4/14, CLEO-PMPS, 206;+1,221;+3.5,243;+5.5,290-skipped am

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cleo & Jane (GA)

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=93170 CLEO'S CONDO

Should I wait 30 and test again? I work on Monday, so the latest I could give her AM shot is 7am. And I will not get home till 5:30-5:45 every day , so will not be able to test in between till next weekend :(

I don't know if it is good thing that she is this low this am.
 
Re: 4/14, AMPS 117

Its scary to see a number lower than you have seen before. I would stall, like you said and retest (without giving food) to see if the numbers are still falling or if they are headed up.

I can't give shooting advice, but some things to consider: Are you going to be home today to get extra tests? Do you have lots of testing supplies? Do you have MC/HC food and or honey/karo syrup? Have you seen the sticky about what to do with low numbers? http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Good luck with whatever you decide to do. You may want to put the question in your subject line, so that the experts will see it and be able to give you advice.
 
Re: 4/14, AMPS 117, +1,101

AMPS-117, +1, 101

I held her insulin, and she ate her FFLC breakfast after +1 test.

Hope I made a good decision. I will be in and out today, babysitting DGS for a few hours also. Cleo will NEVER come out when he is here. But, she appears magically after the door closes behind him LOL. I will not be able to test as much as yesterday. Any thoughts on what the most important times I should try to get in?

Thanks - Hoping all have a smooth day~
 
Re: 4/14, AMPS 117, +1,101

Good morning! It gets frustrating doesn't it? Everything will be ok. I hope you have a good day, and don't forget to put your kitties name in the subject line. ;-)
 
Re: 4/14, AMPS 117, +1,101

I think you made a good choice, since you won't be able to monitor closely. Have a good day.
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-AMPS 117, +1,101,NEWBIE

Yes, confusing and scary. I realize I should not have fed her yet. But, if you have to shoot every 12 hours, the latest I can give insulin is 7 am due to work. I had a bad first day on this board, followed my vet's instructions, and ended up almost hypo. And I was pretty stupid too :( But, Cleo and I are learning together, and we will work it all out in the end. :smile:
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-AMPS 117, +1,101,NEWBIE

Hi Jane and Cleo! You two are doing great! Don't think you were stoopid. You asked for help and kept Cleo safe. Are you skipping this morning? If you are you should note it on Cleo's ss and in your subject line. Take good care have a great day
Eta...whoops. you already did it. Have a great day
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-AMPS 117, +1,101,HELD AM SHOT:NEWBIE

Hi Jane - yeah, it's hard to decide about skipping a shot sometimes, but you did the right thing, especially since you have to work and can't monitor and can't shoot after a certain point.

I would get a couple earlier tests to see where the bottom of the curve is and when Cleo starts to rise. That will give you an idea where Cleo was going to go, and you get an idea where insulin would have taken you if you'd shot.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-AMPS 117, +1,101,HELD AM SHOT:97@+2.75;NEWBIE

97 @ +2.75; Cleo ate about 1/2 can at +1, and has been grazing on and off since.

I tested the meter on myself,and it appears to be working correctly. I will test as often as I can today.
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-AMPS 117, +1,101,HELD AM SHOT:97@+2.75;NEWBIE

Morning Jane,
when you skip a shot, your am number is now your AMBG which indicates you didn't shoot.. am ps stands for preshot...


Nice numbers for Cleo... so far. Hope she doesn't fly up high....
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-AMBG-117, +1,101,HELD AM SHOT:97@+2.75;NEWBIE

I hope I didn't do her wrong too. I am so afraid of a hypo, and I won't be able to test alot today. Just was not sure what to do. I will test as long and as often as I can.
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-AMBG-117, +1,101,HELD AM SHOT:97@+2.75;NEWBIE

Since you skipped, she 's just still using up the juice in her shed. She 'll be good. 97 and 101 are close enough to be the same number.... That's a nice surf she's got going.
If you need to go off for a while, just give her another dish of low carb to keep her happy while you're gone or put it with her in her hiding place while DGS is around....
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-AMBG-117, +1,101,HELD AM SHOT:97@+2.75;NEWBIE

Jane, you are doing great this morning. Yay for blue and green! :mrgreen: I think you did exactly the right thing to skip. She was low and dropping and you needed to stay on schedule.
Liz
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-AMBG-117, +1,101,HELD AM SHOT:97@+2.75;NEWBIE

Will I give her insulin at about 5 - 5:45 PM as usual? What I mean is, since I skipped this am, would I ever give her insulin earlier?

Should I have given it to her this am, even though I couldn't test all day? I am so worried (sick to my stomach really) thinking about leaving her ALL DAY tomorrow. But, I have to go to work. It was almost easier before she was diagnosed. At least then, I was ignorant :(
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-AMBG-117, +1,101,HELD AM SHOT:97@+2.75;NEWBIE

You can give her the shot tonite at her usual time or if you needed to adjust it a little, you can do that to. When you skip , you can pick a new time... all depending on your schedule.

Skipping isn't the worst thing... it's the same as a furshot ( especially when you know you missed) ...
and it give you new data ... more learning of how Cleo reacts...

when you can't be around, it's always best to play it safe.... afterall, you can take the insulin back out after you shoot....
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-AMBG-117, +1,101,HELD AM SHOT:97@+2.75;NEWBIE

Since you skipped, you can give the shot at any time tonight. The Monday morning shot will need to be 12 hours later so I would just go with her regular shot time tonight. You could shoot up to 30 mins early if she's high tonight.

Could you change your subject line to this?
4/14, CLEO-AMBG-117, +1 101,+2 97;SKIPPED NEWBIE

It is really hard to leave them and be worried. Does Cleo have a good appetite? Will she free feed? You can freeze cat food in ice cube trays and leave those out for her. You can also get an autofeeder. Will the other cats eat her food? It will get easier as you get more data on the weekends to see what her curves generally look like.

On New Year's Eve 2011, we were very worried about Zener and he told me "more petting, less worry". So that is my New Year's resolution every year. Thank you for reminding me of that! :-D

Cleo has only been on insulin for a week. You are both making amazing progress!
Liz
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-AMBG-117, +1,101,HELD AM SHOT:97@+2.75;NEWBIE

You did fine!!

As of yesterday, the lowest you'd shot was a 211. You've just started to collect data with Cleo in blues and greens so fundamentally, you have very limited data regarding whether to shoot. Shooting low requires that you be data ready, that you have the appropriate supplies on hand, and if you can be there to monitor.

I think most of us would have skipped if we couldn't have been home to monitor. Had I not been sleeping, I would have suggested that you skip if you couldn't be home to test. Might Cleo lose some momentum? Maybe. Will she be safe? Yes -- and that's the most important factor in making a decision about whether to give a shot.

This evening you would shoot at your preferred time.
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-AMBG-117, +1,101,+2.75-97;+4.5-115;SKIPPED NE

+4.5, 115

It is so frustrating to not be able to test during the week. I wish I could be home. The good thing is Cleo is a good eater. I can always leave out food, and right now everyone is on FF LC. My skinny boy is the hard food lover, so I have been keeping some of his "junk food" in a place Cleo cannot reach. She always preferred wet, but does like her crunchy treats.

My hubby is off tomorrow, but he will not test (yet). I am hoping he will agree to try eventually, but I won't push him. He loves her, but takes time to get used to things. He is still in shock over the vet bills and insulin cost. And he shouldn't be. We have had pets our whole married life. He was the one who took her to the vet last Friday, waited a long time for lab results, which turned out to be good, cause I was able to race there after work and actually talk to the covering vet.

Hubby is a good daddy to our furbabies, and he is feeling that helpless feeling. Cleo was so healthy and now we have to face the fact that she is 15 years old, and even when we control the diabetes, she is still 15 y/o.

So, yes, she will be able to eat all day tomorrow. Hubby is babysitting from 10 am to 2 pm, but we will put Cleo's food in her hiding room, with a litter box. DH will at least be able to observe.

I will try to get one more test in around noon before I have to leave.

Thanks for the encouraging words - they really help!
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-AMBG-117, +1,101,+2.75-97;+4.5-115;SKIPPED NE

It took me a long time to test and shoot Zener too. I gave him his first shot when Anne had emergency gall bladder surgery. I still remember my hands shaking. :lol: :lol: DH (Dear Husband) will come around. We've all been in your shoes and know how hard it is. Big hugs to you, Jane.
Liz
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-PMPS, 206; AM SKIPPED- NEWBIE

+9.5 - 166; PMPS - 206, gave her usual 1 U.

Would it have been appropriate for me to give her a lower dose of insulin this AM, or would that have messed us up ever more? I will take a few more tests before bed, but I have to try to get in bed earlier. I am drained.

Thank you
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-PMPS, 206;+1,221- AM SKIPPED- NEWBIE

Honestly? It's a judgement call. The difficulty with shooting a reduced dose is that the reduction doesn't necessarily take effect during the same cycle. Sometimes, the depot kicks in and you see the effect of the reduction the following cycle. So, in theory, shooting some insulin is better than shooting no insulin. However, if you can't be there to monitor, it's probably best to skip especially if it's the first time you're faced with shooting a lower than usual number.
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-PMPS, 206;+1,221;+3.5,243-AM SKIPPED- NEWBIE

She'll recover from the skipped shot. I think you have to try the different options and see what happens. Then you can decide which one you dislike the least. :lol: :lol: Looks like Cleo is getting a pokey break tonight.
Liz
 
Re: 4/14, CLEO-PMPS, 206;+1,221;+3.5,243-AM SKIPPED- NEWBIE

Hi Jane & Cleo

It sounds like you and I had a similar bad experience with the vetty right off the bat. I'm sorry. And I totally feel your anxiety and stress about leaving your baby home while away at work. I was the same way with Mego when I had to go back to work. I was so scared that I came home on my lunch breaks just to test and make sure he was ok. You seem to be doing great. The experts here won't lead you astray - in fact, I listened to them and not my vet. After all, the vet gave me the wrong syringes and FDMB got Mego OTJ. I chose to trust FDMB! :-D Keep up the good work and you did the right thing keeping Cleo safe this morning. We look forward to watching your progress. :-D
 
+5.5, 290

She is really fighting me on the testing tonight. Took 45 minutes to "gently" chase her down. Ate some FFLC after the test, and got a good rubdown. Hoping tomorrow goes smoothly while I am at work. DH will be home to keep an eye on things, but he will not be testing :(

I wish I could come home for lunch, but we only have 1/2 hour, and it would be impossible. Hopefully, I will be able to get out a little early on Wed. to get an extra test or two in, but that is not guaranteed.

Next weekend, I will do a mini curve, and not chicken out on Sunday if her numbers are green. So far, I should be home all weekend and able to monitor.

Thank you all again, I am off to bed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top