4/14 Prince AMPS 426, after PMPS 63. Dosing advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily

Member Since 2014
Hi All,

Prince is at 54 right now (PMPS). I know you are not supposed to reduce the dose until he hits 40, but I'm hesitant to give a full 2.75 right now. Should I try 2.5?

Also, what the heck is going? He was at 337 this afternoon, at his supposed nadir. I know Prince is not following the typical lantus cycle, but even so, his recent numbers have me really confused. If you wise ones out there could glance at his SS and provide insight again, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!!
 
Re: 4/13/14 Prince AMPS-293,+6-337,PMPS-54?? Dosing advice?

I'm sorry no one replied quickly. How is Prince doing?
Liz
ETA: You should get +1 and +2 tests. Do you have karo syrup and high carb food?
 
Re: 4/13/14 Prince AMPS-293,+6-337,PMPS-54?? Dosing advice?

Emily - the guideline is to reduce if kitty goes below 50, not 40. I hope you are testing at +1 and +2 as Liz suggests. When you get a surprise low like that at PS, it's best to stall, without feeding, for 20-30 minutes and test again, to make sure kitty is rising or at least surfing.

Cats can and do vary their nadir. When Neko was on Lantus she had her nadir anywhere from +3 to +13, although it was typically around +5.5 if she started lower and +9 if she started higher. That's why we suggest mixing up the tests a bit and not just getting a +6.
 
Re: 4/13/14 Prince AMPS-293,+6-337,PMPS-54?? Dosing advice?

emily, great job shooting low! i'm glad you retested to see he was either holding flat or rising. you just earned your BOS!

Liz is right, you want to get a +1 and +2 to make sure he's not dropping.

eta - wendy, just saw your post. she has a second test 20 min after the 54 on his ss that was 63 that she actually shot.
 
Re: 4/13/14 Prince AMPS-293,+6-337,PMPS-54?? Dosing advice?

Here ya go! ;-)

Balls-of-Steel-1-icon.png
 
Re: 4/13/14 Prince AMPS-293,+6-337,PMPS-54?? Dosing advice?

@Julie - I saw that Emily had stalled, just reiterating for any other lurkers here.
 
Re: 4/13/14 Prince AMPS-293,+6-337,PMPS-54?? Dosing advice?

good idea - you never know who is reading that might take something away that isn't complete info!

any update emily?
 
Hi Everyone!

Thanks for the help! I ended up not stalling, but giving a fat 2.5 dose (usual is 2.75). He shot back up to 382/368 (tested 2x in a row to make sure it wasn't an error) and was the fine the rest of the night. Is that typical? I thought it would be more of a slow creep.

Definitely no BOS here; I'm a complete worrier. However, thanks to this board, I feel like I know what to do if Prince drops and I am home! It is when I am not home that I am a mess. 2 days ago I left the house for 8 hours, the longest I have been gone, for the first time since Prince was diagnosed. I was worrying the whole time that he would randomly drop like he occasionally has while I wasn't there. He was fine when I got home :)

Should I go back up to 2.75 this morning or stick with 2.5?
 
Whenever you shoot a temporarily reduced dose, you go back to your usual dose. (BTW, we refer to that temporarily reduced dose as a "BCS" dose -- a "big chicken sh*t" dose, just in case you see the abbrevation.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top