4/14 Jackson AMPS 389 +1.5 367 +11 80 +12 79 +13 71 +14 83 +15 89 +16 109 PMPS (+17) 149

Hour past shot time and he’s 71. Sigh.

On the plus side, he’s purry and comfortable. He’s utilizing sugar and not even acting hungry. On the negative side, I still can’t shoot.
 
At +14, he’d come up a little after some 12% food, but is dipping down again. As much as I really hate to do it, because he will eventually spike high in reaction, we may be having to look at a skip…

I just looked closely at the graph data from before the sensor died, figured out about when he passed 250, then 150, then 100. It looks like he’s actually been green since about +7. …..Wow…. Not sure whether to be impressed, or concerned - not about the green numbers because they are obviously stable for now (have been for hours), but just… what happened? So confused. o_O:cool::cat:
 
Last edited:
Looks like he earned a reduction today. Good news is that bounce from last night hardly lasted any time at all.

How is Jackson feeling/acting these days?
 
I admit, I’m kinda afraid to give him a reduction though, after he was running so high! Heh. Actually, today’s numbers I now suspect may be the result of a slight increase… I realized looking at the syringe I had preloaded for tonight that my eyeballing was a little off this morning, and I think I’ve been giving something more like a fat 2.25 or skinny 2.5 the past couple of days.

At 3 hours past when he was supposed to get his shot, he’s still in the 80s. If barely. He’s basically been super level for about 7 hours now.

He’s been acting… normal. Not real energetic because he rarely is, kinda crabby because he’s got a new cat he’s dealing with having to deal with (could that have anything to do with it too?), purry and snuggly with me… just normal. The only difference tonight, is that he’s been a lot less hungry.
 
At this point, I think I’m just hoping that he stays level a while longer and doesn’t spike up (without insulin) too long before morning shot time. I’m very confident he’s not going much lower. I mean, he hasn’t yet. Been going on 8 hours now.

In fact, he’s so stable that I wonder if really I should leave the dose. (Though I’d really like to see him come up a little more than this at pre-shot time.) I mean, if we were following TR, he’d be only just low enough. Right? I know, I’m not following TR and that changes things, just… it’s progress and it’s hard to want to mess with the first progress seen in a while…
 
@Wendy&Neko , actually I have a question now. Jackson is starting back up, though still gradually. Is +4 (he’s at 109) too late to shoot? Might be tough to walk it back (unless he bounces and stays bounced). But I also don’t want him to skyrocket… then again, if he’s going to, will getting the shot actually do anything to stop that? I certainly don’t want to drive him down further, though I’m very comfortable with him in this 80-100 range he’s had going.
 
Okay, so - this is what I finally did. At almost +5 (about +4.75) after his usual dose time, he’s risen to 149. I’m concerned about him not having any insulin. But it’s so late that if I give the full dose it’ll put him way off schedule. So I finally gave 1.5 units. Normal dose tomorrow AM.
 
His numbers started to rise as the impact of the depot started to wear off. Tomorrow's scheduled shot time would be 12 hours after tonight's shot. You don't want to shoot again in 7 hours at your usual time. Another option with things this late, though not ideal, is to do his next shot 18 hours later. That'll put you closer to being back on schedule. 2 18 hour cycles are a technique used in unusual circumstances, when ketones are not much of a concern. I did it once for Neko. For anyone reading/lurking, this is only recommended if there is no other solution.
 
Back
Top