4/14 Boots +11 401 amps 392

Status
Not open for further replies.

lizwardia

Member
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11910
maybe this worked?
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11853 yesterday's stuff ~O)
Would you look at that, 1 unit brought the numbers down! I'm thinking I should stick with 1 again and see how he looks over the day. I fed him at 7:30 and will do amps at 8. OK amps 392 after food. 1 unit???
 
yeah - you're spreadsheet works and is visible for all to see. Good job getting it up!

Regarding holding or changing doses - please read these general guidelines about that:


"General" Guidelines:

--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.


Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

--- If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

--- Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.


Random Notes...
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.

A "cycle" refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in one day when shooting twice a day.

Sometimes a dose will need to be "fine tuned" by adding some "fat" or "skinny-ing up" the dose.


There are some circumstances such as ketones present, an unusually low preshot number, a caregiver leaving the cat with a sitter, relatively high flat curves, loss of appetite, infection, a schedule change, ability to monitor, etc. which may call for adjustments to these guidelines.


To find this detailed information, please go here:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

hope this helps -
 
Yes - shoot the 1.0u. The idea is to have depleted Boots' shed sufficiently that we can see how a consistent 1.0u dose is working.

For future reference, don't feed within 2 hours prior to shot time. You don't want your pre-shot (PS) test to be influenced by food. If the numbers are low, food will disguise that. Most of us test, feed, then shoot all within a few minutes of each other.

Not to damper your enthusiasm but your +11 and AMPS are pretty much the same number. The pink just looks lots better on the SS than a red! Meters have an inherent amount of measurement error/variance -- anywhere from 10 - 20%.
 
The link is just copy and paste right? Mine doesn't turn blue. I tried it a number of times with no luck.
I'm feeling good about the 1, we'll see what happens.
Thank you for the dosing instructions, I'll see what kind of curve I get.
 
Morning Liz, (that is your name/)

you have to copy the whole URL from "http://www......." to the end
In the composition window for the new condo you will see a row of buttons just above the main text box.
Click on the URL button You will see this ""inserted in the text box.
Your insertion point (cursor) should be blinking between the 2 sets of brackets, if not put it there.
Paste the URL that you copied at the insertion point, then move your cursor beyond the last bracket.

Patience , this all takes a little tim. You're doing great.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top