4/13 Milo AMPS 331 PMPS 237

Status
Not open for further replies.

milosmommy

Member Since 2009
I don't know why he decided the 300s were good last night ght and today. One thing that has changed. He had been only Evo chicken and turkey. I ran out of that and didn't get to store. He's had FF low carb the past 2 days, but higher carb than the Evo. This is a busy week so I'm not going to get as many readings.

We have our dental tomorrow morning. He can eat up until 5am and gets half dose of insulin. I'm talking a cam of his food with us.

Vet called this AM. He was pleased with all the blood work. I will ask for a copy tomorrow so I can report those. We did discuss if Milo still acting weird in 3 to 4 weeks changing to Lantus. He wants to give time after extraction to see if that makes difference.
 
Fingers are crossed that the dental goes well. I wonder if they're doing him in the afternoon instead the morning - it's kind of unusual to let them eat that late, but maybe it's because they're doing him later.

Do you have some baby food for afterwards if his mouth has a lot of work? If you want to try that, you want just meat and broth. No onion or garlic, of course.

When he gets home, the anesthesia may have lingering effects. It can lower blood sugar so most people end up skipping the pm shot. It can also slow down gut motility, so you want to go easy on the food so he doesn't scarf and barf. i gave punkin about a teaspoon of food every 20 minutes for quite a while to make sure he wouldn't vomit.

Good luck tomorrow. Let us know how things go! Sending our best dental vibes for Milo!
 
I will get some baby food. I am low on test strips too. Thanks for letting me know about anesthesia possibly lower glucose. I didn't know that. Think dental is later in morning. I'm really hoping this helps him.
Just being on antibiotics I can see a difference in him. Think maybe tooth was really hurting.

Thanks for the kind words.... I'll update tomorrow. He's just going to be grumpy when he can't eat at 7 when my son does before school.
 
My vet said half insulin and half food the morning of Buds dental. He ate about 7 and I know his dental started a little after 11. I know vets vary on what they recommend. He was kind of hazy and drooling a lot after we brought him home, but he never lost interest in eating! Lol. Best wishes to you and Milo tomorrow! I'll be watching for that update!
 
Sending good dental vines for Milo. I will try to check in tomorrow through the early afternoon, but come evening I am going to be so busy. This is the first chance I have had to sit down tonight.
 
My vet said half insulin and half food the morning of Buds dental. He ate about 7 and I know his dental started a little after 11. I know vets vary on what they recommend. He was kind of hazy and drooling a lot after we brought him home, but he never lost interest in eating! Lol. Best wishes to you and Milo tomorrow! I'll be watching for that update!
Last time he had 3 teeth pulled. He had the hardest time figuring what to do with his tounge. Like Bud he was hungry right away, but I know to go slow with the food.
Hope Bud let's you sleep tonight.
 
Tons of good dental vines for Milo tomorrow. When Neko's gone to the dental specialist, he's said she could have 1/2 her meal up to 6AM. Different types of food metabolize at different speeds. Raw food (which Neko is on) is the fastest and wet food is somewhere between that and dry. Not many vets take that into consideration.

As for insulin dose, I'd see what Milo is in the morning. For Neko's first dental at the specialist, I only gave her a token .1U insulin cause she was low blues at AMPS and she still got within a couple points of a reduction at the vets office. For her second dental I gave the 1/2 dose the dentist had suggested, since she started out that morning higher.

As for anesthesia and lowering the blood glucose, it depends what type of anesthesia medicine is used for induction. Neko got Aflaxalone, which is commonly given here in Canada and didn't have a problem with it lowering BG's. Marje's Gracie also got Aflaxalone, but it's something that is just recently being used in the U.S. You might want to ask the vet what drug is being used for induction. If you test Milo when he gets home, and then at PMPS time, you may get an idea of whether or not he's dropping.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top