4/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 +11.5=308 PMPS=293 +2=214 +5=113

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308

I want to thank Linda, Randi and LLEF for all of their help. I couldn't do it without you.
I picked up the prescriptions from the pharmacy.
The vet wants DC taking 1/4 Metronidazole & 2mg Ondansetron twice a day for 3 days.
Also Amoxicillin twice a day.
I need to up the SubQ fluids to 50mg 5 times a day until he is hydrated.
If he is starting to feel better tomorrow, I can reduce the Ondansetron to 1mg.
DC has stopped drooling and he looks much better than he did a few hours ago.
He still has liquipoo all over the place. He is peeing in the litterbox.
I gave him the meds except the Amoxicillin about 1/2 hour ago as well as 50mg SubQ.
The Amoxicillin needs to be crushed into food and the vet suggested waiting an hour or two after the Ondansetron before syringe feeding him with it.
I'm thinking that if his numbers are still in the 300's I should increase the dose a bit tonight.
I'd like to know what the experts think? Tonight will be the 6th dose @ 0.25u
I will update through the evening as I can.
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308

Sending hugs and scritches - and firmer poo vines. Hope your boy is back on track soon.
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 question

I'm glad I got here late enough to hear DC is improving!

Hang in there, handsome boy!

positive thoughts and healing energy from us...

celi, binks, smudge, and annie

reiki-healing.jpg
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 question

Hang in there Noreen :YMHUG: We are all pulling for DC.

I can't advise on the dose but I can talk about meds all day. :lol: Metronidazole and Amoxicillin are both antibiotics - are they suspecting infection? Metronidazole is often used for GI issues/infections, so I am mostly wondering about the amoxicillin. Amoxicillin is notorious for causing diarrhea - and you are already having this problem, so you may want to get some Fortiflora if you don't already have it on board. Metronidazole can help with infection-related diarrhea, but it is very bitter - causes many kitties to drool if they bite into it in the pill pocket. Just a heads up, it's not dangerous or anything. :smile:

Really glad you got some Zofran (ondansetron), it works miracles for nausea!! Drooling can be a sign of nausea, so I hope this is just the ticket for DC.
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 question

Hi Noreen,
Good luck with the new meds and the meds schedule! That's a lot to remember. So glad to hear that the meds are working and that DC is feeling better this evening. Thinking positive thoughts here,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 question

Get better soon DC!
Is the antibiotics also causing the liquid poo?
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 question

You did great today, Noreen, working with the vet and the pharmacy to get the meds for DC so quickly. I am hopeful that the Ondansetron, in particular, will help. I always used a dose of 1 mg twice daily. I can't second guess your vet, though. I am hopeful that the Metronidazole will help also. I'm glad to hear that he seems to be doing a bit better. I am a bit nervous about the Amoxicillin, but let's keep our fingers crossed that everything comes together and helps.

On behalf of the LLEF committee, I want to thank all of the generous donors who have contributed to the fundraiser for DC. You all made it possible for us to get the meds into Noreen's hands today. I am so proud of, and grateful for, the generous people here in Lantus Land.
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 question

I just received a message from the vet.
She is suggesting I hold off on the Amoxicillin until tomorrow and then touch base with them before giving it to DC.
I also forgot to mention how nice the small community of Wainwright Alberta where I am for a few days is.
While at the pharmacy getting the meds, the pharmacist suggested I stop by the hospital and go to the emergency area to let the nurse there know what was going on with DC.
I went to the hospital and spoke to the nurse. She sent me home with 2 bags of the SubQ fluids DC is getting and some of the butterfly needles.
She didn't charge me a thing.
Again thanks to everyone who has helped DC get the care and meds he needs and for all the mental support for me.
It's not often I get stressed, except where my babies are concerned. The only ones I have are the furbabies.
You are all terrific.
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 question

tortie58 said:
Get better soon DC!
Is the antibiotics also causing the liquid poo?
He hasn't been taken anything for the past few days other than the Cerenia which he finished yesterday and 1/4 pepcid twice a day. Also the SubQ fluids.
I think it might have something to do with him not eating his regular food. When he started eating again, he wouldn't eat any of his normal food so I was feeding whatever he would eat.
Maybe the mix was hard on his tummy. He's been eating EVO kibble, Wellness kibble, Medi-Cal Recovery that I was syringe feeding and some flavors of Friskies and Fancy Feast that he won't normally eat.
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 question

Noreen&DC&Frisky said:
I just received a message from the vet.
She is suggesting I hold off on the Amoxicillin until tomorrow and then touch base with them before giving it to DC.

That sounds good.
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 question

I'm just wondering if any of the dosing experts have an opinion about DC's dose?
I'd like to increase it a bit. He's been on 0.25 for 5 shots now, tonight would be the 6th.
The numbers have been pretty high for the past 4 days.
I'm just concerned because of the fact that he hasn't eaten anything for most of the day and I will have to syringe feed him again.
I will be using the Medi-Cal Recovery.
I have about 25 min until shot time.
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 question

Do you have any probiotic? FortiFlora can help if you can get it relatively quickly. The vet may have it. I've typically ordered it on-line. Other probiotics are possibilities. If DC will eat yogurt with active cultures, that may also help with the diarrhea.
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 dose question

I'd want to take his dose up, too, Noreen. It's a tough one because he needs more insulin right now and you don't want to put him at risk for DKA. But you have to be able to get food in him....not only for his liver health and for the insulin but also to avoid DKA. Infection + too little insulin + not enough food/water can cause it. If he lets you syringe him, I'd increase and just be sure you get plenty of calories in him.

IMHO. Sending him vines.
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 question

Sienne and Gabby said:
Do you have any probiotic? FortiFlora can help if you can get it relatively quickly. The vet may have it. I've typically ordered it on-line. Other probiotics are possibilities. If DC will eat yogurt with active cultures, that may also help with the diarrhea.
I don't have FortiFlora and there isn't a vet around that's open.
I might be able to find yogurt with active cultures but not until morning.
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 dose question

I forgot to answer your dose question. I'd raise the dose. These are atypical numbers for DC and there's no reason for him to sit in this range. While you're dealing with the pancreatitis, especially with numbers above 300, you may want to consider evaluating his dose every 4 cycles. Also, keep in mind that once the ABs kick in or once DC starts feeling better, numbers can come down in a hurry.
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 dose question

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I'd want to take his dose up, too, Noreen. It's a tough one because he needs more insulin right now and you don't want to put him at risk for DKA. But you have to be able to get food in him....not only for his liver health and for the insulin but also to avoid DKA. Infection + too little insulin + not enough food/water can cause it. If he lets you syringe him, I'd increase and just be sure you get plenty of calories in him.

IMHO. Sending him vines.
I can syringe feed him. I think I will up the dose by 0.25u to 0.5u
I can syringe feed every hour if need be.
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 dose question

Sienne and Gabby said:
I forgot to answer your dose question. I'd raise the dose. These are atypical numbers for DC and there's no reason for him to sit in this range. While you're dealing with the pancreatitis, especially with numbers above 300, you may want to consider evaluating his dose every 4 cycles. Also, keep in mind that once the ABs kick in or once DC starts feeling better, numbers can come down in a hurry.
Thanks for the response. I am going to increase to 0.5u and I will monitor him closely.
 
Re: 3/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 +11.5=308 PMPS=293 +2=214

I increased DC's insulin to 0.5u for his PM shot.
Syringe fed 10cc Medi-Cal Recovery after PM shot & @ PM +2.
So far he has kept it down and hasn't had any liquid-poo since just before his PM shot.
He's been drinking water and I've increased his SubQ fluids.
I also had to give him a bath because he was totally covered in his liquid-poo, poor baby.
He was actually pretty good throughout the cleaning and after he laid on a towel on the bathroom floor beside the heat vent until he was dry.
He's looking much better than he did a few hours ago. He even purred a little and cuddled with me after I syringe fed him.
Now he is laying on the bed on a heated blanket sleeping.
 
Re: 4/14 DC AMPS=383 +4=308 +11.5=308 PMPS=293 +2=214

I must be really stressed. I just realized that I had the date as 3/14 for the entire day.
I've now corrected it. Sorry for any confusion it may have caused.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top