4/14 Oscar amps 221 - up the dose again tonight?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
So his numbers are still all over the place. This morning is our 6th cycle at 0.5u. I am thinking about taking him up to .75u for tonight's dose. This sound like an appropriate plan of action? We haven't come close to greens since the dog food incident.
 
Why not do a fat .5U?

When dealing with these low doses it's better to think of increases and decreases in terms of percent than in quarter units. Going to .75U is a whole 50% increase. A fat .5U is probably more like .6U, which would be only 20% increase.

Also if you go up to .75U you'd probably have to decrease fairly soon after. If you're prepared to do that, then you could consider the .75U a jump start. I don't think it's dangerous to increase that much, it really depends on how the owner can deal with the results. You'd be fine :smile:

He's been fairly well regulated, so I'm just concerned anything too drastic would upset the apple cart.
 
I can understand that approach, but I am scared that not taking a significant increase, like to .75u, will not jump start his system again. He sometimes seems to be an all or nothing cat. Hmmmm...decisions decisions tonight.
 
I think, given his numbers over he past month, that his best dose is .5u (+/- .05u), so raising to .75u is probably not the answer.

*IF* he has another higher PS I would try the .6u first. He isn't that far off now, just barely above renal threshold on a few occasions. You have a 148 mid cycle that could be leading to a nice low 100s PS... so, you have a ? on making that decision right now anyway. Look at the 30th - 1st to see how that pattern evolved into 68 PS on .5u.
 
The numbers right now cannot be compared to those of last month. He got a good handful of dog kibble a few days ago and ever since then his numbers have been high and all over the place. I am trying to get his body back in line so I can bring the dose back down to where it was before the hubby induced incident ;-)

If he comes down close to 100 or so for the evening's preshot, then I will hold steady or maybe inch up the dose, but if he goes back up, I will probably take it back up to 0.75u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top