4/14 Checkers pmps 338 +2/320

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68635

Checkers still feels good, despite living on the pink floor lately.
Thurs morn he didn't get shot 'cause of dental appt to have suture removed.
Yesterday I believe his amps was high due to my leaving kibble out overnite. Well, the little bowl was out, so I'm assuming there was kibble in it, when I left the room.

Why do I keep giving dry at all? Because one civvie pukes wet, and the other gets diarrhea from it.
I guess I need to keep a log of who gets sick from which flavor......and avoid just those.

Thank you for visiting Checks condo. I try to get to others....sometimes just can't. I love you all.
 
Re: 4/14 Checkers amps 334 +2/309

The Battle of the Bowls....it's not easy, is it Barb?
Well, hugs to you and Checkers...guess he doesn't mind when you leave the dry out ...LOL
 
Re: 4/14 Checkers amps 334 +2/309 +4/258 +6/332

Would that just be kibble or kibble soaked in karo? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

(referring to the day you told me you just leave a bowl of karo out for him at night ;-) ;-) :razz: :razz: :razz: ).

Down you go Checkers, my boy!!

Thanks, Barb, for your Tobey birthday wishes!! And yes....we are very happy about Gracie's cycles but shhhhhhhhh...don't tell her or Mr. P or Mr. L. ;-)
 
Re: 4/14 Checkers amps 334 +2/309 +4/258 +6/332

oh yes.... I can so relate to the battle of the bowls... all of mine are on different diets. and Mannie does not care that he should not eat the bowls marked: "Mannie: these are a no no: get your nose out of this bowl" He says it's not his fault....

I hope Checks is doing well, that the suture removal went well. Sorry I have been so MIA. Sometimes there just isn't enough hours in the day.

Have a great day today!
 
Re: 4/14 Checkers amps 334 +2/309 +4/258 +6/332

I think Checks is just amping up for some action in the future. He wants to make sure you are fully rested.

What kind of kibble do you feed the civies?

When you feed wet, have you tried things that are grain free or novel proteins? The gluten could be causing the vomit/runny poo.
If you tried the above, than scratch the above suggestion. :mrgreen:

Hope your weekend is going well, Barb!
 
Re: 4/14 Checkers pmps 338

I sure hope all this pink means a break soon. This is getting to me.

I skipped shot on 4/12 AM, because of dentist visit., otherwise he's been on 0.75 for 8 cycles.
I think he got into dry yesterday, but that would be long cleared.

Raise to 1unit tomorrow?

:lol: @Marje.

Carolyn, I don't know for sure which flavors make the civvies upset. I haven't kept track. It's different flavors of Friskies.
 
Re: 4/14 Checkers pmps 338

A skipped shot generally means you have to start the countdown again so I think it's the patience pants for you Barb.

But Checkers - that was a dosecrease threat so you better fill your shed and get back to work post haste buddy!

Luckily with a rabbit and a cat I have no issues with either wanting to partake of the other ones food, although Meg rabbit does like to try and take a hunk out of Vyktor on occasion :roll:
 
Re: 4/14 Checkers pmps 338

Barb...when I stopped feeding Latte friskies (poultry platter was her favorite), and started feeding grain free and/or novel protein (duck, venison, rabbit) she stopped vomiting for almost a year! Then her ibd progressed and she needed more than just a diet change. I know a lot of people feed friskies and are ok with it. I just felt like it made Latte so sick, I could never ever buy it for a cat again.

You could try the grain free wellness, grain free fancy feast, natural balance (duck/pea, venison/pea, chicken/pea), instinct (regular and novel proteins), etc. There are quite a few choices out there.

Maybe feeding evo, instinct, or core dry would raise checkers BG a little less if he got into that.
 
Re: 4/14 Checkers pmps 338

Ok checks .. today is almost over .. tomorrow starts a brand new row on the SS .. let's focus on some blues and greens ... you can do it!!
 
Re: 4/14 Checkers pmps 338

Hi Barb,
Isn't it always the case that when there's one thing, there's always another and another? Skipped shot, kibble, fur shot, whatever. That's just the way it is. Checks will get out of those pinks soon. How's his mouth after the stitch was removed.

Thanks for contributing to my "Bupe Condo" today. I finally got it all figured out, but Rusty seemed good this afternoon and I haven't given any yet.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend. Stu always enjoyed his snacks of EVO dry.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/14 Checkers pmps 338

Oh Barb, I can so relate to the kibble issue. I have been trying for years to convince my entire heard to go off kibbles, but I've got a few that just absolutely refuse to have anything to do with wet. I've tried every single one of Dr Lisa's suggestions to convert them...and then some. Heck, at one point I was actually scooping kibbles into mush and serving it on a plate like an appetizer!!! The things we do. But I literally have couple that will starve themselves before eating wet food. I've had to compromise and feed them "high quality" grain-free kibble...and they still have digestive issues. There's really not much more I can do...I know how you feel. At this point, I just pray that they don't become diabetic. Fortunately, Trix has no problem with an all-wet diet...although she does not object if DopeyBean accidentally leaves a bowl of kibble within her reach :lol: !

I hope you guys ar having a great night!
 
Thank you everybody for the contributions. I can change brand of wet for the civvies. It doesn't have to be Friskies, but it has to come from the supermarket, 'cause that's what's available to me on a consistent basis.
And Checkers has to be able to eat it also.(if he gets into it, not regularly)

I'm getting suspicious of this vial of insulin. I got it on 4/2. After all this time, I can't bring it back and claim it's no good.
Oh, to see yellow again. :YMSIGH:
 
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Lil Orphan Annie still insists she must have crunchies-
and she still could gain a pound or two IMHO...
So "what Annie wants- Annie GETS!!"

Hoping you are feeling better, barb!

And Checkers...come down please, you little poop!
 
Thanks for visiting our condo today, Barb. A multi-cat household can be a challenge at feeding time -- both of mine eat wet, but they don't like the same foods. :roll: Hoping you see yellow tomorrow -- come on Checks, you can do it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top