4/13 Hershey PMPS(320) +4(184) +6(201)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Very Active Member
Hershey began insulin 1/13 - so we are now officially 3 months in! I guess that's cause for celebration because I know he's feeling better, but it makes me sad when I read about how much better the chance for remission is early on. Of course remission is my goal, as it is for all of us, and I don't want to do anything that will hinder that chance for him...I want to, as Miss Frizzle (Magic School Bus) said, "Take chances, make mistakes, get messy."

AMPS (340) +12 - Shot .6u at 1:45am
+6 (353)

PMPS (320) +11.75 - Shot .6u at 1:30pm
+4 (184)
+6 (201)

TOMORROW: Increasing Scale by .1u each range
 
Re: 4/13 Hershey 3mo on insulin AMPS (340) +6 (353)

+6 (353) - Now I wish we'd done an earlier test :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 4/13 Hershey 3mo on insulin AMPS (340)

From one Friday the 13th to another... looks like Grayson and Hershey have even MORE in common than I realized! Happy anniversary.

Think of all the things you've learned in these past three months. Remember how unhealthy Hershey's coat looked then, the weight loss, the general behavior. Now look at him today. So you're not in remission, but he looks and feels SOOOOOOO much better! You HAVE, in fact, come a long way! Don't miss the sight of that, just because some numbers on a spreadsheet have colors that you don't like. Remember, it's not all about the numbers.... they are there to help us understand and not over-dose our babies. We're looking for patterns - and Hershey has certainly displayed a myriad of those! :lol: Who else could the SCSDDD have been coined for?

I don't say this lightly... you've done an OUTSTANDING job with Hershey. So many of us have learned from your reports on him, and had a few chuckles in the process as well (still waiting for the video clip!) :lol: As I've said before, we all would love to see remission, but if we can get our guys healthy and [eventually] regulated, we will have won this war. There's just a few more battles to fight before we can claim that victory, however!

So happy 3 months, and give Hershey a head bump from his buddies here! cat_pet_icon bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 4/13 Hershey 3mo on insulin AMPS (340) +6 (353)

Oh no...It is Friday the 13th....I'm going to call this the lucky day even though i started in the pink's again.

What is up with Hershey? Could if be his body is reacting to the increased dose? Didn't you shoot .2u one day recently? Just a thought!

You are doing a GREAT job with Hershey and we ALL have to keep believing that one day they will be in remission.

Hope you have a better cycle to come this afternoon. SOrry i missed you last night. Was so tired and had to go off early to bed (1am). I'm sure i will be up late the next couple of days though since i havnn't finished our taxes yet. UGH!!!!
 
Re: 4/13 Hershey 3mo on insulin PMPS (320)

PMPS (320) +11.75 - Shot .6u at 1:30pm

It DOES look like my boy could've worn BLUE for his 3mo anniversary instead of PINK! Oh, well, hoping for a better cycle...

Thanks for the kind words, Lu. I am very pleased at how much better he looks. I know he has to be feeling better, too, because I catch him playing or chasing Oreo, briefly, wish it was for longer (but I'll take brief play over no play!). It just seems like sometimes he's trying to get regulated and then - WHO KNOWS what happens?! After talking to Tiffany yesterday about her newly diagnosed dog, I realized how much more comfortable/confident I feel than 5 months ago when Hershey was diagnosed or even 3 months ago when he started on insulin. I know canine diabetes is different, but I still felt I could give her some assurance.

Thanks, Lori - We shot .2u the 4/11 PM cycle. I don't know if that could be causing part of this or not. It seems a dose is good for him for a few cycles, maybe even a week, then not. Try other amounts; they don't work, either. Go back to original dose, it probably works this time. I think he's trying to keep my mind sharp, but I fear it's doing the opposite!!
yellow_guy_crazy_hg_wht.gif


Have fun with the "T" word! We actually got ours done earlier this year and have already gotten our federal refund! :o Of course, had to have our information to do the financial aid forms for the kids, so that was incentive (even though Joe didn't get much help at all). I found the same to be true when the oldest went to college. She was pretty much completely covered at the community college, but not so much at the 4-year school. I've advised Jessica to take ALL she can at the community college!

The board was soooo quiet last night/this morning; I spent my time reading on the canine diabetes site. Having a hard time getting basic information. You know the stuff we share with new people? What kinds of foods are the best - testing information, etc., but I'll keep reading...

Wishing everyone GREAT numbers!!!
 
Re: 4/13 Hershey 3mo on insulin PMPS (320)

Doug N Libby said:
After talking to Tiffany yesterday about her newly diagnosed dog, I realized how much more comfortable/confident I feel than 5 months ago when Hershey was diagnosed or even 3 months ago when he started on insulin. I know canine diabetes is different, but I still felt I could give her some assurance. ...The board was soooo quiet last night/this morning; I spent my time reading on the canine diabetes site. Having a hard time getting basic information. You know the stuff we share with new people? What kinds of foods are the best - testing information, etc., but I'll keep reading...

You may want to PM Kim and ask specifics. Sally had some ups & downs initially, but appears to have settled in. I think the biggest difference between dogs & cats is that dogs generally don't go OTJ, and most of the time, they are dosed by weight. So the drugstore on the diningroom table persists - although hers looks much neater than mine! :lol:
 
Re: 4/13 Hershey 3mo on insulin PMPS (320)

My internet was down last night. I felt a little isolated but sure did get alot of weekend cleaning done, I hope the internet works tonight.

I think you're seeing a little bounce from the blues.

Doug N Libby said:
I want to, as Miss Frizzle (Magic School Bus) said, "Take chances, make mistakes, get messy."

In the old days around here we used to call that "putting your big girl panties on".

You know the dance steps and how to adjust the scale and what to look for, if you want to get more aggressive with the dosing go for it. We'll be here to watch and help if needed.
 
Re: 4/13 Hershey 3mo on insulin PMPS (320)

I do want to get more aggressive with the dosing. I was so frustrated last night I was toying with upping .2 - .3 each range, but then thought better of it. It just seems when I increase the dose he goes all wacky on me, leaving me unsure of what to do. So, I bump the scale up by .1u and hold it for a week? to see how he does? I'm hoping the DIY project doesn't stress him too much. I know there will be a lot of noise and chaos (I've been to this rodeo before!) and we'll have to keep them closed up in a room while the outside wall is open...Wish I could snap my fingers and it be finished...

I sent Kim a PM asking a few specifics; I know she'll get back to me when she can. Seems there is a need for a place like this for canines and their beans...

Well, I really am heading back to the family room now...bleck!
 
Re: 4/13 Hershey 3mo on insulin PMPS (320)

I wouldn't increase by too much, he seems to notice the .1u and react to them. Just let it settle in and see how he does and then re-adjust.

Just think how nice it will be when the project is all done.
 
Re: 4/13 Hershey 3mo on insulin PMPS (320)

Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Just think how nice it will be when the project is all done.

I keep telling myself that. But, truth be told it will probably be about a year (maybe a little longer) before it's all finished. We're moving Joe to the newly closed in family room. Then - not sure the order - have to figure out how to remove a long load bearing wall plus one more, add a window to the front of the house, then add sheetrock to the ceilings (getting rid of that nasty popcorn ceiling!) plus spackle, paint and flooring - AND - move a little plumbing in the kitchen and install new cabinets...Think I need a nap... ;-) WHAT was I thinking??? Thankfully, my handy man can do most of the work himself. (I haven't told him my plans for the yard and driveway. ;-) ) I need a washer/dryer, too, and half-kidding last night suggested that after he gets this room closed in and painted (since we can't move furniture in until it dries) that he get rid of the washer/dryer and paint the laundry room before I order the new w/d. He was like, 'okay.' Pretty sure he'll be signing a different story when he tries to get out of bed Tuesday morning...

And, no - I'm not just goofing off. Jessica said this part of the room is easier for her to do alone - okay! Actually, I'm doing laundry and cleaning the kitchen (and posting ;-) ) while she's working in there. Want to have the clothes caught up, just in case he's up for the additional project
139321088.8Hbpfoym.42665ninja_e0yl7u.gif
 
Re: 4/13 Hershey 3mo on insulin PMPS (320) +4 (184)

Nice +4, lets hope that the increase gets some greens and NO BOUNCING allowed. :lol:
 
Re: 4/13 Hershey 3mo on insulin PMPS (320) +4 (184)

Rob & Harley (GA) said:
NO BOUNCING allowed. :lol:

You are a funny lady! When I say that to Hershey, this is what I get
NOT_Listening_by_Momma__G.gif
We'll see...
 
Libby, over the last 3 months you have learned so much. It has given you the tools to do the amazing job you are doing with Hershey. He is a very lucky cat to have such a loving & devoted family to care for him.
Over the next 3 months for you & Hershey I am sure you are going to learn even more. I hope with that knowledge you will get Hershey into remission.

I am not sure if you remember, but when it was Baxters 3 month I made a thread about what life has been like since DX. I summed FD up in 1 word....FRUSTRATING. Yesterday, was Baxter's 5 month at this ridiculous game. When I say this is the most frustrating thing in life, I am sure every one would agree.

Keep it up you are doing a good job! ;-)
 
Thanks, Jenn. It's just been one of those days...well, not the whole day...but, moments here and there. You know what I mean. Frustrating is a good word for it. I'm going to go search for your post you mentioned, not sure if I read it or not. Thank you for your kind words and constant encouragement.

As I just posted to someone else - a wonderful thing about the board is that we all get what the next person is feeling and we're here to hold each other up. In the last 3 months, this board has given me invaluable information and priceless new friends!!!

Wishing everyone a peaceful evening and GOOD numbers! I'll be back in a couple of hours to get more aggressive and UP THAT SCALE!!!
rambo-rambo-john-gun-smiley-emoticon-000137-large.gif
 
Doug N Libby said:
+6 (201) Well, the blue was short-lived, but yellow is a pretty color, too :smile:

If we get to call the 300-301 peach, I think the 200-201 could be aqua? or teal?

I remember reading Jenn's post - I think it was entitled "The first 100 days".

Doug N Libby said:
As I just posted to someone else - a wonderful thing about the board is that we all get what the next person is feeling and we're here to hold each other up.

I think that's why we end up feeling like we know each other... been in the same trenches... We've all been there! What a great group of people to be in the trenches with too!
 
Here is the post, Baxters first 100 days.

viewtopic.php?f=24&t=64405#p697876

Let me know if that link doesn't work. Most of the time when I post it from the iPad it doesn't work.
 
Don't know how I missed that post, but thanks for pointing me to it. It'd be nice if we could schedule a time out...time off...or something, but I know that's not how it works.

So, on to other things I can control...MUCH left to be done in the family room but to the point of being completely overwhelmed so decided to call it a night. Going to try to test/shoot and get in bed as soon as possible (like by 2am).

Sweet dreams, friends...
 
Wow, just reading your post on all that you have to get done in remodeling and it is overwhelming. I hate remodeling and we have been doing it since i moved into this "money pit" 20yrs ago. I hate it. Just went through the seperating the girls room because the older one wanted her "space" and didn't want little sis getting into her stuff. SO it was a mad rush to get it done before school started. Huh! Just Finished after Christmas. With copper being DX during that timeframe, it has taken a lot of my energy and time. So other things are put on the back burner. I wonder what is next. A new roof? New pipes? UGH....

Anyhoo...Hope your remodeling goes well! Looking forward to the updates!

Hershey looks like he did good today on the +4. Do hope you have a even better cycle for tomorrow! I think i'm going to try and go to bed now and get up in 2hrs. Exhausted from Daughter's opening night of performance. Only 9 more shows to go in 2wks. Then a short break and then more..... Can't wait until summer when things slow down a bit. Don't know if we will go camping much this summer because of copper. Don't have anyone to watch him. Maybe i'll find someone to come in before than. We will see...

Maybe i'll catch you up in 2hrs....

lori
 
I was just posting on your thread. :smile: Thankfully, we already did the new roof before Joe went off to school. He and Doug did Ondura roofing, hoping it'd last us the rest of our lives if we're still here (and so far, God hasn't seen fit to move us). A house always need something, doesn't it? We've been here most of our 22 years of marriage, so it was time for a little more attention than it's gotten. And, now I'm trying to plan for as the kids get older and hopefully, bring their families to visit...the house is small, but opening it up will hopefully make it feel bigger and give us a larger area to be together. But, it also means going through those boxes you put aside hoping the fairy would come and take care of for you...MAJOR ugh!

Opening night, huh? Did you say dance or did I just presume it? Exciting stuff! I KNOW the running is exhausting, but I miss those times and I'm not quite a year out.

I hope you're able to grab that nap before your next test! I regularly plan to but something else always claims my attention...
 
You saw some of my projects; the roof, the porch, the kitchen floor that needs structural work done before new flooring... and oh so many more! It does get old. I could swear, I just replaced the HVAC system. And the water line coming into the house. And the kitchen porch floor, the water heater, the laundry room floor, and... , and... , and.... The never-ending saga of home projects. At least you're focused on one at a time. Invariably I'm halfway through one thing when something else explodes, collapses, or gets blown off! Condos sure look nice sometimes... but there's no place like home! It may not look like much, but it's mine! It doesn't help that I'm easily distracted! ;-)

But it sounds like your project is moving pretty quickly. That's great... before you know it, you'll have the whole family there for a holiday and will wonder why you didn't do it sooner! So, a weekend of sawdust... it will be well worth it in the long run!

Good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top