4/13 Nellie AMPS 194 +2 153 +3 +145 +4 117 +5 90

Skyynett

Member Since 2022
4/11 thread - https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...2-5-3-69-53-3-25-63-3-75.261889/#post-2936617

Happy Wednesday @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Wendy&Neko + everyone!

Nellie was bouncing yesterday for most of the day and we had a bit of an episode last night for our PM shot where it seemed like she wasn't going to eat. Her BG was at 199 and initially refused to have dinner. I managed to coax her into eating just a bit, but I was nervous about giving the full shot. I reduced to what I thought was the last dose that kept her safe (2 U) when she wasn't eating too much, but I reviewed my spreadsheet again and I realize she did this on the current 2.25 and was ok :banghead:

She ate fine during the night starting at +4 (mix of MC and HC - was trying to get her to eat) and she is eating fine today (back to LC) and AM was the current 2.25. My theory is that we are slowly trying out new proteins and at times she gets an upset stomach resulting in loose stool + she has always been extremely picky eater. I've picked up some fortiflora and she seems to really like it so I hope this helps moving forward.

I have two questions:
1) is there a minimum amount of food that is recommended a cat eats before insulin, like half a 3oz can, or 2 tablespoons, or what have you? I'm trying to prepare for when this happens again, which is soon I'm sure based on how she operates. I did read the convo in the think tank channel talking about how no eating should not equal no insulin and I'm just trying to fine a good balance moving forward.
2) She's been flirting with greens on this dose and then bounces- should I increase or keep her on it a little bit longer? I know she's been on it technically what is 12 cycles as of this am.

Thank you!
 
Last edited:
is there a minimum amount of food that is recommended a cat eats before insulin
This is where it gets tricky. The cat doesn't have to eat before they get insulin, but you want to be confident they'll eat something before onset. With Neko, I was lucky to be on Levemir when she became fussy, cause for me that meant 5 hours to get food in her. And I was happy with her getting about 2/3 of her meal over the cycle. I used to give her smaller meals throughout the cycle, even on Lantus would normally not get all of her food before onset, but more like 2/3 and the rest spaced out later. The other thing to consider is their numbers. If they aren't feeling well, they'll often be higher and it's safer to give the insulin, and even more important, as per that Think Tank thread.

For question 2 - the cycle count started over when you did the reduced dose. You've been seeing 50's and 60's, I hold the dose a little longer. Let's see where she is with 6 cycles in a row at this dose. It's possible she may need a tad more insulin.
 
thanks @Wendy&Neko that makes sense. It is a relieving to know that if I can get her to eat during the cycle then I can still give it to her. I will keep her on this dose. Her Libre graphs are starting to show a beautiful curve every now and then!
 
Back
Top