still to learn... :bookworm:

Meanwhile, just saw highest number yet - PMPS 341. Maybe not panic for some, but this is the highest number we have seen while testing at home. Hard to know what to do when I just increased the dose and her number is higher than without insulin.

How long should I give Covenia to work until I conclude it is ineffective? Only other recent change is introduction of YA Zero.

Thanks for your guidance. The numbers had been good but now seem off track.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top