4/14 Morris AMPS 346; +9 247; PMPS 284; +2 380

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Active Member
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11872

Yesterday, there was some discussion about whether Morris is getting too much or not enough insulin. What I would like to know is, if this was YOUR cat & your goal was REGULATION what would you do? Increase or decrease?

There are some very experienced people on this board when it comes to dosing questions & I am very hopeful that some of them will chime in on this (Jill, Sienne, Libby, CD, Carolyn). I truly value their opinions! Some days, other very helpful people come along to condo as well & I welcome their input as well.

Just a reminder.....I will be enjoying a nice 3-day weekend this week! I have taken Fri off work, so I will have 3 solid days where I can do lots of testing.

WCR: Morris was back to his grumpy, inpatient self this morning. Calling to me while I was still in the shower telling me to hurry up already! All P's are working just fine!

WBR: Is it Thursday yet?!?!?! :smile:
 
Re: 4/14 Morris AMPS 346 - important question

IMHO, I'd take advantage of your long weekend and get data. What the numbers tell you is the best way to make a decision about how much insulin is needed. Because you need to work, it's hard to extrapolate and fill in the blanks. My hunch is that you need more insulin but I'd like to see some mid-cycle test info.
 
Re: 4/14 Morris AMPS 346 - important question

Hi Gwen,

I am not a dose expert, I've only been at this for 5 months. I'm here to give you a cyber hug and say OMG, I see what you mean after looking at your SS. I'm glad you are asking for help because his numbers are all over the place. I do see that you don't test much in mid-cycle, so you definitely need more tests to see what's happening then. I work too and it definitely makes things more challenging. Hopefully with more mid-cycle testing the brilliant folks here can help you come up with a plan.
Hang in there!
 
Re: 4/14 Morris AMPS 346 - important question

If he were my cat, I'd have his teeth checked. I would make sure my insulin was not over 28 days old. I wouldn't have reduced the dose on 4/13. When I saw the 4/13, +10 of 293, I'd presume the number was generated from bouncing from the green and the dose reduction. I would have shot at that +10. I would raise dose back to 2.75 tonight, take advantage of this 3-day weekend by testing every two hours unless it was in flat pinks then I'd do every 3-4 hours or whatever the last number told me to do. If I continued to see pink I'd shoot early by a +10 or a +11 depending on the numbers I was seeing. You arrived at this dose the proper way, I think it is fair to say he's close to the right dose. Remember this is me and my cat not anyone elses.
 
Re: 4/14 Morris AMPS 346 - important question

Thanks for the input! I will plan on moving back up to the 2.75u dose this evening & keep him there while I collect more data. I am helping at my daughter's school for a bit Fri AM & will also be out for awhile on Sat AM, but I will get lots of testing done when I am home. I will also forgo my sleeping pills & set my alarm for some middle of the night checks too. I would appreciate if some of you helpful people check in with us over the weekend to see how we are doing & provide further input!

You guys are so terrific! Thanks ever so much for helping us out!
 
Re: 4/14 Morris AMPS 346 - important question

Wishing you good luck with the dosecrease and the 3 day checks....have you had his teeth looked at as D mentioned?
 
Re: 4/14 Morris AMPS 346 - important question

OOPS! I guess I forgot to mention about his teeth. A vet in our clinic (not our regular vet) looked at his teeth when we were there in Feb (when he was dx with p~itis). She said there were a couple of spots she saw that may be causing him problems, but wanted to rule out other things before recommending a dental for him. Then, the labwork came back saying he had p~itis & we proceeded to treat him for that. He has been eating fine ever since, so we have not discussed his teeth again. Perhaps I will ask the vet tech to take another look at them when I take him to the clinic on Fri to have him weighed.
 
Re: 4/14 Morris AMPS 346 - important question

Luck is a LL kitty who's vet said DID NOT need a dental, K got one anyway, Luck went OTJ soon after that.
I mention that because, what might not seem like a big deal actually could be the road block to getting better numbers.
 
Re: 4/14 Morris AMPS 346; +9 247

Yes...as D said....the dental is very important. There can be underlying infection or plaque that can affect things so I would think a dental would be a good thing to look into.
Nice number tonight! :thumbup
 
Re: 4/14 Morris AMPS 346; +9 247

I just love Morris' picture & he sounds like such a character. I think he and Lanky must be cousins. Lanky send him good vibes!
 
Went ahead & gave the dosecrease back up to 2.75u tonight as we discussed earlier today.

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I would think a dental would be a good thing to look into.
I will ask my vet about it on Fri when I take Morris in to be weighed.

sehjak (Susan & Lanky) said:
I just love Morris' picture & he sounds like such a character. I think he and Lanky must be cousins. Lanky send him good vibes!
Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top