Skyynett
Member Since 2022
4/11 thread - https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...2-5-3-69-53-3-25-63-3-75.261889/#post-2936617
Happy Wednesday @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Wendy&Neko + everyone!
Nellie was bouncing yesterday for most of the day and we had a bit of an episode last night for our PM shot where it seemed like she wasn't going to eat. Her BG was at 199 and initially refused to have dinner. I managed to coax her into eating just a bit, but I was nervous about giving the full shot. I reduced to what I thought was the last dose that kept her safe (2 U) when she wasn't eating too much, but I reviewed my spreadsheet again and I realize she did this on the current 2.25 and was ok
She ate fine during the night starting at +4 (mix of MC and HC - was trying to get her to eat) and she is eating fine today (back to LC) and AM was the current 2.25. My theory is that we are slowly trying out new proteins and at times she gets an upset stomach resulting in loose stool + she has always been extremely picky eater. I've picked up some fortiflora and she seems to really like it so I hope this helps moving forward.
I have two questions:
1) is there a minimum amount of food that is recommended a cat eats before insulin, like half a 3oz can, or 2 tablespoons, or what have you? I'm trying to prepare for when this happens again, which is soon I'm sure based on how she operates. I did read the convo in the think tank channel talking about how no eating should not equal no insulin and I'm just trying to fine a good balance moving forward.
2) She's been flirting with greens on this dose and then bounces- should I increase or keep her on it a little bit longer? I know she's been on it technically what is 12 cycles as of this am.
Thank you!
Happy Wednesday @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Wendy&Neko + everyone!
Nellie was bouncing yesterday for most of the day and we had a bit of an episode last night for our PM shot where it seemed like she wasn't going to eat. Her BG was at 199 and initially refused to have dinner. I managed to coax her into eating just a bit, but I was nervous about giving the full shot. I reduced to what I thought was the last dose that kept her safe (2 U) when she wasn't eating too much, but I reviewed my spreadsheet again and I realize she did this on the current 2.25 and was ok

She ate fine during the night starting at +4 (mix of MC and HC - was trying to get her to eat) and she is eating fine today (back to LC) and AM was the current 2.25. My theory is that we are slowly trying out new proteins and at times she gets an upset stomach resulting in loose stool + she has always been extremely picky eater. I've picked up some fortiflora and she seems to really like it so I hope this helps moving forward.
I have two questions:
1) is there a minimum amount of food that is recommended a cat eats before insulin, like half a 3oz can, or 2 tablespoons, or what have you? I'm trying to prepare for when this happens again, which is soon I'm sure based on how she operates. I did read the convo in the think tank channel talking about how no eating should not equal no insulin and I'm just trying to fine a good balance moving forward.
2) She's been flirting with greens on this dose and then bounces- should I increase or keep her on it a little bit longer? I know she's been on it technically what is 12 cycles as of this am.
Thank you!
Last edited: